Reviews of The Drawing Rooms

4.5
(based on 362 reviews)
The Ampersand Hotel 10 Harrington Road, London, London, SW7 3ER
362 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Vanessa H from London
    20 September 2020

    Such a treat! Ihad the gluten free afternoon tea and my daughter had the science afternoon tea. It was fun, beautiful and so delicious! Highly recommend!

  • By Ms Mary P from London
    19 September 2020

    My daughter and I went to the Drawing Rooms to have the Science Themed Afternoon Tea, for Mother's Day, just 6 months late due to Covid. It was practically flawless. The service was friendly and accommodating, even when we arrived late. The tea itself was lots of fun, with interactive choices, dry ice, dinosaur excavation and, most importantly, really tasty food: that chocolate Saturn was to die for!! My daughter took the vegetarian option, but there was also a vegan menu available. There was a great choice of teas, and we didn't have to wait to get a top up. We were also offered an additional plate of sandwiches. The venue itself is stylish and very clean. It certainly felt Covid safe. Not the cheapest afternoon tea we've ever had but without doubt one of the best, and ideal for a special treat.

  • By Jessica K from London
    6 September 2020

    We had a wonderful experience with our science tea on Sunday afternoon. Not only was the food delicious, but it was presented in such a fun and inviting way! Our service went above and beyond when our waiter realized that the chef has accidentally served regular scones to our gluten free daughter and he swooped in and saved the day before she’d reached that tier of her tea! We had three different types of tea (regular, vegetarian, and kids gluten free) and every one of us were very pleased with our food and impressed with the detail and flavors.

  • By Siobhan A from London
    5 September 2020

    Great service. The science afternoon tea was fantastic and so much fun. My 6 year old daughter had a great time

  • By Alain Y from London
    5 September 2020

    Firstly we did not "dine" we came for tea, having made reservations, confusion for some reason over reservations but it is just starting up so it got sorted. The three staff seemed hararess and that did not help to create ambience. Needs work. The "science" tea was great fun and the food was really great and very tasty. Savouries and scones greatly enjoyed, the cakes a little over the top. We were asked if we wanted more sandwiches and they took forever to arrive and had to ask twice for fresh tea. Everyone in the place seemed to enjoy and the staff certainly tried their best, including making a fuss of a young girl there with Grandma on a special treat. The champagne was delicious and very cold and would have enjoyed more but was never offered. Will go again and hope things are a little more up to scratch. Thanks to the staff for trying.

  • By Laela A from Harlow
    14 March 2020

    I booked the Science/Sci-Fi Afternoon Tea for my nephew's 5th Birthday. It was absolutely brilliant, would definitely recommend. The service was really good, we were shown straight to our seats, no waiting around. The waiter was nice. The food was lovely couldn't fault any of it. The kids food was fun and interesting, my nephew enjoyed it all. It was interesting for kids with the experiment, the digging for fossils and the rocket taking off.

  • By Happy Customer U from London
    10 March 2020

    Delicious afternoon tea, immaculate service, lovely atmosphere, a great experience, we’ll definitely be back!

  • By Zara E from London
    8 March 2020

    Loved the theatre of this! Sandwiches very tasty, so much so we each got a second lot of sandwiches (included in price). Nice little science extras which made it a fun afternoon. Lots of people there with their children who seemed to be enjoying it too. Catered very well for all of our dietary requirements (vegan menu for the dairy/soya free people).

  • By Krisztina L from Budapest
    7 March 2020

    Amazing place - beyond amazing staff! Thank You !

  • By Aisha T from London
    7 March 2020

    I went with a friend for the afternoon tea at the Ampersand Hotel Drawing Rooms. She got the regular science afternoon tea and i got the vegetarian one. We both liked our savoury and sweet options. There were a few experiments you get to try with the food which the staff explained perfectly. Overall, it was a great experience. My only negative was that I requested some of my desserts to take away and they packed them for me in a box. When i checked, I noticed a dessert was missing. I asked why it wasn't in there and was told that it fell over when they were packing it. Instead of telling me, they just handed me the box hoping I wouldn't notice. The person I mentioned it to was really helpful and got me the missing items to take away but the sneakiness of that took away a little from my experience. I would still recommend the afternoon tea as it's in a lovely setting, you get a few surprises, and the food was nice and filling and the science theme definitely fits in well.