Reviews of Afternoon Tea at the Randolph

4.1
(based on 12 reviews)
Randolph Hotel c/o GOUK OWNER Limited Beaumont Street, Oxford, South East England, OX1 2LN
12 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Stuart M from Royal Leamington Spa
    18 January 2020

    An absolutely wonderful time, exceptional staff and customer service was just excellent. Turned up about 15 minutes early and was taken straight through and seated at the table of our choice and service was was very quick no wait and staff checked if required extra hot water or more tea and didn’t feel rushed. Definitely worth the very penny.

  • By Louise G from Evesham
    19 December 2019

    Superb food. Great selection of sandwiches with different breads. Also sausage rolls - warm. Service slow though.

  • By Stephen C from Oxford
    7 December 2019

    Wonderful, friendly, gloriously ol fashioned with modern food.

  • By Cathal B from Oxford
    25 October 2019

    We had afternoon tea in a beautiful dining room. The food was delicious and the staff are very friendly and accommodating

  • By john stephenson S from Salisbury
    12 October 2019

    This was a high priced product, the food was OK but not exceptional. Furthermore the service was poor, we had to wait half an hour for any food to arrive, not good enough for afternoon tea.

  • By Susan G from Newbury
    30 September 2019

    Went to celebrate my husband's birthday. I had booked a signature afternoon tea with a glass of prosecco at £39.50 per person. This was not offered at all - we were offered signature afternoon tea with a glass of champagne at £44.50 each - I wasn't going to make a fuss as it was a birthday treat but this was not what I booked. We arrived at 4.30 p.m. - at 5 p.m. we were given the glass of champagne followed at 5.15 p.m. with the tea. When my pot of tea arrived I had to ask for a cup! Finally at 5.30 p.m. the tea arrived (an hour after we arrived). The food was o.k. but the cakes were a very uninteresting selection and it was not good value for the money being asked. (It was a similar price to the afternoon tea we had earlier in the year at Cliveden and not anywhere near as good in the selection of cakes and the service). Service was automatically added to the bill - paid just over £100 for a very ordinary experience.

  • By Evelyn E from Oxford
    26 September 2019

    Lovely afternoon tea, tasty and well presented. The staff were attentive but not intrusive and the setting was fantastic - lovely and relaxing. Only minus would be that the sweet treats on departure were not forthcoming so felt a bit cheated by that - I notice from other reviewers that this would seem the norm so for the sake of trading standards I feel this needs to be removed from the menu or addressed so that they are received. All in all though it was a thoroughly enjoyable experience.

  • By John H from London
    8 September 2019

    Lovely afternoon tea

  • By Glenn C from Oxford
    6 April 2019

    The dining experience was excellent and the waiting staff very attentive. The afternoon tea is expensive but for a special occasion it’s a treat but as I’m disabled at the moment it was very difficult to get into the hotel. The elderly porter put the ramp down but was a little offhand. When getting back down to the street two members of staff assisted and were very kind. To be honest it’s dangerous for the disabled at the moment as there is only one steep access because of building works.

  • By Karon P from Oxford
    16 December 2018

    Food good, service good

2 Next page