Reviews of The Friar's Oak

3.4
(based on 25 reviews)
London Road, Hassocks, W Sussex, BN6 9NA
25 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Jane R from Hassocks
    28 December 2019

    We had a great table for our family gathering and the waiting staff were attentive and helpful.

  • By Alex E from Burgess hill
    20 November 2019

    Great

  • By Kenneth G from BRIGHTON
    3 November 2019

    Food service and new décor excellent.

  • By Julie S from Crawley
    8 October 2019

    Excellent service as usual and great food. Love it here.

  • By Jacky O from Burgess hill
    5 October 2019

    Great menu & good selection especially new vegi meals the chicken forestiere chicken & pizzas but all good as tried many times.

  • By Karen P from Hassocks
    21 September 2019

    Lovely experience. Food was delicious and large portions. I had asked for entrance level table as had a person with mobility problems with us, this was delivered.Waitresses Emma & Imogen were friendly and professional.

  • By Andrew L from Burgess Hill
    25 July 2019

    We dined on a hot summer evening and took a table in the garden. The restaurant was quite busy. We found the food to be well presented and very tasty but the portions were rather small, given the price per cover! better (i.e. larger) portions would make this the ideal eatery! The menu was reasonably varied and designed to cater for a wide range of dietary limitations (i.e. vegan) which helped as my guest was a vegan although I enjoy the whole range of cuisine. The wine we purchased was definitely over priced (£8.50 for a glass) and fair but not wonderful.

  • By Julie D from Hassocks
    17 January 2019

    It was very disappointing- my pork belly did not have crackling (like it was microwaved - very soft) - dauphinoise potatoes were glutinous and beans tasted microwaved! I like gravy, but it was swimming! My two friends chose a burger which they said was okay.

  • By Jim F from Crawley
    1 July 2018

    Everything was perfect,don’t change anything. Food was hot and delicious. Starter was ample. Main corse plenty of food even for someone with a large appetite. Sweet was super.

  • By Shirley B from Hassocks
    12 April 2018

    I like the feel of the restaurant and the open fires . However there was a chef missing replaced by an agency chef so the manager went to help in the kitchen so therefore not enough waiting staff.. Service slow and food only okay-not warm enough and lots of items missing from the menu. A bit like faulty towers to be honest. The price of our meals was taken off the drinks bill and the waitress was very good at explaining everything, I won't be going again until I hear that it's improved significantly.

2 3 Next page