Reviews of The Fox and Roman

4.0
(based on 66 reviews)
58 Tadcaster Road Dringhouses, York, Yorkshire, YO24 1LR
66 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Jackie M from York
    31 December 2019

    Excellent food and service

  • By Christina D from Hampton Court Village
    25 December 2019

    We had our Christmas lunch here. The atmosphere is great and the staff fabulous. I am not a great fan of turkey but make an exception at Christmas. The turkey at the Fox and Roman was the best I have ever had. The whole meal was brilliant. I would highly recommend this gastro pub.

  • By Sam C from Norwich
    30 November 2019

    We like this place, it's outside of York centre, but it's handy for the Hotel we stay at, always book, as when we go on a Friday evening and on a Saturday evening it's always full...... for good reason...

  • By Ian F from York
    31 March 2018

    Good value for money, good quality and great service

  • By Leighanne C from York
    1 January 2018

    Lovely pub/restaurant. Had roast trio for 2 it was gorgeous. Young lad served us very friendly. Lovely warm fire good for cold winter days. Reasonably price £73 for 3 courses with a bottle of red.

  • By Emily M from York
    19 October 2017

    All lovely great service and great food.

  • By Anne W from York
    14 October 2017

    Very disappointing. Cold concealed vegetables and Yorkshire. Poor service .i.e..waiting a long time for drinks and tables not being cleared. We have previously been here several times this year on a Sunday...always at 1 pm. and the food and service have been good. Today when asked if we were happy with everything..we explained our disappointment and were told that we had better come at 1pm.not 4 pm.!!

  • By Keith M from YORK
    30 September 2017

    Saturday lunch for 4Rather cramped table in an alcove . Service patchy -good when we got it but long waits in between . Meal choice good and very good when it caame

  • By Jo M from Wakefield
    19 May 2017

    Lovely old, characterful building. Staff really friendly and helpful. Good choice on the menu. We had the prawn & lobster cocktail. It was colourful & fresh and tasted divine. Our main was hunters chicken - beautifully tender and flavoursome. Had a super meal and again, the staff with attentive but not intrusive. Great evening

  • By Carole C from York
    29 March 2017

    Enjoyed the food.