map placeholder

The Cuckoo

20 Oundle Road, Alwalton, Peterborough, PE7 3UP

((((* British
  • The Cuckoo - Cambridgeshire
  • The Cuckoo - Cambridgeshire
  • The Cuckoo - Cambridgeshire
  • The Cuckoo - Cambridgeshire
  • The Cuckoo - Cambridgeshire
Average
Main course: £10
Food spend: £25
Opening hours
Monday to Saturday: 12:00 - 23:00
Sunday: 12:00 - 22:30

Excellent location, very comfortable.

David 07 April 2019
from Peterborough

View all 111 reviews

Situated in the village which used to be home to Rolls Royce, The Cuckoo, near Peterborough, continues this tradition of old world charm and quality. It boasts a traditional British pub menu, a rustic stone appearance, a welcoming hearth-fire and a pretty al fresco beer garden.

Hearty Sunday roasts and trusty British dishes head The Cuckoo menu, and a range just for kids offers mini versions of pub favourites. Signature Vintage pies offer fillings like beef & merlot with buttered peas, while The Cuckoo ‘Vintage classics’ menu includes lemon & garlic-roasted chicken with seasoned chips.

Paying homage to the Great British pub, the Vintage Inn bar stock includes cask-conditioned beers, real ales and a meticulously compiled wine list. Thirst-quenching offerings include seasonal non-alcoholic cocktails and freshly-pressed juices, and rich coffee is brewed freshly throughout the day.

Though located in Alwalton, Peterborough Train Station is only a 15-minute drive from The Cuckoo.

The Cuckoo

20 Oundle Road, Alwalton, Peterborough, PE7 3UP

Contact +44 1733239638
Website

Make a booking

See all Vintage Inns

See all restaurants in Cambridgeshire

See all restaurants in Peterborough

Customer reviews for The Cuckoo

3.8 ((((* (based on 111 reviews)
81% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (80)
  • lunch (53)
  • value (36)
  • private dining (28)
  • romantic (26)
  • business (24)
  • large parties (20)
  • al fresco (18)
  • child friendly (16)
  • afternoon tea (12)
  • luxury (8)
  • trendy (8)
  • entertainment (5)
  • views (5)
  • breakfast (2)
  • ((*** 7 November 2017 by SK from Peterborough

    Not good. Food was very poor.

  • (((** 30 August 2017 by Neil from Lincoln

    food was good but service slow.menu was good but 50% not available because they had run out of ingredients .

  • ((((( 13 August 2017 by Roger from Peterborough

    Great menu food & service

  • (((** 6 August 2017 by Gerry from Peterborough

    Booking was very good and easy to do

  • ((((( 21 June 2017 by Steph from Peterborough

    The Cuckoo is an extremely lovely restaurant and pub which I visit regularly. One of my favourite dishes is the prawn & lobster cocktail for starter, but for a lot of the dishes on a Monday and Tuesday things have ran out from service over the weekend and delivery of new stock does not arrive until the Wednesday. This can sometimes be a bit disappointing. I also love the Pecan Pie for dessert, but this is only available as part of the light pudding option with a coffee. It cannot apparently be offered as a main dessert and as a larger slice. Overall though it is always a really enjoyable experience going to the cuckoo and the staff are always extremely obliging and friendly.

  • ((((( 21 June 2017 by Monica from spalding

    lovely pub, full of olde character. Always busy, regardless of time. The front of house fella was excellent, very efficient and a great ambassador for the pub. Food was of a good standard. Bit of a wait for main and dessert, but they were very busy. Beer garden is an added bonus and it was jammed solid. Highly recommend. Might be an idea to reserve table, especially for later bookings.

  • ((((( 28 May 2017 by Mick from Castor

    In all I would say we enjoyed our visit,food was good,service with a smile,what more could you want.

  • ((((* 7 May 2017 by John from Peterborough

    As we expected, a good meal in pleasant surroundings. The service was good and the meal was good value.

  • ((((( 27 April 2017 by Helen from Peterborough

    We had a really great dining experience. Our friends had not been before and they loved the food and the atmosphere and my friend is disabled and I had requested a table not too far into the restaurant and we had a superb table . All the staff were superb very friendly and efficient really great time and we intend to come back end of June for my friends 50th birthday meal.

  • ((((( 18 April 2017 by Mike from Peterborough

    very helpful staff and excellent food. recommend the sea bass.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant