Reviews of The Fitzwilliam Arms

4.3
(based on 80 reviews)
Stamford Road Marholm, Peterborough, East of England, PE6 7HX
80 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Caroline C from london
    22 February 2020

    Great place, nice ambiance, lovely food generally, so long as they don't overcook the black pudding under the scallops but the state of the glasses let it down entirely. I even took them to the bathroom to clean as the replacements were dirty too. PLEASE INVEST IN A NEW DISHWASHER. It's the ONLY thing that puts us off.

  • By Sheila A from Langtoft
    27 January 2020

    We had a great girlie evening. Lovely meal with lovely service...we will be back,

  • By Carol L from Peterborough
    26 January 2020

    Our reservation was for a Sunday at 6.30pm, we arrived half hour early but our table was ready for us so no waiting required. We were informed that the Beef and Lamb had sold out. We ordered starters of Pate Duo and Tempura Prawns. Pates were nice with relishes to go with each one. There were 4 gherkins included which weren’t really necessary. There were 2 long slices of bread. Would have been better if the bread had been toasted or brioche. There were 7 prawns on a rice cracker which was really crisp. Also had the Turkey and Belly Pork for mains, both with roast potatoes, Yorkshire’s and a selection of vegetables. All was ok although obviously cooked earlier and kept warm so the potatoes were quite chewy. The Pork came with crackling which was nice but over salty. Turkey meal wasn’t overly hot either. We would still go back again though, if it was a Sunday we would book for earlier and we would like to try some of the other dishes available.

  • By Christine W from Marholm
    6 October 2019

    On the whole very nice although a few of the group were not happy with parts of their meal - one member had the pork which was very fatty and crackling was soft - the potatoes everyone thought wete a little tough but tasty. Someone chose a creme brulee to share with her husband but when it arrived it was tiny. They were not impressed.

  • By A from Peterborough
    2 May 2019

    We visit the Fitzwilliam Arms on a monthly basis and have always been very pleased with the quality of the food, the service and the pleasant atmosphere. All staff are friendly but a particular mention of Louise who always goes out of her way to make sure that we enjoy our dining experience.

  • By A from Peterborough
    13 February 2019

    We dine here every 4 to 6 weeks and find that the service, food, atmosphere is absolutely first class. Louise.always looks after us really well and we are grateful that she she goes to the trouble of looking after four OAP's.

  • By Susan C from Marholm
    8 December 2018

    Very good food and excellent service

  • By A from Peterborough
    15 November 2018

    We are regular visitors (3 or 4 people) to the Fitzwilliam Arms and always enjoy the atmosphere, food and service. The staff are very friendly and always do their best to ensure that we enjoy ourselves. This time 3 (out of 4) of us had Lobster Fishcakes and we all would strongly recommend them as a main course. We were looked after by Katie and Louise and both have an excellent attitude towards their customers.

  • By Janet R from Hockley
    21 October 2018

    Chose The Fitzwilliam Arms to meet up for a family get-together for our sons 50th birthday celebration. He was over from Australia on a short visit. We were looking for a place halfway between where we live in Essex and where our other children and grandchildren live in Lincolnshire. We were not disappointed with our choice. Your pub is very picturesque, the interior was very inviting and attractive. The service was friendly and efficient and the menu choices really good. We all enjoyed the food we chose and all said that its a place we would definitely meet up at again.

  • By Pardep S from Peterborough
    30 September 2018

    Very good service