The Fox House

(35 Reviews)
Hathersage Rd Longshaw, Sheffield, Yorkshire, S11 7TY
British
View main menu

Top offer

Sunday Menu

This offer is available from June 20, 2018 until July 20, 2030, subject to availability as displayed in the booking interface. Offer excludes service and includes VAT. Not available in conjunction with other offers. This promotion has additional information available. Click on the link(s) to view.

Average

Main course: £10
Food spend: £25

Opening hours

Monday to Thursday: 08:00 - 22:00
Friday to Saturday: 08:00 - 23:00
Sunday: 08:00 - 22:00.

Restaurant description

Built in the 18th century, The Fox House shows the best of this period, with the cobbled stone design and rustic charm. Nestled in the beautiful Peak District with great views, it boasts traditional British pub cuisine and an Innkeeper’s Lodge, and has seating by the cosy log fire and in the al fresco beer garden.

Hearty Sunday roasts and trusty British dishes head The Fox House menu, and a range just for kids offers mini versions of pub favourites. Signature Vintage pies offer fillings like beef & merlot with buttered peas, while The Fox House ‘Vintage classics’ menu includes lemon & garlic-roasted chicken with seasoned chips.

Paying homage to the Great British pub, the Vintage Inn bar stock includes cask-conditioned beers, real ales and a meticulously compiled wine list. Thirst-quenching offerings include seasonal non-alcoholic cocktails and freshly-pressed juices, and rich coffee is brewed freshly throughout the day.

The Fox House Longshaw is only a 6-minute drive from Dore and Totley Train Station, or 13 minutes from the Sheffield city centre.

Dishes displayed on a la carte menus are representative of the type of food available at the restaurant.

Customer reviews for The Fox House
4.2
(based on 35 reviews)

89%
of diners recommend this restaurant

  • Food
  • Drinks
  • Ambience
  • Service
  • Value
  • Location

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (7)
  • al fresco (8)
  • breakfast (2)
  • business (3)
  • child friendly (8)
  • dinner (19)
  • entertainment (2)
  • large parties (4)
  • lunch (24)
  • luxury (2)
  • private dining (10)
  • romantic (8)
  • trendy (1)
  • value (13)
  • views (19)
  • By Lynn M from Sheffield
    12 January 2019

    Pleasant evening with friends. Food good although there were a lot of things off the menu. Still enough to get what we wanted. Service a little slow at first but it was very busy. Very pleasant waitress who was knowledgable about the menu and apologised for the omissions. Food good and hearty portions. Coffee excellent. We were charged for some items that we hadn’t had but all sorted amicably. Had a discount voucher so very reasonable. Nice ambiance. Will definitely go again.

  • By Barbara G from Sheffield
    19 November 2018

    Fish and chips good - fish cakes and veg ok

  • By Anthony E from Sheffield
    6 May 2018

    Excellent service the restaurant was very busy but the food was excellent

  • By Chris N from Sheffield
    22 April 2018

    Been to the Fox House before but not for a while. Food was good - but lots of what we wanted had sold out. Not in itself a problem I guess, but each time the waiter (who was a little hopeless but nice enough) came back 5 mins later to tell us, rather than saying when we first got the menu. Still, nice food and booze and a lovely setting as ever, even if service wasn’t great. Didn’t feel like Countryfile pub of the year but in fairness it was pretty busy.

  • By Shamim B from Nottingham
    10 March 2018

    Very good experience

  • By Gemma S from Sheffield
    31 December 2017

    We visited the on New Year's Eve 4 adults and 2 children. Food was gorgeous and sevice was fab. Will definetly be coming back

  • By Jackie F from Sheffield
    10 December 2017

    Amazing ambience, fantastic staff and the food was simply stunning. Could not fault anything.

  • By Liz K from Fox house - the peak
    15 October 2017

    Really good meal And service , just not a huge amount of vegan choice , and zero Sunday roast options for vegans . All in all good , just a shame only option was a burger .

  • By Karen L from Sheffield
    15 October 2017

    The venue was quirky and decorated well. We liked the private seating areas. Restaurant staff were welcoming. The choice of menu on Sunday was good. The food was delicious.

  • By Rachel B from Chesterfield
    26 May 2017

    We often call in at the Fox House on a Saturday for a well earned cuppa, after spending the morning running on the Edges, saying one day we will try a meal here after a run instead. So Friday evening we did. Glad reserved a table for 4 on line, as it was very busy when we arrived. Food was very nice, staff very friendly and attentive. Ambience was very pleasant indeed. We could have stayed there all night. We have already said we will do our run this way again and still continue to call for the Saturday cuppa as well. Thank you guys.

Restaurant Location Map
The Fox House
Hathersage Rd Longshaw, Sheffield, Yorkshire, S11 7TY

Available offers

Similar Restaurants

  1. Miller & Carter - Sheffield Centertainment
    6.2km
    Miller & Carter - Sheffield Centertainment
  2. The Prince of Wales - Sheffield
    7.4km
    The Prince of Wales - Sheffield
  3. Rafters Restaurant

    Rafters Restaurant

    British
    (45 Reviews)
    7.5km
    Rafters Restaurant
  4. The Florentine

    The Florentine

    British
    (0 Reviews)
    8.2km
    The Florentine
  5. The Lescar

    The Lescar

    British
    (6 Reviews)
    8.8km
    The Lescar