Reviews of The Dungeon Restaurant and Orangery at Dalhousie Castle

4.4
(based on 166 reviews)
Dalhousie Castle Hotel and Spa, Bonnyrigg, Edinburgh, Scotland, EH19 3JB
166 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By julia V from Newcastle upon tyne
    5 October 2020

    The afternoon tea we had was dellicious. A lovely variety of unusual small bites. It was marred somewhat because we were served our teas and coffees straightaway but had to wait more than half an hour for the food by which time the teas and coffees were cool and depleted. We couldn't attract anyone's attention to get more for quite some time. The other three had finished so didn't bother getting more coffee when someone eventually came but I waited for extra tea before finishing mine.

  • By P H from Bonnyrigg
    12 September 2020

    Really disappointed with our recent visit to Dalhousie. We’ve eaten in the Orangery before and really enjoyed the food and experience. However, this time there was only the one menu being served in both restaurants which had limited choices especially for a vegetarian. It was much more expensive than when we’ve visited previously and the food was poorer quality. Our first course of soup arrived stone cold, the mains were ok but the puddings were average at best. The service wasn’t great either, we had a drink in the bar after our meal but waited so long to get served we ended up leaving. Not the experience we were expecting and we certainly won’t be returning anytime soon.

  • By Joan H from GOREBRIDGE
    4 September 2020

    Once again the service and food at The Dungeon was excellent. The staff are all so polite and helpful. The food is of excellent quality and the ambience of The Dungeon is wonderful.

  • By David R from Melrose
    24 August 2020

    It was absolutely fine and good value and the view from the restaurant was very attractive.

  • By Tonya G from Merritt Island, FL
    7 March 2020

    I enjoyed my entire evening. It started in the library with cocktails, very relaxing. Then down to dinner. The food was very tasty, abd porrions were a perfect size. I ate too much ordering 3 courses!! Tge staff was curious & attentive. It was a bit from where i was staying, so taxis were needed. Otherwise great

  • By Craig C from Edinburgh
    1 February 2020

    Draughty and cold restaurant due to air conditioning which we asked to be turned off, then was turned back on again. Food tasted bland and presentation boring. Salmon could have done with some green vegetables. Didn't think it was great value for money. Excessively long and winding narrow corridoors with poor signage to get from the front door to the restaurant and lots of stairs.

  • By Carina Ruud Johansson R from Svanesund
    14 November 2019

    Very different experience. Good that you get to have a drink in the library first and plenty of time to look at the menu. You feel that you are special all night long.

  • By Anthony F from Redcar.
    7 November 2019

    Excellent meal, restaurant is fantastic would highly recommend

  • By Marko B from Tenafly
    4 October 2019

    This was a fantastic experience for us. Its located in the old stables of the Dalhousie Castle. You are asked to arrive 30min early to the library bar, a quaint library in the castle that has extensive collection of scotch as well as other cocktails to have a drink, small bites, and place your order. You can choose between 2/3 course price fixed options as well as a cheese plate. You are then taken down to the “dungeon” that is perfectly candle lit and decorated with armor and other armory pieces. Service was impeccable and food excellent. Price was very reasonable. Definitely an experience we will remember and highly recommended for anyone staying at castle or nearby area.

  • By Coleman Joseph W from Lewes,Delaware, USA
    1 September 2019

    I arranged this dinner for the four people in our party who had been traveling for 17 days as a unique end to our vacation. I took a chance on the restaurant, being a stranger in the city and country. I was not let down. We all agreed it was a unique and exceptional experience from the setting, service to food.