Reviews of The Gallivant

4.2
(based on 188 reviews)
New Lydd Rd, Camber, Rye, South East England, TN31 7RB
188 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Sheenagh M from london
    14 March 2020

    everything id been told about it was justified, a very lovely meal indeed, excellent service.

  • By Antony F from Camber, Rye, East Sussex
    13 March 2020

    Very enjoyable evening. Good food, wine (pricey), environment and warm service. The only negative: on both occasions recently we were over charged on the bill - the first booking on the wine, the second on the drinks and the food. This was corrected, with an apology, after pointing out their errors. Overall a high standard and we will go again - both to stay and to eat - and will recommend to friends.

  • By Diana C from Tunbridge Wells
    8 March 2020

    The bar and seating area are very comfortable and welcoming, especially with the log fire. Even though we were early for our lunch booking we were welcomed by a charming bartender who brought us our drinks. The Sunday lunch menu was delicious with just enough variety to please everyone

  • By Michele P from Ashford
    1 March 2020

    Dear Sir/madam, The starter and main were good The dessert menu had only 3 choices on it Considering that the first dish on the menu was a shared one (not suitable for one ) and the third was a selection of cheeses. I have been to the Gallivant before and I like it’s unique atmosphere but a bit disappointed on the dessert menu . Thank you

  • By Gabriella P from Hastings
    1 March 2020

    A smashing dining room spacious and light, matched by seasonal local food, and all on our doorstep

  • By Caroline M from Brighton
    1 March 2020

    Nice vibe, professional, tasty food!

  • By Anthony D from London
    1 March 2020

    Excellent

  • By Emma B from Twickenham
    28 February 2020

    Delicious lunch in a lovely space. Great food, service and ambience.

  • By Chris R from Faversham
    28 February 2020

    We had the lunchtime market menu, great value and lovely food. Service was excellent, and they do a couple of very good draught ales from a local brewer. They have completely revamped since we last visited and new layout looks fab.

  • By Tony S from London
    27 February 2020

    Great food, beautifully cooked and presented. Friendly, helpful but infusing service. Only tiny downside was being given a replacement wine as our choice was not available. The wine was excellent, but significantly more expensive than our choice and we did not find this out until the bill arrived.