map placeholder

The Cuckoo

20 Oundle Road, Alwalton, Peterborough, PE7 3UP

((((* British
  • The Cuckoo - Cambridgeshire
  • The Cuckoo - Cambridgeshire
  • The Cuckoo - Cambridgeshire
  • The Cuckoo - Cambridgeshire
  • The Cuckoo - Cambridgeshire
Average
Main course: £10
Food spend: £25
Opening hours
Monday to Saturday: 12:00 - 23:00
Sunday: 12:00 - 22:30

Excellent location, very comfortable.

David 07 April 2019
from Peterborough

View all 111 reviews

Situated in the village which used to be home to Rolls Royce, The Cuckoo, near Peterborough, continues this tradition of old world charm and quality. It boasts a traditional British pub menu, a rustic stone appearance, a welcoming hearth-fire and a pretty al fresco beer garden.

Hearty Sunday roasts and trusty British dishes head The Cuckoo menu, and a range just for kids offers mini versions of pub favourites. Signature Vintage pies offer fillings like beef & merlot with buttered peas, while The Cuckoo ‘Vintage classics’ menu includes lemon & garlic-roasted chicken with seasoned chips.

Paying homage to the Great British pub, the Vintage Inn bar stock includes cask-conditioned beers, real ales and a meticulously compiled wine list. Thirst-quenching offerings include seasonal non-alcoholic cocktails and freshly-pressed juices, and rich coffee is brewed freshly throughout the day.

Though located in Alwalton, Peterborough Train Station is only a 15-minute drive from The Cuckoo.

The Cuckoo

20 Oundle Road, Alwalton, Peterborough, PE7 3UP

Contact +44 1733239638
Website

Make a booking

See all Vintage Inns

See all restaurants in Cambridgeshire

See all restaurants in Peterborough

Customer reviews for The Cuckoo

3.8 ((((* (based on 111 reviews)
81% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (80)
  • lunch (53)
  • value (36)
  • private dining (28)
  • romantic (26)
  • business (24)
  • large parties (20)
  • al fresco (18)
  • child friendly (16)
  • afternoon tea (12)
  • luxury (8)
  • trendy (8)
  • entertainment (5)
  • views (5)
  • breakfast (2)
  • ((((* 16 April 2017 by Bill from Peterborough

    Visited with my wife and youngest son's family. We all enjoyed our meal very much.
    No complaints about the food provided but thought the drinks were expensive compared with those of your local competitors.

  • ((((( 3 April 2017 by Beccy from Peterborough

    Great experience - the food was fantastic and the service was too.

  • ((((* 5 March 2017 by Kerry from Sawtry

    All good as usual

  • (((** 5 March 2017 by sandra from PETERBOROUGH

    Average food with stale bread served with starters. Potatoes with duck supper were just boiled and sliced. No seasoning just bland. The duck was good. Steak pie very good. Hunters chicken ok. Fish and chips enjoyed and substantial. Could be so much more! Menu looks good but taste delivery just not there. Service has improved from previous visits. We had stopped coming as it became difficult to get a table despite always booking a week in advance. We used to go once or twice a month.

  • ((((* 25 February 2017 by Sally from Peterborough

    Much improved service and food was much better than our last visit

  • ((*** 14 February 2017 by Stella from Bourne

    Overall a nice meal although we had to send veg back as cold. Replacement veg not much better. My risotto was delicious. Restaurant was cold and had to ask to be moved away from the door. Prices high. Marked increase since last visit.

  • ((((( 11 February 2017 by Vernon from Peterborough

    Excellent through out thank you

  • ((((( 22 January 2017 by Keren from Peterborough

    We went to the cuckoo inn last night and had a delicious meal. The garlic mushroom starter was absolutely delicious as was the seared sea bass. The service was good and all together it was a very enjoyable experience. We will certainly be visiting there again

  • ((((* 19 January 2017 by Sarah from King's Lynn

    On arrival home I found we'd been given the bill for a different table of 3 and had been charged DOUBLE. I shall be contacting the Cuckoo to let them know. The food and decor was lovely

  • ((((* 16 January 2017 by Martyn from Spalding

    We had a good meal, and the service was very good.
    The only complaint I have, which is quite a big one, but is a seasonal one, is that we were sat right by the entrance. Every time people went in or out the cold air that came in was almost unbearable. There is an outside door to the porch area but this would be left open, so when the internal entrance door was opened it was like sitting outside, not nice when it was freezing conditions outside.
    Can I suggest either a self closing hinged bracket is applied to the outside door to prevent it being left open (unless propped or pinned for summer months) or a heat blower installed above the internal door to counteract the cold air?

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant