Reviews of The Garden Bar and Restaurant

4.4
(based on 139 reviews)
Britons Hill, Penzance, South West England, TR18 3AE
139 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Susan M from Penzance
    10 August 2020

    Very lovely experience from start to finish. The restaurant was airy and very clean . The food was amazing and service was fabulous

  • By Linda B from Penzance
    5 August 2020

    My husband I enjoyed a fantastic dinner here ,we were immediately greeted by very friendly staff . Our dinner was superb especially the seafood platter which was cooked to perfection,as was the Shiraz that went down well too . We will be coming again & have now booked for the high tea . Thank you so much

  • By Linda R from Cornwall
    4 August 2020

    Had an amazing evening. We have missed this restaurant so much since lockdown. Great food and service as always and such a great environment. Love the decor. Best restaurant in PZ

  • By Phillip stevens S from flitwick
    29 February 2020

    Had a lovely meal with my girlfriend while staying at the hotel service was very good

  • By Graeme G from Leeds
    19 January 2020

    Very good friendly and informed service.

  • By Charles R from Wales
    18 January 2020

    The recently refurbished restaurant looks superb. Food to usual high standard and staff can’t do enough for you.

  • By Charles R from Penzance
    1 January 2020

    Excellent food and service. Staff are always so friendly and helpful.

  • By Stephen K from Penzance
    1 January 2020

    This is a great location with magnificent views over Mount's Bay and Penzance harbour. The food is skilfully cooked using high quality ingredients and the menu is well-designed. Best to come by foot or taxi as the parking is limited and it can be hard to get your car out again!

  • By Claire J from Helston
    22 December 2019

    Lovely afternoon tea which was really good value

  • By Suzanne H from London
    29 September 2019

    We dined twice in The Bay. Our first visit was on a Thursday evening and we had the fish and chips which was lovely. Fish succulent, batter thin and crisp and the chips crisp and fluffy. We came again 3 days later on the Sunday but our meal was not as good. My partner had the bavette steak which was tough and sinewy, disappointing for an expensive cut of meat, I had fish again but the chips were dry and hard. We would’ve expected the chef to be skilled enough to cook a tender steak. Our dessert of florentines and ice cream was enjoyable. I had made an online reservation in the afternoon for a window table ( option offered) but when we arrived at 6.30 we were told we couldn’t expect a window table to be held for us as the restaurant opens at 6, inspite of reserving. Slightly disappointing start to the meal. So, a mixed bag of experiences.