Reviews of The Crown - Colchester

3.8
(based on 132 reviews)
Old Ipswich Road Ardleigh, Colchester, Essex, CO7 7QR
132 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Fleur C from Ipswich
    8 December 2019

    Very pleasant Sunday lunch at The Crown, Ardleigh. Food was very good - we had 2 courses, starter & main, which were good quality. Service was good, once we the server arrangements were clear.

  • By Glynis S from Suffolk
    19 October 2019

    Couldn’t fault it everything was spot on

  • By Emily S from Colchester
    29 September 2019

    Good ambience. Roast beef was tough. Plate looked dingy as carrots were baked which made them look brownish and added unwanted fat to the meal. Boiled or steamed carrots would have looked better and been healthier. Impossible to order smaller portions for older people. Plate so crowded that it was difficult to cut the food without it spilling. Dessert was good.

  • By Gemma H from Essex
    21 September 2019

    We have dined at The Crown before and we love it here. Only downside to this particular visit was the steak and ale pie, the meat tasted very gritty and cheap, wasn't pleasant to eat at all so I had to leave it. Everything else we ordered was very nice.

  • By Garry E from Kelvedon
    28 July 2019

    Lamb shank Very good lovely plenty of it lovely vegetables

  • By Louise K from Colchester
    3 February 2019

    Didn't have the best experience been once before and it was fantastic. Booked for 6.30 a week before only to find when ordering so much had ran out . No turkey so cheese board just a few scraps of veg which was cold and potatoes hard, they had even run out out of one larger! Was so upset as took family as told them how amazing the food was. Might try again one more time hoping it was a one off.

  • By Michsel W from Colchester
    16 September 2018

    I took my grandson and his wife out for Sunday lunch at the ardliegh crown Colchester. We were very pleased with the meal and the service we received.

  • By Annette G from Brightlingsea
    25 May 2018

    The whole experience was excellent. The food was amazing and the staff really knew the dishes well. The staff were very helpful and friendly and I would definitely go there again, in fact I have already booked two more visits.

  • By Carol H from Great Tey colchester
    6 May 2018

    Really lovely meal in a lovely pub , staff were friendly and welcoming would def go back

  • By Tony W from Great Bricett
    22 April 2018

    Excellent time for the four of us all plates clean!!