map placeholder

The English Tea Room at Brown's Hotel

Brown's Hotel, Albermarle Street, Mayfair, London, W1S 4BP

(((() Afternoon Tea
  • The English Tea Room at Brown's Hotel - London
  • The English Tea Room at Brown's Hotel - London
  • The English Tea Room at Brown's Hotel - London
  • The English Tea Room at Brown's Hotel - London
  • The English Tea Room at Brown's Hotel - London
  • The English Tea Room at Brown's Hotel - London
  • The English Tea Room at Brown's Hotel - London
  • The English Tea Room at Brown's Hotel - London
  • The English Tea Room at Brown's Hotel - London
Average
Main course: £20
Food spend: £37
Opening hours
Monday to Sunday: 12:00 - 17:30.

It was wonderful! Splendid service. Great food. A little pricey.

H. 11 June 2019
from Richmond, Virginia

View all 372 reviews

With the esteemed accolade of ‘Top London Afternoon Tea 2009' from The Tea Guild, The English Tea Room at the famous Brown's Hotel has the elegant musical backdrop of a baby grand piano.

A favourite of Queen Victoria, afternoon tea at Brown's Hotel serves up a slice of traditional London life. Take your pick from over 17 teas — including Brown’s own blend — and a selection of sandwiches, scones, cakes and pastries.

Cosy fireplaces, original Jacobean period features, wooden panelling and a refined ambience evoke an air of timeless British tradition at The English Tea Room at Brown's Hotel in London. There are 2 tea sommeliers on hand to guide you.

A champagne afternoon tea is optional and the dress code at The English Tea Room is smart casual. Green Park Tube Station is just a 5-minute walk from Brown's Hotel in Mayfair.

The English Tea Room requests that guests adhere to the smart casual dress code. Trainers, t-shirts, shorts and sportswear are not permitted. Gentlemen are requested to wear a collared shirt but are not required to wear a jacket and tie.

The English Tea Room at Brown's Hotel

Brown's Hotel, Albermarle Street, Mayfair, London, W1S 4BP

Contact +44 2074936020
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in London

See all restaurants in Mayfair

Customer reviews for The English Tea Room at Brown's Hotel

4.3 (((() (based on 372 reviews)
87% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (310)
  • luxury (86)
  • romantic (51)
  • lunch (23)
  • private dining (21)
  • business (20)
  • value (20)
  • child friendly (16)
  • dinner (10)
  • trendy (10)
  • breakfast (8)
  • large parties (8)
  • views (8)
  • entertainment (6)
  • al fresco (2)
  • ((((( 21 July 2017 by Jane from London

    Absolutely loved this experience and my Japanese visitors did too. Lovely teatime treats in a charming atmosphere and the service was impeccable.

  • ((((( 20 July 2017 by Ruth from London

    Sophisticated, relaxing and delicious

  • ((((* 18 July 2017 by T. from Dortmund

    Perfect service in a lovely setting. Delicious sandwiches??

  • ((((( 16 July 2017 by Tsee from London

    Service was complete and courteous, food was tasty, drinks were wonderful, and the setting immaculate. I forgot to leave my fashionable sneakers at home, but I was welcomed all the same. Everyone had their privacy, despite the size of the room.

  • ((*** 5 July 2017 by Loren from New York

    The hotel was beautiful and the tea presentation was absolutely stunning. However, service was poor - our server disappeared 20 minutes after we sat down and was not to be found the rest of the time, making it an ordeal to re-fill tea and food.

  • ((*** 3 July 2017 by Bernadine from West Sussex

    I was really looking forward to Afternoon Tea with my dearest friend who was visiting from NYC. I hadn't been to Browns before.

    Whilst the tea and food itself was fine, I was really disappointed with the overall service. So much so that I contemplated deducting the added charge, but I didn't as I always feel guilty when I do that. I was left standing at the entrance for almost 10 minutes despite there being at least four staff milling around, including senior staff. We were eventually seated and given menus.

    It took a long time for every interaction we had, which in itself was not a major issue as we were not, in the end, made to vacate the table after two hours (which I'd been told would be required). But on an occasion like this you want to feel special and rather pampered. This wasn't our experience at all.

    This was my first visit and I honestly cannot see myself returning or recommending the venue to anyone.

    Maybe they were having an 'off' day but I'd prefer better service when paying £160 for Afternoon Tea for Two.

  • ((((( 2 July 2017 by Lord from London

    Amazing one of the best afternoon teas I've ever had it was truly amazing

  • ((((( 29 June 2017 by Julie from Copenhagen

    Fabulous.

  • ((((( 23 June 2017 by Joy from London

    It was delightful. The service was superb and the food was not only delicious, but also beautifully presented.

  • ((((( 21 June 2017 by Jessica from Aarschot

    A wonderful experience, great afternoon tea, great tea...

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant