map placeholder

The Cunning Man

Burghfield Road, Burghfield Bridge, Reading, RG30 3RB

((((* British
  •  - Berkshire
  •  - Berkshire
  •  - Berkshire
  •  - Berkshire
  •  - Berkshire
  •  - Berkshire
  •  - Berkshire
  •  - Berkshire
Average
Main course: £10
Food spend: £25
Opening hours
Monday to Saturday: 12:00 - 23:00
Sunday: 12:00 - 22:30

Great food and friendly staff

Suzanne 27 April 2019
from Reading

View all 75 reviews

Boasting an appealing pastoral design, The Cunning Man, near Reading, has a charming thatched roof, an oaken and cobbled brick interior and a warm hearth-fire. More, it is located next to the Kennet and Avon Canal, so the traditional British pub cuisine can be enjoyed with beautiful country views from the al fresco beer garden.

Hearty Sunday roasts and trusty British dishes head The Cunning Man menu, and a range just for kids offers mini versions of pub favourites. Signature Vintage pies offer fillings like beef & merlot with buttered peas, while The Cunning Man ‘Vintage classics’ menu includes lemon & garlic-roasted chicken with seasoned chips.

Paying homage to the Great British pub, the Vintage Inn bar stock includes cask-conditioned beers, real ales and a meticulously compiled wine list. Thirst-quenching offerings include seasonal non-alcoholic cocktails and freshly-pressed juices, and rich coffee is brewed freshly throughout the day.

Though in Burghfield, The Cunning Man is only 9 minutes’ drive from Reading West Train Station, or 12 minutes from the town centre.

The Cunning Man

Burghfield Road, Burghfield Bridge, Reading, RG30 3RB

Contact +44 1189598067
Website

Make a booking

See all Vintage Inns

See all restaurants in Berkshire

See all restaurants in Reading

Customer reviews for The Cunning Man

3.8 ((((* (based on 75 reviews)
85% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (55)
  • lunch (49)
  • value (22)
  • child friendly (21)
  • al fresco (20)
  • large parties (16)
  • views (16)
  • business (9)
  • private dining (7)
  • afternoon tea (6)
  • romantic (6)
  • entertainment (1)
  • luxury (1)
  • trendy (1)
  • ((((* 21 July 2016 by Lisa from Ascot

    Dined here for my mum in laws birthday, lovely welcome, friendly service, there were a few items not available on the menu as it was in the process of being changed but all of our food was really nice, fresh and well cooked and fantastic value as we booked a special offer and got 20% discount off our bill.

  • ((((* 5 July 2016 by Lisa from Reading

    Dining experience was really lovely friendly staff and food was lovely my only negative was not enough vegetables with our roast
    Also love that pub is dog friendly

  • ((*** 15 June 2016 by Angela from Reading

    Very disappointed as the sunday menu was limited following removal of all the roast dishes and a couple of the other mains. Staff helpful at start. The steak was on the tough side, ham hock was good. Waited 15 minutes to have plates cleared and for bill in a not busy restaurant. Booking service great. Easy to use online.

  • (((** 9 June 2016 by Mike from Readomg

    Pleasant ambience. Excellent service. Main courses - chicken and lamb - both tough and chewy and overcooked.

  • (((** 5 April 2016 by Colin from Port Talbot

    Booked on line but when we got there they had no record of my booking. When I showed them their confirmation of my booking they responded with "we don't check on-line bookings" which begs the question why do on-line booking if it's a complete waste of time? The waitress was very friendly and remembered us from our last visit. The food was ok but we've had far better there in the past. Desserts for the children were very slow in arriving, how difficult is it to put ice-cream in a dish with a chocolate brownie? As for the floater coffee I wouldn't have ordered it if I knew they had to go to Brazil for the beans!!!!

    Yes I know it was a Sunday lunchtime but the restaurant was very quiet when normally it is busy and very few people sitting outdoors which was surprising as it was a nice warm sunny afternoon. Have fond memories of The Cunning Man and hope this is only a temporary blip.

  • ((((* 3 April 2016 by Elizabth from Reading

    Restaurant very busy but my table was ready. The manager took my drinks order and as my friend came in took her order as well. All the waitresses who took our orders, delivered the food and cleared the finished plates and glasses were polite and very pleasant.

  • (**** 31 March 2016 by Eileen from Reading

    meal absolutely awful ordered a sirloin steak, when came was not a sirloin the salad was just lettuce.

  • (((** 8 March 2016 by Andy from Reading

    Everything was as I expected - I've been to this pub for 30 years!

  • ((((* 28 February 2016 by David from Reading

    Meals were very good but could need a little extra for a man, booking was very good

  • ((((* 16 February 2016 by Melissa from Reading

    They didn't have a record of our booking, luckily they were quiet and could seat us anyway.
    Food was superb! Lovely setting by the canal.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant