map placeholder

The English Tea Room at Brown's Hotel

Brown's Hotel, Albermarle Street, Mayfair, London, W1S 4BP

(((() Afternoon Tea
  • The English Tea Room at Brown's Hotel - London
  • The English Tea Room at Brown's Hotel - London
  • The English Tea Room at Brown's Hotel - London
  • The English Tea Room at Brown's Hotel - London
  • The English Tea Room at Brown's Hotel - London
  • The English Tea Room at Brown's Hotel - London
  • The English Tea Room at Brown's Hotel - London
  • The English Tea Room at Brown's Hotel - London
  • The English Tea Room at Brown's Hotel - London
Average
Main course: £20
Food spend: £37
Opening hours
Monday to Sunday: 12:00 - 17:30.

It was wonderful! Splendid service. Great food. A little pricey.

H. 11 June 2019
from Richmond, Virginia

View all 372 reviews

With the esteemed accolade of ‘Top London Afternoon Tea 2009' from The Tea Guild, The English Tea Room at the famous Brown's Hotel has the elegant musical backdrop of a baby grand piano.

A favourite of Queen Victoria, afternoon tea at Brown's Hotel serves up a slice of traditional London life. Take your pick from over 17 teas — including Brown’s own blend — and a selection of sandwiches, scones, cakes and pastries.

Cosy fireplaces, original Jacobean period features, wooden panelling and a refined ambience evoke an air of timeless British tradition at The English Tea Room at Brown's Hotel in London. There are 2 tea sommeliers on hand to guide you.

A champagne afternoon tea is optional and the dress code at The English Tea Room is smart casual. Green Park Tube Station is just a 5-minute walk from Brown's Hotel in Mayfair.

The English Tea Room requests that guests adhere to the smart casual dress code. Trainers, t-shirts, shorts and sportswear are not permitted. Gentlemen are requested to wear a collared shirt but are not required to wear a jacket and tie.

The English Tea Room at Brown's Hotel

Brown's Hotel, Albermarle Street, Mayfair, London, W1S 4BP

Contact +44 2074936020
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in London

See all restaurants in Mayfair

Customer reviews for The English Tea Room at Brown's Hotel

4.3 (((() (based on 372 reviews)
87% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (310)
  • luxury (86)
  • romantic (51)
  • lunch (23)
  • private dining (21)
  • business (20)
  • value (20)
  • child friendly (16)
  • dinner (10)
  • trendy (10)
  • breakfast (8)
  • large parties (8)
  • views (8)
  • entertainment (6)
  • al fresco (2)
  • ((((* 15 January 2018 by Stuart from Leicestershire

    Afternoon Tea at Browns Hotel in the Old English Tea Room is an amazing experience. They informed us on arrival that the cake stand containing sandwiches and savouries would be replenished as many times as we required at no extra charge and the same applied to the scones and cakes. The visit was in memory of my wife's mother who passed away last year as this was her favourite venue for afternoon tea. She said it was even better than The Plaza in New York where we took her for her 80th birthday

  • ((((* 21 December 2017 by Carol from Orlando FL

    We thought this was the best AfternoyTea experience we ever had in London. The warmth of the room sets the right tone for the occasional and the offerings were delectable. There was also a wide selection of teas, each one enjoyed of the three we chose.

  • ((*** 15 December 2017 by Mary from London

    Very disappointing. I take my god daughter here every year as we have always enjoyed it. This year will have been my last. I was seated just inside the door which felt like a corridors as my table was next to the queue. The sandwiches were or poor quality and fewer than previous years. The tea was not hot enough. I also thought I had booked an non alcoholic cocktail which did not arrive.that may have been my mistake in the booking. The service was sporadic and I had to walk to reception to ask for hot tea and again for the cheque.

  • ((((* 27 November 2017 by Johanna from Stockholm

    Väldigt goda bakverk. Fantastiskt urval av drycker. Lite ”stiff upper lip” men väldigt trevligt i övrigt.

  • ((((( 16 October 2017 by Jose from London

    The tea selection is brilliant

  • ((((( 4 September 2017 by Robert from LeRoy

    Wonderful experience. Staff were excellent. The food was fabulous. Would love to return.

  • ((((( 30 August 2017 by Terese from London

    For years afternoon tea at Brown's Hotel has been extolled as one of the best in London. We finally decided to see for ourselves during tea week and it did not disappoint. The service was exceptional - very welcoming, warm, and attentive. I ordered the teatox tea which was gluten free and low sugar - delicious and beautiful. My daughter ordered the regular afternoon tea which was abundant and delicious - the scones were perfection! We highly recommend Brown's and hope we have the opportunity to return when the traditional tea room renovation is complete.

  • ((((( 29 August 2017 by Lucy from London

    I visited the tea room yesterday with 2 guests and we all thoroughly enjoyed the experience.
    The food was delicious and refilled plenty of times.
    Service was very professional and attention to detail.
    The pianist took a request and played Happy Birthday to my friend which was a lovely personal touch.
    The only let down was that having read your dress code of no sports wear, it was seen that a teenager also dining was wearing a baseball cap. I felt this lower the ambience of the experience.

  • ((((( 19 August 2017 by Manel from Barcelona

    Todo ha sido perfecto tanto el servidor como la validas de todos los platos.
    Altamente recomendable

  • (((** 18 August 2017 by Marijke from Brussels - Belgium

    I had a high tea at Brown's with a friend, unfortunately in another room than usual because of works being carried out. The food offered, sandwiches, scones and cakes were of a high quality. We were not asked if we wanted more tea and the final bill included champagne which we did not have.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant