The Devils Dyke Hotel

(39 Reviews)
Dyke Road Poynings, Brighton, E Sussex, BN1 8YJ
British
A la carte menu

Top offer

Sunday Menu

This offer is available from June 20, 2018 until July 20, 2030, subject to availability as displayed in the booking interface. Offer excludes service and includes VAT. Not available in conjunction with other offers. This promotion has additional information available. Click on the link(s) to view.

Average

Main course: £10
Food spend: £25

Opening hours

Monday to Thursday: 11:00 - 21:30
Friday to Saturday: 11:00 - 22:30
Sunday: 11:00 - 22:30.

Restaurant description

Perched atop the eye-catching Downs, The Devils Dyke boasts spectacular views from its al fresco beer garden down into Brighton and Devil’s Dyke Valley. It offers dependable British pub cuisine with a welcoming hearth-fire and rustic oak furnishings.

Hearty Sunday roasts and trusty British dishes head The Devils Dyke menu, and a range just for kids offers mini versions of pub favourites. Signature Vintage pies offer fillings like beef & merlot with buttered peas, while The Devils Dyke Hotel ‘Vintage classics’ menu includes lemon & garlic-roasted chicken with seasoned chips.

Paying homage to the Great British pub, the Vintage Inn bar stock includes cask-conditioned beers, real ales and a meticulously compiled wine list. Thirst-quenching offerings include seasonal non-alcoholic cocktails and freshly-pressed juices, and rich coffee is brewed freshly throughout the day.

Despite its remote location near Poynings, The Devils Dyke is only 15 minutes’ drive from central Brighton.

Dishes displayed on a la carte menus are representative of the type of food available at the restaurant.

Customer reviews for The Devils Dyke Hotel
4.1
(based on 39 reviews)

92%
of diners recommend this restaurant

  • Food
  • Drinks
  • Ambience
  • Service
  • Value
  • Location

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (7)
  • al fresco (4)
  • breakfast (2)
  • child friendly (15)
  • dinner (23)
  • large parties (7)
  • lunch (29)
  • luxury (1)
  • private dining (7)
  • romantic (5)
  • trendy (2)
  • value (18)
  • views (31)
  • By Gail M from Telscombe Cliffs
    31 December 2017

    Food served is not hot enough at worse cold at best tepid which was a shame as it was nicely presented and actually was very nice we should have complained but we didn't , we shall go again but will make sure this doesn't happen

  • By Edwin G from Horsham
    18 October 2017

    Brilliant place for a lovely lunch. Excellent food , service and views

  • By Julia R from Croydon
    27 August 2017

    Table with a beautiful view, good hot food, excellent service. Staff very attentive.

  • By Michael S from Brighton
    6 August 2017

    We had the sharing platter to start. More than enough for 3 people and well presented. The roast lunch for main was generously portioned. Both friends with me said theirs was piping hot. Mine was warm. I would not recommend the beef duo. One thin piece of beef and another that was mostly bone does not warrant the additional cost. Stick with the beef roast. I've had it before and it was better. This wouldn't put me off going back as the service, atmosphere, views and other dishes I've had have all been very good

  • By Andrew H from Brighton
    28 July 2017

    Overall the food was good, burgers were just a little bland. However your serving staff on the day was poor.

  • By Sue W from Lancing
    28 July 2017

    I am afraid when arriving the staff did not take any notice of us until I approached them regarding our reservation. The prawn cocktail and lobster starter was very poor quality and amount for the price, also the steak was not good quality again considering the price.Need to improve on this. Plus we had to wait a very long time in between courses.

  • By Ann M from Crawley
    8 June 2017

    Easy to book, very nice food, good selection, very good waiting staff, not overly expensive Comfortable environment great views from our table overlooking the Downs

  • By Susan H from Worthing
    4 June 2017

    We chose to dine here on a (very busy) Sunday with 2 other people, having had an extremely good meal here earlier in the week. Unfortunately one of our diners was delayed due to an accident on the M23 so obviously our meal had to be delayed too. Once we were all there we had to wait another hour for our main meal. Our waitress was very pleasant but had to be asked 3 times for water for the table and then twice for the final bill. When the bill finally came we had been charged for someone else's drinks! The food was very good. Delicious and generous portions Rather disappointed but would still visit again...... not on a Sunday though.

  • By Joan M from BURGESS HILL
    20 May 2017

    Excellent food couldn't fault it. Very large portions so beware if you have a small appetite like me. Very good value not overpriced. The waitress (Rachel)was really helpful.and very happy and pleasant. Will definitely be going again.

  • By Chris R from Brighton
    7 May 2017

    The food was very good and the waitress we had very personable however others seemed less interactive and the service was slow with us often having to find someone; this due to the place being very popular and busy

Restaurant Location Map
The Devils Dyke Hotel
Dyke Road Poynings, Brighton, E Sussex, BN1 8YJ

Available offers

Similar Restaurants

  1. The Friar's Oak

    The Friar's Oak

    British
    (23 Reviews)
    4.1km
    The Friar's Oak
  2. The Park View

    The Park View

    British
    (2 Reviews)
    5.1km
    The Park View
  3. Restaurant at The Claremont

    Restaurant at The Claremont

    British
    (3 Reviews)
    5.8km
    Restaurant at The Claremont
  4. MARKET Restaurant & Bar

    MARKET Restaurant & Bar

    British
    (383 Reviews)
    6km
    MARKET Restaurant & Bar
  5. Bankers

    Bankers

    British
    (30 Reviews)
    6.3km
    Bankers