Reviews of The Crown - Broxbourne

3.0
(based on 17 reviews)
Old Nazeing Road, Broxbourne, Herts., EN10 6QT
17 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Vanessa B from Cheshunt
    26 July 2019

    We sat in the garden so had to go to the bar to order food, however the wait to order was ridiculous even though the pub wasn't busy. Table wasn't cleared between courses. Cod was extremely salty but generally the food was good. The length of time queuing and waiting for the food was too long and one of the guys behind the bar needs some sort of training in customer service.

  • By Kerry O from Essex
    19 November 2017

    Great food x fab service

  • By Seema J from HATFIELD
    28 May 2017

    WE WAITED FOR 75 MINUTES FOR THE FOOD TO ARRIVE AND WHEN IT DID ARRIVE IT WAS LUKE WARM.THE FISH AND CHIPS ARRIVED WITH FRIES AS THE RESTAURANT HAD RAN OUT OF CHIPS?WISH WE WERE INFORMED AT THE TIME OF PLACING THE ORDER.WHEN THE FOOD ARRIVED VERY LITTLE FRIES AND THE HUNTERS CHICKEN WAS OVERCOOKED AND DIFFICULT TO CHEW.

  • By Kay F from Royston
    25 May 2017

    This is out third visit to The Crown and we had hoped that following previous complaints there would be an improvement in the service but not so: Arrival: 12.40. First attention by staff (after we made complaints at bar) 13.25. First course served 13.50. Clearing of plates and order for next course 14.35. Second course served 14.50. Bill 15.00. Bill receipt collected from bar 15.10. The waiting staff are excellent and apologise profusely and often but are hopelessly overworked. This is exactly what has happened on previous visits. Our server, Matt, did his utmost, but it is evident that the poor staffing levels make it impossible to cope with the covers in a timely fashion. The food is acceptable but a considerable number of the main courses were unavailable due to a missed food delivery during the morning.

  • By Lottie H from Enfield
    13 May 2017

    It was absolutely appalling. After being seated we had to wait half an hour to be served, even after asking 3 waiters if they would take our drinks order. Then when we finally got to order our food it took and hour for it to arrive. Once the food finally arrived, 2 of the meals were missing the bacon chutney sauce as noted on the menu and after querying this with the waiter, he came back to say they had run out. Once we finished our meal noone came to clear our table or offer us a dessert menu. The whole evening was a complete disaster and I certainly wouldn't return to this pub again.

  • By Carol W from Walthamstow
    17 April 2017

    We had a very nice meal with good service unfortunately you rang out of the starters and main meals we would have liked to order. We would also like to say ,that you having a lift in the restaurant was very good, my mother-in-law cannot get up and down steps.

  • By Patrick M from Harlow
    5 February 2017

    Good service and good food

  • By Shirley C from Hoddesdon
    2 January 2017

    very good value for money

  • By Janet W from Waltham Abbey
    9 September 2016

    Very friendly and polite staff. Good atmosphere. We weren't rushed. We were a party of 6 and 5 of us wanted sea bass, but they only had one available, so that was the only disappointment.

  • By Jane G from Hoddesdon
    26 August 2016

    We waited ages to be shown to a table, the waiting staff whilst pleasant all need to smarten up and improve their skills, there was so much off the menu that we couldn't have it was ridiculous and when I chose a special it turned out that was off the menu too. Food when it came was ok but no more than that. I would not go back or recommend to anyone.

2 Next page