map placeholder

The Drum Inn

Cockington Village, Torquay, TQ2 6XA

((((* British
  • The Drum Inn - Devon
  •  - Devon
  • The Drum Inn - Devon
  •  - Devon
  • The Drum Inn - Devon
  • The Drum Inn - Devon
  •  - Devon
  • The Drum Inn - Devon
Average
Main course: £10
Food spend: £25
Opening hours
Monday to Saturday: 12:00 - 23:00
Sunday: 12:00 - 22:30

Great service from staff, food was very good and hot when it came to the table all in all a very enjoyable experience. Found parking a bit tricky but expected in a rural area, next time would get a taxi instead

Francesca 13 February 2018
from Torquay

View all 37 reviews

In the picturesque Cockington Village, the beautiful gardens and rustic thatched roof of The Drum Inn boast a spectacular sight. Offering traditional British pub cuisine, with the al fresco garden and a cosy log-fire, the views over the surrounding country are also excellent.

Hearty Sunday roasts and trusty British dishes head The Drum Inn menu, and a range just for kids offers mini versions of pub favourites. Signature Vintage pies offer fillings like beef & merlot with buttered peas, while The Drum Inn ‘Vintage classics’ menu includes lemon & garlic-roasted chicken with seasoned chips.

Paying homage to the Great British pub, the Vintage Inn bar stock includes cask-conditioned beers, real ales and a meticulously compiled wine list. Thirst-quenching offerings include seasonal non-alcoholic cocktails and freshly-pressed juices, and rich coffee is brewed freshly throughout the day.

While in the beautiful Cockington Village, The Drum Inn remains only a 20-minute walk from Torquay Train Station, and a 6-minute drive from central Torquay.

The Drum Inn

Cockington Village, Torquay, TQ2 6XA

Contact +44 1803690264
Website

Make a booking

See all Vintage Inns

See all restaurants in Devon

See all restaurants in Torquay

Customer reviews for The Drum Inn

3.9 ((((* (based on 37 reviews)
78% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (25)
  • lunch (20)
  • child friendly (15)
  • views (15)
  • value (13)
  • large parties (12)
  • romantic (9)
  • afternoon tea (8)
  • al fresco (8)
  • private dining (7)
  • entertainment (2)
  • trendy (2)
  • breakfast (1)
  • business (1)
  • luxury (1)
  • (((** 5 April 2016 by Toni from Polegate

    It was O.K. - nothing to write home about. We have a couple of Vintage Inns nearby to us which are superior to The Drum. Wouldn't rush to return.

  • ((((( 10 March 2016 by Yvonne from Torbay

    We went to the Drum as a Mothers Day treat. The Drum was very busy, but we had booked a table. The meal was very nice and service was very friendly.

  • ((((* 25 January 2016 by Steve from Compton

    Lovely walk down to the Drum with the dog, no problems in taking her in also. The Drum is spacious, warm and hospitable. The food was served promptly and was good value for money!!

  • (((** 25 December 2015 by Jilly from Paignton

    Personally I was disappointed as the menu had changed from a few days earlier and my first choice "fish pie" removed. My second choice "chicken pie" was off replaced by beef or pork pie which I don't eat. I didn't enjoy my third choice at all - bean salad which was dredged in balsamic vinegar or similar. The cheese addition was so salty I couldn't eat it and was eaten by one of my party. So a VERY expensive poor value dish with or without the balsamic vinegar. More like a starter than a main course. My soup was lovely but we then waited a VERY long time for the main course and it wasn't that busy.

    The booking system worked well except I'd asked for a window table and we had one in the middle which was OK.

    Our previous visit was perfect for me. Lovely food excellent service so especially disappointed.

    The others in the party thoroughly enjoyed their meal EXCEPT the very long wait for the main course.

  • (((** 22 September 2015 by Sarah from Surrey

    Having eaten at The Drum Inn serval times while on holiday in Cockington we were at first very impressed with both the food and service. Unfortunately our last 2 visits ended on a sour note.
    On our penultimate visit we'd finished our main ( a delicious Sunday roast) and really fancied a pudding - they do a really yummy Eton mess. However, after waiting over 20 minutes and various failed attempts to catch anyone's eye (neither of us are pushy enough to demand attention) we gave up and just paid and left. Putting this down to experience we tried again on our last night. What a mistake this proved to be. The burger I ordered was inedible - very chewy and rubbery while lacking any flavour. My husband was enjoying his Caesar salad so I didn't want to make a fuss, but it really was the worst burger I've ever tried and I simply had to give up and just eat my chips, which were nice. The waitress was lovely, she took the burger off our bill and tried to appease us with the dessert menu - but unfortunately with the note that they were out of the yummy Eton mess. So unfortunately we took this as a sign to call it a day and left feeling rather unsatisfied.
    So basically, I'm afraid I think the only way to sum up this inconsistent pub restaurant is 'could do better'!

  • ((((* 2 August 2015 by Steve from Crickhowell

    Food was lovely and a reasonable price. However they seemed a little short on staff both in the restaurant and the bar which meant quite a wait for drinks and food.

  • ((((* 23 December 2010 by Jason from Birmingham

    Been to this pub many times and it never disappoints. Given it a rating/s of good as it is a pub serving good quality pub grub - not fine dining. Would recommend it.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant