Reviews of The Gallivant

4.2
(based on 151 reviews)
New Lydd Rd, Camber, Rye, East Sussex, TN31 7RB
151 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Katie W from Rye
    9 November 2019

    The decor was charming but no one showed me to my table so I wandered about until I found the rest of my party. Once seated, the waitress was attentive, helpful and charming. The crudites unfortunately were not up to standard - called 'Autumnal' though cucumber and radicchio don't immediately spring to mind as autumnal. For £7 we expected more than a couple of slices of cucumber, a few radicchio leaves and something we couldn't identify. It was such meagre fare that we assumed the chef was new and inexperienced. The rest of the meal was tasty and well presented. Overall, we thought it was overpriced which is a shame as it's just round the corner and we'd have eaten there more often.

  • By Rosemary D from Epsom
    29 October 2019

    The swimming costumes on the walls are a real talking point

  • By Tony R from Reigate
    29 October 2019

    Whilst food was nice enough but not great, it is very overpriced - and the service was appalling. Firstly, they gave away the table we had reserved in person earlier in the day, then we endured super slow service, forgotten drinks orders, disappearing staff and managers - and not a word of thanks (or apology) when we left after a simple dinner that managed to take over 2.5 hours. We have dined at The Gallivant before and it was always very good - they seem to have upped the prices and lowered their standards. A great shame, I hope they take steps to fix this soon.

  • By Janice H from Camber
    25 October 2019

    Service excellent Good on the small side Our mackerel wasn’t very nice and the rib eye steak too fatty

  • By Christopher W from London
    25 October 2019

    Exemplary service, wonderful atmosphere, fabulous food. Could not ask for more.

  • By Pubhound B from Oxford
    6 October 2019

    A really nice restaurant in a surprising location. From the outside it doesn't look too much but internally very well presented. The food is good although a little pricey for what you get - maybe catering for the patrons of Rye Club rather than the wider population with different value expectation.

  • By Marian V from London
    29 September 2019

    Staff were very attentive, the food was locally sourced and tasted delicious.

  • By Vanessa D from West londonwhat a
    20 September 2019

    Our experience at the restaurant was quite special. From the friendly welcome, to the tasty and noteworthy food and wonderful choice of English wines. The manager was totally professional and very knowledgeable on all the requests we put to him. I would definitely recommend it to my friends.

  • By Karen S from Tenterden
    17 September 2019

    Menu choice is excellent - locally sourced good quality fresh ingredients.

  • By Natalie B from London
    15 September 2019

    Delicious food and friendly service.