map placeholder

The Ferry

Sutton Road, Cookham, SL6 9SN

((()* British
  • The Ferry - Berkshire
  • The Ferry - Berkshire
  • The Ferry - Berkshire
  • The Ferry - Berkshire
  • The Ferry - Berkshire
  • The Ferry - Berkshire
  • The Ferry - Berkshire
  • The Ferry - Berkshire
  • The Ferry - Berkshire
  • The Ferry - Berkshire
  • The Ferry - Berkshire
  • The Ferry - Berkshire
  • The Ferry - Berkshire
  • The Ferry - Berkshire
  • The Ferry - Berkshire
  • The Ferry - Berkshire
  • The Ferry - Berkshire
Average
Main course: £12
Food spend: £28
Opening hours
Monday to Thursday: 11:00 - 23:00
Friday & Saturday: 11:00 - 00:00
Sunday: 11:00 - 22:30.

Very friendly staff, request to sit by a window was acknowledged.
We enjoyed our choice of food, pre dinner drinks on outside area really pleasant.
My request for a lit candle with our sweet as it was my partners birthday made it special.
A return visit ? Yes.

Dee 23 April 2019
from Maidenhead

View all 50 reviews

Sitting on the banks of the Thames in the scenic village of Cookham, The Ferry is a refurbished country-style pub serving modern British fare with a hint of Mediterranean influence. With a large outdoor dining area, a bar, and a warm, colourful restaurant with open log fires, it is a fine retreat with wholesome food and a selection of wines, ales & lagers.

With chefs given the opportunity to train at cookery schools in Spain and Italy, The Ferry restaurant menu features modern signature recipes made using the finest seasonal ingredients. As well as creative daily-changing specials, favourites include Mediterranean mezze, seared chicken breast with sweet potato rosti & buttered British beans, and spit-roasted chicken with lemon & garlic confit. A kids’ menu and Sunday roasts also feature, and desserts include rich vanilla and chocolate gelato with home-baked cookies.

The result of a treasured partnership with Rothschild wine merchants, the cellar showcases many fine wines, while token real ales and premium spirits are found at The Ferry bar. Nostalgic British nibbles and eclectic sharing platters bursting with international flavours offer more laidback dining.

The Ferry in Maidenhead is a 12-minute walk from Cookham Rail Station.

The Ferry

Sutton Road, Cookham, SL6 9SN

Contact +44 1628525123
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Berkshire

See all restaurants in Cookham

Customer reviews for The Ferry

3.6 ((()* (based on 50 reviews)
76% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((()*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((()*
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (27)
  • lunch (27)
  • views (27)
  • al fresco (12)
  • value (12)
  • large parties (10)
  • romantic (10)
  • child friendly (8)
  • afternoon tea (6)
  • trendy (6)
  • business (5)
  • private dining (4)
  • entertainment (3)
  • breakfast (2)
  • luxury (2)
  • (((** 26 March 2017 by Christine from Bradford_on_avon

    Restaurant looked nice, menu restricted to Fish or chicken apart from steaks, but food was Good, on the whole. (Chips cooked too long!)
    All rather spoilt by very loud music blaring out, which meant people were shouting to make themselves heard. Good choice of wines

  • (((** 6 March 2017 by Allan from Cookham

    Overall good with a few areas that could easily be improved to make it very good.
    No-one at desk on arrival and had to wait 5 minutes (with staff walking past) before we decided to go into the bar and try to be noticed as restaurant guests. Finally - having asked a few times, we were shown to our table upstairs. Generally time waiting to be served with food and drinks was a little too long. Food was good though. Nice staff but I think one or two too few.

  • ((((* 23 February 2017 by Sandra from Cookham

    Booked for 5 people - everyone enjoyed their meal. Good service

  • ((((* 27 January 2017 by Cathryn from Cookham

    Lovely table by the window overlooking the river.

  • ((((( 20 December 2016 by Carole from Great Missenden

    Booking was very easy and the food and service and value for money was brilliant.

  • ((((( 13 November 2016 by Michael from Cookham

    Good, great food, lovely ambience

  • ((((* 26 September 2016 by Karen from Cookham

    Excellent food. Good atmosphere

  • ((((( 13 September 2016 by Joe from Bovingdon

    Excellent location, lovely restaurant with lovely views. Asked to be seated by window as we were entertaining visitors, had a table with a good view. We all a Sunday roast and all commented on how nice the meal was.value for money. Our only critisisam was the long delay waiting for service between courses. We were asked if we would like to see the dessert menu and at the same time ordered more drinks. After 30 minutes one of our party got up and brought over the menus. We eventually caught the eye of another waitress and mentioned the drinks. When they arrived 5 minutes later by our original waiter who apologised we were informed we would not be charged for the drinks. I think that was a great gesture on there part. Would we go back? Definitely Well done The Ferry.

  • ((((( 29 August 2016 by Joe from Camberley

    Our booking worked seamlessly and we had a lovely evening in The Ferry. The location of The Ferry is a bonus overlooking the River Thames and Cookham is one of the prettiest villages in Berkshire. Nice table upstairs with river views and we were very well looked after by Harry. Can certainly recommend the Kofta starter and the Ravoili main. I went for the Burger option with a Lobster tail which was all delicious. All in all a good experience at a fair price. We will certainly return.

  • (((** 27 July 2016 by Kate from Windsor

    Lovely food, excellent location, service a bit hit and miss but was addressed by management.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant