Reviews of The Elephant at the Market

4.0
(based on 43 reviews)
8 Market Place, Newbury, South East England, RG14 5BD
43 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Chris H from Newbury
    4 November 2020

    Love it here, great food, great service

  • By Lorraine F from Newbury
    1 November 2020

    Great food, excellent staff.

  • By Alice L from Nebwury
    31 October 2020

    Honestly they dealt with the whole Covid thing brilliantly and the waitress was lovely. Her name was Hannah, she was a really credit to them

  • By Paul R from Glasgow
    25 October 2020

    Enjoyed meal Had fish and chips and enormous ice cream dessert

  • By Tracy (mummy) R from Newbury
    17 October 2020

    We had a very good experience even with the COVID-19 restrictions, we felt very comfortable and safe. Our food was fab our favourites are the steaks, the burger and the fish and chips!! We have rebooked for next weekend!

  • By Mark B from Newbury
    10 October 2020

    We have a great evening, food and service were exceptional.

  • By AILEEN BOUGHEN B from RUISLIP
    9 October 2020

    Very nice pub restaurant, with tables well-spaced and a number undercover outside. Service was very friendly and strictly Covid-compliant. We both had rib-eye steaks, with chips and trimmings, plus extra sauces. Medium and medium-rare. Though both were slightly overdone for how we liked them, they were not sufficiently so to impair our enjoyment. With pre-meal gin and tonics, a bottle of Sangiovese and a shared platter of cheeses, the bill came to just over £90, which is about the going rate for this sort of meal, I'd have thought. Nice surroundings, excellent staff and a real buzz about the place, despite the current circumstances.

  • By Harriet S from Newbury
    4 October 2020

    Lovely Sunday roast and we were looked after so well. Excellent, friendly service and Covid safety measures very thorough but not obtrusive.

  • By Lesley D from Reading
    26 September 2020

    The starters were OK but my main meal was awful. I ordered chicken breast with thyme potatoes & carrots. The chicken tasted strange so couldn't eat it & it came with only 6 tiny pieces of potato & 5 tiny pieces of carrot. The waitress did take my meal off but it was my son's birthday meal & spoiled the whole thing.

  • By nicholas C brown B from NEWBURY
    15 September 2020

    Steak was covered perfectly. It was a query evening sir there was no rush in finishing our having to leave my table. Nice relaxing meal.