The Dickens Inn

(166 Reviews)
St Katharine's Way St Katharine's & Wapping, London, E1W 1LA
British, Pizza
A la carte menu

Average

Main course: £16
Food spend: £31

Restaurant description

An authentic British pub housed in a stunning Grade-II listed warehouse, the Dickens Inn tavern serves classic pub grub with a great selection of specialty beers and fine wines to complement the menu.

This delightful St Katharine Docks pub is blessed with a spacious beer terrace and 2 floral upper balconies offering exceptional views of The Shard, Tower Bridge and beyond. Diners choosing the Tavern Bar menu can enjoy the likes of traditional beer-battered fish & chips, the Dickens Ultimate Burger with BBQ pulled pork or a sharing platter.

The Dickens Inn boasts a Grill restaurant serving 28-day matured steaks and generous traditional Sunday Roasts on the 2nd floor as well as a destination Pizzeria on the 1st floor. There is also a dedicated kids’ menu and plenty of vegetarian options.

This landmark location is beautifully styled with wooden beams and creaking floorboards transporting guests back to 18th century LLondon and a bygone era. The Dickens Inn is only a 5-minute walk from the Tower of London and Tower Bridge Tube Station.

Dishes displayed on a la carte menus are representative of the type of food available at the restaurant.

Customer reviews for The Dickens Inn
3.7
(based on 166 reviews)

77%
of diners recommend this restaurant

  • Food
  • Drinks
  • Ambience
  • Service
  • Value
  • Location

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (3)
  • al fresco (34)
  • breakfast (4)
  • business (14)
  • child friendly (20)
  • dinner (94)
  • entertainment (18)
  • large parties (36)
  • lunch (63)
  • luxury (2)
  • private dining (13)
  • romantic (40)
  • trendy (20)
  • value (21)
  • views (83)
  • By Pam S from London
    6 November 2019

    Lovely place, lovely food and great service

  • By Sharon S from London
    5 November 2019

    Family of 4 and we all enjoyed our meals. Had a lovely table overlooking the dock and boats.

  • By Tracey B from London
    26 October 2019

    I went there for lunch with 3 friends. Prosecco was so nice we had 2 bottles. 2 of us ordered the Prawn Cocktail which had loads of prawns but sauce had no flavour and was watery. We all ordered steak for our main 3 out of 4 of those were cooked to out liking. Service was a little slow and think they could do with younger staff as one of them really didn’t seem all that bothered about keeping diners happy. Ladies loos had much to be desired so much so they had to close them so you had to go all the way down to pub level and another lot of stairs to use those one. Toilets could really do with a make over. We were how ever very happy with the total bill.

  • By Daniel alejandro M from Granada (Spain)
    19 October 2019

    Dining at the restaurant "The Dickens Inn" was a great experience: the location on the docks, the atmosphere and the lights, the friendliness and presence of the waiters, as well as their advice on children's dinner. We felt very satisfied as well as very well treated. The restaurant is beautiful and already, from the outside, you feel in a special place. It is a must when we go to London. The children had a classic "fish and chips" dinner, which they loved: crispy on the outside, and tasty and soft inside. And my wife and me, slaves of the scale (weighing machine), were careless and went straight for the most succulent dishes: sitcoin steaks well done !!!

  • By Jaime G from London
    19 October 2019

    I really enjoyed the character and location of the restaurants. The food was not something I would come back for, but I would come back to enjoy a drink on the lovely deck. Also the ground floor toilets could use some attention.

  • By Vincenzo M from London
    18 October 2019

    Right mix of flavours

  • By Jamie C from Stanton
    8 October 2019

    I enjoyed the atmosphere inside and how nice it looks on the outside! Tried the Cottage Pie and loved it! Had a nice talk with our waiter over us living in California USA. It was a great experience! Highly recommend.

  • By Francesco P from London
    22 September 2019

    Beautiful historical pub in an incredible location. Sunday roast was very good and service was personal.

  • By Derek C from Loughborough
    22 September 2019

    Good but expensive.

  • By Jim D from Henderson
    18 September 2019

    Beautiful place and great food and service.

Restaurant Location Map
The Dickens Inn
St Katharine's Way St Katharine's & Wapping, London, E1W 1LA