Reviews of The Duke of York

4.0
(based on 66 reviews)
Ipswich Road, Woodbridge, Suffolk, IP12 4BY
66 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Anne E from Felixstowe
    1 March 2020

    It was a lovely roast! Meat, belly pork was meaty not too fatty, roast potatoes amazing. Small criticisms, we had to wait for our veg and gravy so our food especially the Yorkshire’s were going cold. The Yorkshire’s were however replaced. The lemon meringue not great!

  • By Tina S from Woodbridge
    1 December 2019

    Excellent quality food and great service.

  • By Julie M from Ipswich
    26 December 2017

    Enjoyed our meal and service good. Thank you x

  • By Rhona S from woodbridge
    13 December 2017

    we had to wait 40 minutes to be served....not good enough restaurant not full Food very acceptable.

  • By Larry R from Woodbridge
    26 November 2017

    My wife & I have visited this restaurant on many occasions but did not enjoy our experience this time. Food was luke warm. The sharing platter had a couple of slices of meat each. The platter was made up of roast potatoes. The gravy was underneath the food on platter so meal was very dry. The starter was a joke, no sauce on seafood cocktail £ calamari was stringy & tough not worth nearly £6 each. Service was very slow. We waited so long to pay our bill that we finally took it to the bar ourselves to pay. Probably will not visit again which is sad as we used to live it there. Seems like new management.

  • By Richard R from Woodbridge
    12 November 2017

    Great food, nicec staff, but lousy service. 10 minutes to have order taken. 20 minutes for a starter, main course 50 minutes. Shame!

  • By Jane B from Ipswich
    11 November 2017

    Very slow in bringing the drinks to the table. Food would be good but not hot enough. I think the fish and chips had been standing in the kitchen for too long. Again this is a service issue. The vegetables were very good, a real bonus as not many restaurants provide vegetables.

  • By Beverley L from Ipswich
    28 September 2017

    We were in a party of six. Two of our party chose rump steak. One to be cooked rare and another medium to well. Both were virtually impossible to cut as they were the toughest, chewiest cuts of meat they said they have ever had. The rest of us had grilled chicken and gammon which were ok but very dry as they were all over cooked. Accompanying elements on the plate were very sparse for the price of the dish. Desserts were ok although nothing particularly memorable. The very best part of my entire meal was the tia Maria liquor coffee at the end, it was delicious. Sadly I can’t say the same for the rest of the experience. This is such a shame as the location and ambience of the Duke of York is very nice but suffice to say we won’t be returning.

  • By Simon M from Ipswich
    11 August 2017

    Good food, pleasant seroundings, helpful staff and all at a reasonable price

  • By Mike B from Ipswich
    25 June 2017

    Excellent value for money. Tom, our server, was very attentive and made us feel very welcome. Lovely friendly atmosphere and loved the fact that we were not rushed.