The Devon Doorway

(35 Reviews)
2 Telegraph Road Heswall, Wirral, Merseyside, CH60 2SA
British

Top offer

Sundays: The Great British Mini Roast from £6.95 per person

What better way to enjoy a Sunday than in a cosy country pub with a great selection of British roasts starting from £6.95 – served all day and evening on Sundays using the freshest seasonal ingredients.

Average

Main course: £12
Food spend: £28

Opening hours

Monday to Thursday: 11:00 - 23:00
Friday: 11:00 - 00:00
Saturday: 10:00 - 00:00
Sunday: 10:00 - 21:00.

Restaurant description

With a thatched roof, and rustic interiors, The Devon Doorway is a refurbished country-style pub serving modern British fare. Large windows allow natural light to fill the airy, open-plan bar and restaurant, while roaring log fires and leather armchairs provide many cosy corners for intimate gatherings. In warmer weather, enjoy a glass of fine wine in the adjoining garden.

With chefs given the opportunity to train at cookery schools in Spain and Italy, The Devon Doorway menu features modern signature recipes made using the finest available ingredients. As well as creative daily-changing specials, favourites include king prawn, crab and chorizo linguine, or spit-roasted chicken with lemon & garlic confit. A kids’ menu and Sunday roasts also feature, and desserts include rich vanilla and chocolate gelato with home-baked cookies.

The result of a treasured partnership with Rothschild wine merchants, the cellar showcases many fine wines, while token real ales and premium spirits are found at The Devon Doorway bar. Nostalgic British nibbles and eclectic sharing platters bursting with international flavours offer more laidback dining.

The Devon Doorway in Merseyside is a 12-minute walk from Heswall Rail Station.

Customer reviews for The Devon Doorway
4.3
(based on 35 reviews)

94%
of diners recommend this restaurant

  • Food
  • Drinks
  • Ambience
  • Service
  • Value
  • Location

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (3)
  • al fresco (2)
  • business (4)
  • child friendly (4)
  • dinner (27)
  • entertainment (1)
  • large parties (7)
  • lunch (24)
  • luxury (3)
  • private dining (8)
  • romantic (5)
  • trendy (6)
  • value (12)
  • By Romee H from Heswall
    19 November 2019

    We were all very pleased with the meal. May be a little too much get me. And it was great to have a chat whilst waiting for the men from Doncaster to while the time. And such a lovely fire to keep us warm. Thank you all.

  • By Tim S from London
    20 September 2019

    My wife & I had a wonderful dining experience at The Devon Doorway. All our food was exceptional, from the Carne sharing platter, to the Slow-cooked Pork Belly & Rump Steak, and the New York Cheesecake. To top it off the cocktails and Chianti wine were delicious, and the staff were lovely and personable. Thoroughly recommend.

  • By Sandra J from Pensby
    1 June 2019

    I had the squid for starters and it was lovely. Beautifully cooked, crisp and dry, no grease atall. However the portion was meagre and was disappointing. For my main meal I had the belly pork with cheek and it was delicious. It was tender, tasty and just fell apart. Cooked and presented beautifully. I chose the crumble and custard for dessert and it was good.

  • By Pat S from Wirral
    23 February 2019

    We had an excellent meal, starters parfait and main of pork belly with scallops. I received a free bottle of bubbles to celebrate my birthday, the waiter Tom was exceptionally helpful as I had trouble loading the app for my voucher. He delivered excellent customer service and had an easy polite chat with us. He is a credit to your restaurant. The men enjoyed a few beers and all finished with a creme brulee. A very lovely night as always there in comfty chairs and a pleasant and friendly atmosphere

  • By Margaret B from Claughton. Birkenhead
    16 February 2019

    Made welcome. Good choice on menu. One member asked for Gluten Free information. She was amazed to be told by waitress that Lobster meat contained Gluten ??? However she chose another meal . Food lovely nicely presented and HOT.

  • By Susan S from Oswestry
    15 February 2019

    Wonderful as always. Lovely setting, lovely staff, lovely food. Bit of a distance for us to travel - some 50 minutes away - but well worth the effort.

  • By Sheena S from Wirral
    22 June 2018

    Delicious food at a reasonable price.

  • By Ann B from Wirral
    21 March 2018

    Good menu Enjoyable dining experience Friendly staff Food very good and rwasonable

  • By Linda S from Thetford
    12 November 2017

    We always have a lovely meal here, it’s a great restaurant.

  • By David F from Wirral
    28 October 2017

    I booked a table for four to celebrate my birthday with friends. It was our first visit and we found the restaurant very bright, modern and clean. The staff are extremely polite, helpful and friendly and the food was superb. We were so impressed, we have booked again for our annual pre-Christmas meal and look forward to many more visits to this excellent restaurant.

Restaurant Location Map
The Devon Doorway
2 Telegraph Road Heswall, Wirral, Merseyside, CH60 2SA

Available offers

  • Sundays: The Great British Mini Roast from £6.95 per person
  • Sundays: The Great British Roast from £12.50 per person
  • Five Courses, Champagne on arrival, bread to start & a delicious cocktail for £49.95
  • Four courses, prosecco on arrival and chocolate truffles to finish for £34.95
  • Three course Classic Festive Menu, with a choice of seasonal favourites for £27.95
  • Classic Festive Menu - 3 courses from £27.95

Similar Restaurants

  1. The Anchor Inn - Wirral

    The Anchor Inn - Wirral

    British
    (48 Reviews)
    2.9km
    The Anchor Inn - Wirral
  2. Burnt Truffle

    Burnt Truffle

    British
    (9 Reviews)
    516m
    Burnt Truffle
  3. Toby Carvery - Arrowe Park

    Toby Carvery - Arrowe Park

    British
    (12 Reviews)
    3.8km
    Toby Carvery - Arrowe Park
  4. Sheldrakes Restaurant

    Sheldrakes Restaurant

    Mediterranean
    (34 Reviews)
    1.3km
    Sheldrakes Restaurant
  5. Harvester - Croft

    Harvester - Croft

    British
    (6 Reviews)
    8.3km
    Harvester - Croft