map placeholder

The Crown - Christchurch

Ringwood Road Bransgore, Christchurch, BH23 8AA

((((* British
  •  - Dorset
  •  - Dorset
  •  - Dorset
  •  - Dorset
  •  - Dorset
  •  - Dorset
Average
Main course: £10
Food spend: £25
Opening hours
Monday to Saturday: 12:00 - 23:00
Sunday: 12:00 - 22:30

Very enjoyable meal with friends food really good as was the service by Andy

Teresa 08 April 2019
from Bournemouth

View all 39 reviews

Enclosed by the wild but pretty New Forest, The Crown – Christchurch enjoys a brilliant spot in the country, while remaining close to the town. The rustic feel, from the oak beams, the cosy log-fire and the pretty beer garden, influences the dependable classic British pub cuisine.

Hearty Sunday roasts and trusty British dishes head The Crown menu, and a range just for kids offers mini versions of pub favourites. Signature Vintage pies offer fillings like beef & merlot with buttered peas, while The Crown ‘Vintage classics’ menu includes lemon & garlic-roasted chicken with seasoned chips.

Paying homage to the Great British pub, the Vintage Inn bar stock includes cask-conditioned beers, real ales and a meticulously compiled wine list. Thirst-quenching offerings include seasonal non-alcoholic cocktails and freshly-pressed juices, and rich coffee is brewed freshly throughout the day.

The Crown is 10 minutes’ drive from Christchurch, or just 6 minutes from Hinton Admiral Train Station.

The Crown - Christchurch

Ringwood Road Bransgore, Christchurch, BH23 8AA

Contact +44 1425672279
Website

Make a booking

See all Vintage Inns

See all restaurants in Dorset

See all restaurants in Christchurch

Customer reviews for The Crown - Christchurch

4.1 ((((* (based on 39 reviews)
87% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (30)
  • lunch (23)
  • value (13)
  • child friendly (12)
  • al fresco (8)
  • private dining (8)
  • romantic (8)
  • large parties (6)
  • afternoon tea (4)
  • business (3)
  • breakfast (2)
  • trendy (2)
  • views (2)
  • entertainment (1)
  • (((** 15 December 2016 by Darren from London

    Nice pub, pleasant staff in general, unexciting food. Strange sweet dressing on everything, cold chips -a few of which were undercooked, no proper allergen advice on the menus, steak was dry.

  • (((** 6 December 2016 by Patrick from Ringwood

    Disappointed with food, could have been hotter, roast potatoes soggy and burnt, vegetables so so, my wifes dish of cauliflower was just a mush, she said it was a bit like rice pudding, and we had to pay £2.50 extra for that, on a high note the turkey was great, and the waitress was fantastic.

  • (**** 22 November 2016 by Graham from BOURNEMOUTH

    We all had the 3 course meal, starters were mediocre , the main courses were below average, I told the lady that took my half eaten rib eye steak away that it was gristly and inedible . She said she would tell the chef. However ,never heard any more.surprised at the cost of the meal. Therefore would not recommend this restaurant, or go ourselves again.

  • ((((( 8 November 2016 by Colin from Bransgore

    Although a VERY busy night the staff went the extra mile to help. The chef and Juliet were very attentive. Very pleased with our meal - and great value.

  • ((((( 10 October 2016 by Gaythorne from New Milton

    Good food. Excellent food. Great service.

  • (**** 23 August 2016 by Peter from Burley

    service poor and slow in the extreme, though food not bad.

  • ((((* 14 August 2016 by Mary from Bournemouth

    Food took a long time to come, steak was very thick and rare in the middle when I asked for medium, ended up leaving meal.

  • ((((* 11 August 2016 by Graham from Christchurch

    Although service was a little slow our waitress Sophie was excellent and kept us informed of progress all the time and even told us when she was going into the kitchen to help with our desserts as they were short staffed. She was really friendly and efficient.

  • ((((* 29 June 2016 by Adrian from Barton on Sea

    We visited on Father's Day so the restaurant and staff very busy however they took our order quickly and the food turned up quite shortly after that. Starters were excellent (king prawns & scallops) and whilst the meat of the main dishes was again excellent the vegetables could have been better cooked. I may be doing them a disservice but it did seem as if they had been microwaved. The desserts were really good. All round pretty good and would highly recommend, just ask them to cook the veg!

  • (((** 24 April 2016 by Fiona from Poole

    The service was very slow and the time for food to be served was also slow which probably explained why my pizza was burnt on the base. The service was very flat and and reactive rather than pro-active. The rest of the food was enjoyable.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant