The Freemasons Arms

(37 Reviews)
32 Downshire Hill Hampstead, London, NW3 1NT
British
A la carte menu

Top offer

Sundays: The Great British Mini Roast from £6.95 per person

What better way to enjoy a Sunday than in a cosy country pub with a great selection of British roasts starting from £6.95 – served all day and evening on Sundays using the freshest seasonal ingredients.

Average

Main course: £12
Food spend: £28

Opening hours

Monday to Saturday: 11:00 - 23:00
Sunday: 12:00 - 22:30.

Restaurant description

In a peaceful area of London, close to Hampstead Heath, The Freemasons Arms is a gastro pub serving modern British cuisine. With roaring open fires, large arched windows and a contemporary design, restaurant overlooks the outdoor dining area. This country-style pub is also home to the last remaining skittles club of its kind.

With chefs given the opportunity to train at cookery schools in Spain and Italy, The Freemasons Arms menu features modern signature recipes made using the finest available ingredients. As well as creative daily-changing specials, favourites include pan-fried sea bass fillets, crab and chorizo linguine, or spit-roasted chicken with lemon & garlic confit. A kids’ menu and Sunday roasts also feature, and desserts include rich vanilla and chocolate gelato with home-baked cookies.

The result of a treasured partnership with Rothschild wine merchants, the cellar showcases many fine wines, while token real ales and premium spirits are found at The Freemasons Arms bar. Nostalgic British nibbles and eclectic sharing platters bursting with international flavours offer more laidback dining.

The Freemasons Arms Hampstead is just a 4-minute walk from Hampstead Heath Tube Station.

Dishes displayed on a la carte menus are representative of the type of food available at the restaurant.

Customer reviews for The Freemasons Arms
3.3
(based on 37 reviews)

73%
of diners recommend this restaurant

  • Food
  • Drinks
  • Ambience
  • Service
  • Value
  • Location

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (5)
  • al fresco (11)
  • breakfast (1)
  • business (2)
  • child friendly (13)
  • dinner (16)
  • entertainment (2)
  • large parties (9)
  • lunch (18)
  • luxury (2)
  • private dining (7)
  • romantic (5)
  • trendy (8)
  • value (6)
  • views (4)
  • By Hetty S from London
    13 October 2019

    Terrible customer service and not very good food

  • By Georgie E from Bristol
    5 January 2019

    Pretty, large, relaxed pub with restaurant perfect for our large group of friends. Some main courses were not particularly generous (eg. Burger), however reasonable for the money in this location. Service was very slow, and although it was Saturday lunchtime they’re were tables free so wasn’t at capacity so not sure justification for this. In general nice venue for a reunion with friends.

  • By Amber P from London
    23 December 2018

    Food was average and to be honest not what you'd expect for a Sunday's roast. Once food came no wait staff asked us if it was ok, so decided to leave after mains. Not sure I would eat there again but I would for drinks

  • By Louise P from Cambridge
    1 April 2018

    We booked a table for a family meal on Easter Day at Freemasons pub in Hampstead . We were shown to our table and our drink order was taken. We did not receive any drinks after half an hour so we asked another waiter to get them. Eventually some of the drinks arrived but two were missing so my son in law went to the bar to get them. I spoke to one of the managers about the drinks issue and also about the special offer I thought I had booked from the website for a fixed price of £12.95 for Sunday lunch as advertised on the pub website site. This price did not seem to be available and it was just ordinary menu prices. This is very bad practice to trick people into thinking they are paying one price when this is not the case. The manager was completely disinterested in either the drink delay issue or the meal offer price and no apology or sign of sympathy was shown. They just seemed to want to take our money with out giving proper customer service.

  • By Alison F from London
    1 January 2018

    Excellent menu, good wine. Lovely environment. Family friendly so be prepared for lots of kids!

  • By Dorian L from London
    31 December 2017

    Spacious, comfortable pub, ideal for dining with children. Service was punctual and friendly even though it was a busy New Year's Eve lunchtime. Food was excellent although non-meat options are limited on Sundays. We've been here before with another family and never been disappointed.

  • By Alessandro S from London
    22 October 2017

    Great food, location, ambience

  • By Franziska L from London
    7 August 2017

    Nice ambience but food was not convincing. Had the fried fish with vegetables. Fish was not tasty and vegetable so hot and mashy that it was obvious it has been only warmed up and warmed up to quickly. Steak was chewy. Audience more elderly people. They have a nice garden for drinks and would probably only come back to have a drink in the garden.

  • By Rosetta C from London
    6 July 2017

    Awful. Food horrible, tables dirty. The setting is beautiful but they need to drastically learn cooking and cleanliness . Will never go back

  • By Gary C from London
    16 June 2017

    Really enjoyed meal portions could have been a bit bigger nice table waitress could have been a bit more chatter

Restaurant Location Map
The Freemasons Arms
32 Downshire Hill Hampstead, London, NW3 1NT

Available offers

  • Sundays: The Great British Mini Roast from £6.95 per person
  • Sundays: The Great British Roast from £13.95 per person

Similar Restaurants

  1. The Garden Gate

    The Garden Gate

    British
    (6 Reviews)
    337m
    The Garden Gate
  2. The Spaniards

    The Spaniards

    British
    (56 Reviews)
    1.2km
    The Spaniards
  3. The Old Bull and Bush

    The Old Bull and Bush

    British
    (12 Reviews)
    1.3km
    The Old Bull and Bush
  4. The Washington - Hampstead

    The Washington - Hampstead

    British
    (4 Reviews)
    1.3km
    The Washington - Hampstead
  5. The Wet Fish Cafe

    The Wet Fish Cafe

    British
    (229 Reviews)
    1.6km
    The Wet Fish Cafe