map placeholder

The Ferry

Sutton Road, Cookham, SL6 9SN

((()* British
  • The Ferry - Berkshire
  • The Ferry - Berkshire
  • The Ferry - Berkshire
  • The Ferry - Berkshire
  • The Ferry - Berkshire
  • The Ferry - Berkshire
  • The Ferry - Berkshire
  • The Ferry - Berkshire
  • The Ferry - Berkshire
  • The Ferry - Berkshire
  • The Ferry - Berkshire
  • The Ferry - Berkshire
  • The Ferry - Berkshire
  • The Ferry - Berkshire
  • The Ferry - Berkshire
  • The Ferry - Berkshire
  • The Ferry - Berkshire
Average
Main course: £12
Food spend: £28
Opening hours
Monday to Thursday: 11:00 - 23:00
Friday & Saturday: 11:00 - 00:00
Sunday: 11:00 - 22:30.

Very friendly staff, request to sit by a window was acknowledged.
We enjoyed our choice of food, pre dinner drinks on outside area really pleasant.
My request for a lit candle with our sweet as it was my partners birthday made it special.
A return visit ? Yes.

Dee 23 April 2019
from Maidenhead

View all 51 reviews

Sitting on the banks of the Thames in the scenic village of Cookham, The Ferry is a refurbished country-style pub serving modern British fare with a hint of Mediterranean influence. With a large outdoor dining area, a bar, and a warm, colourful restaurant with open log fires, it is a fine retreat with wholesome food and a selection of wines, ales & lagers.

With chefs given the opportunity to train at cookery schools in Spain and Italy, The Ferry restaurant menu features modern signature recipes made using the finest seasonal ingredients. As well as creative daily-changing specials, favourites include Mediterranean mezze, seared chicken breast with sweet potato rosti & buttered British beans, and spit-roasted chicken with lemon & garlic confit. A kids’ menu and Sunday roasts also feature, and desserts include rich vanilla and chocolate gelato with home-baked cookies.

The result of a treasured partnership with Rothschild wine merchants, the cellar showcases many fine wines, while token real ales and premium spirits are found at The Ferry bar. Nostalgic British nibbles and eclectic sharing platters bursting with international flavours offer more laidback dining.

The Ferry in Maidenhead is a 12-minute walk from Cookham Rail Station.

The Ferry

Sutton Road, Cookham, SL6 9SN

Contact +44 1628525123
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Berkshire

See all restaurants in Cookham

Customer reviews for The Ferry

3.6 ((()* (based on 51 reviews)
76% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((()*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((()*
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (28)
  • lunch (28)
  • views (27)
  • al fresco (12)
  • value (12)
  • large parties (10)
  • romantic (10)
  • child friendly (8)
  • afternoon tea (6)
  • trendy (6)
  • business (5)
  • private dining (4)
  • entertainment (3)
  • breakfast (2)
  • luxury (2)
  • (((** 27 July 2016 by Kate from Windsor

    Lovely food, excellent location, service a bit hit and miss but was addressed by management.

  • ((((* 26 July 2016 by Derek from Hurst

    Excellent evening at the Ferry. Lovely setting and view of the Thames. The meal was well presented and cooked well. (but the gigantic Yorkshire Puddings were far to large !!) Staff were very pleasant and efficient. We will return.

  • ((((* 25 July 2016 by Paul from Swindon

    Very good food and friendly staff

  • (((** 19 July 2016 by Chrissie from Hitchin

    Nice venue overlooking the river. Had Sunday roast which was good. Only criticism is that like many places the roast potatoes were not crispy on the outside. This was a shame as the rest of the meal was very good. Nice service with a friendly waitress

  • ((((* 19 July 2016 by Richard from Marlow

    An enjoyable Sunday lunch with in-laws. Very large portions, friendly service, and a fair price.

  • (**** 31 May 2016 by Keith from Bracknell

    Service was good but food average at best and very overpriced. Burger & chips with a few add ons £20 worth £6 tops. Third visit but will give it miss from now on.

  • ((((* 24 May 2016 by David from Oxford

    We had lunch on a very busy Sunday, and it was really good overlooking the river and watching the boats go by. The food was very good, but not excellent,- everyone was under duress as the electricity had failed and stand by generators were being installed in the car park. Emily phoned me up before the lunch to tell me about the disruption, which I thought was a good piece of CRM. When we first arrived though, and walked up to about five staff gathered at the till they all kept talking for a minute or so before acknowledging us.
    Overall a very good lunch -- the trio roast was good with beef, pork and chicken, and trimmings for each.
    It was just a bit too busy, probably better visited in the week, when the electricity is fully on, and the building work is finished.

  • ((((* 16 May 2016 by Tony from Maidenhead

    The experience was very good service was great and the food was very good thanks

  • ((*** 4 May 2016 by Mark from Windsor

    Extremely poor meal. Although the starter and main course were nice, service was incredibly slow, the dessert was burned and they overcharged us on the bill. We noticed the table next to us didn't receive their drinks until after they had finished their main course. A very nice location, but otherwise a bad choice I would not recommend.

  • ((((* 3 May 2016 by Rose from High Wycombe

    Booked for a Sunday Roast and the place was bustling. Good atmosphere but we had to wait for our table to be cleared even though we booked - were told to wait in the bar and we would be collected but then had to ask if the table was ready as seemed to be forgotten about and then lots of waiting to order each course and to order more drinks. Staff seemed very busy (possibly not enough on a busy sunny bank hol) and we weren't really sure who our server was so we just grabbed the attention of staff walking by a couple times. My pet hate is waiting around to order or for the bill. Fantastic food as always however and a lovely location on the river. We will be back as we love the place but maybe not on a Bank Holiday

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant