map placeholder

The Dickens Inn

St Katharine's Way, St Katharine's & Wapping, London, E1W 1LA

((()* British
  • The Dickens Inn - London
  • The Dickens Inn - London
  • The Dickens Inn - London
  • The Dickens Inn - London
  • The Dickens Inn - London
  • The Dickens Inn - London
Average
Main course: £16
Food spend: £31

Beautiful historical pub in an incredible location. Sunday roast was very good and service was personal.

Francesco 24 September 2019
from London

View all 160 reviews

An authentic British pub housed in a stunning Grade-II listed warehouse, the Dickens Inn tavern serves classic pub grub with a great selection of specialty beers and fine wines to complement the menu.

This delightful St Katharine Docks pub is blessed with a spacious beer terrace and 2 floral upper balconies offering exceptional views of The Shard, Tower Bridge and beyond. Diners choosing the Tavern Bar menu can enjoy the likes of traditional beer-battered fish & chips, the Dickens Ultimate Burger with BBQ pulled pork or a sharing platter.

The Dickens Inn boasts a Grill restaurant serving 28-day matured steaks and generous traditional Sunday Roasts on the 2nd floor as well as a destination Pizzeria on the 1st floor. There is also a dedicated kids’ menu and plenty of vegetarian options.

This landmark location is beautifully styled with wooden beams and creaking floorboards transporting guests back to 18th century LLondon and a bygone era. The Dickens Inn is only a 5-minute walk from the Tower of London and Tower Bridge Tube Station.

The Dickens Inn

St Katharine's Way, St Katharine's & Wapping, London, E1W 1LA

Contact +44 2074882208
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in London

See all restaurants in Wapping

Customer reviews for The Dickens Inn

3.6 ((()* (based on 160 reviews)
75% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((()*
  • Value ((()*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks ((()*

Recommended for

  • dinner (90)
  • views (76)
  • lunch (58)
  • romantic (38)
  • large parties (34)
  • al fresco (31)
  • child friendly (19)
  • trendy (19)
  • value (19)
  • entertainment (16)
  • business (14)
  • private dining (13)
  • breakfast (4)
  • afternoon tea (3)
  • luxury (2)
  • (**** 7 February 2019 by Gino from London

    Had some friends over from Italy, we thought they would be impressed with location of dickins inn, they were, but not the pizzas, they took an hour before they arrived, and pizzas was over done, I told one of the staff about it but they said to write a review about your experience if you were not satisfied, we spent close to £130
    On a selection of pizzas and sides and they could see by the amount we left behind that we wasn’t at all satisfied,
    Many thanks
    Gino

  • ((((( 28 January 2019 by John from Dagenham

    Excellent good . waitress was very polite good beer
    Over all a lovely pub

  • ((*** 7 January 2019 by Rebecca from London

    The pub downstairs is lovely but I’m afraid the pizzeria left a lot to be desired. The service was cold, slow and unfriendly and the fact that we were the only table at 7pm on a cold evening says quite a lot. The pizza wasn’t bad but was massively overpriced for what we received (a large pizza is almost £30!! I mean it’s good but not that good). I haven’t tried the grill on the floor above and not sure I will be doing so.

  • (**** 4 January 2019 by Elizabeth from Montclair, NJ

    So so.
    Entered on ground floor advised of our reservation someone was vague and said we should go upstairs. Went upstairs and waited to be greeted. Only two tables were full at the time. They told us we did not have a reservation, although I had an email confirmation. We were seated and given menus and waited for 10 minutes before someone took a drink order. The waiter was the only waiter on the floor - he was harried, and not happy. We did not feel like we were being given any attention. We ordered and food took a long time - There were four of us in total. We ordered one salad (wasn't told this was an appetizer size salad), one steak frittes, one rib eye, and one fish and chips. Salad came for the person before all other meals and was tiny. Other meals came 6 minutes later. Nothing to rave about. Basic food normal portion size. No vinegar or salt and pepper on table, no one offered or asked if we needed anything. We finally got up and took from another table. No one asked if we wanted a second drink (we would have enjoyed a second drink) Two people in our party wanted Apple Pie for dessert (as it is up on the chalk board) waiter discouraged saying it would take an extra ten minutes, so we decided to skip dessert completely. What was supposed to be a special luncheon was nothing special at all and in fact it was a let down. Management might consider staffing less tired workers and reminding staff to make the diners feel welcome and recognize this might be a special occasion. Would not return or recommend as it was a disappointing experience on a beautiful day after an amazing tour of the Tower.

  • ((((* 2 January 2019 by Silvia from London

    Good

  • ((((( 2 January 2019 by Narinder from Leicestershire

    Great location and great service good food .

  • ((*** 29 December 2018 by Kevin from London

    Fish batter was soft, meat in mixed grill was undercooked (asked for well done) pizza was O.K . cheesecake ditto. wine very expensive.

  • ((((( 26 December 2018 by Simon from Paris

    Very nice place to go with a great view. The meal was good and the crew was very welcoming. Good restaurant to be with your lover or your families.

  • (((** 11 December 2018 by Mariska from London

    Great location. Food was ok. Servers were very impatient.

  • (((** 3 December 2018 by Robin from Manchester

    Camembert starter was excellent but the steak main course was average.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant