map placeholder

The Cow

Newport Road, Isle of Wight, P041 0YJ

(((() Burger
  • The Cow - Isle of Wight
  • The Cow - Isle of Wight
  • The Cow - Isle of Wight
  • The Cow - Isle of Wight
  • The Cow - Isle of Wight
  • The Cow - Isle of Wight
  • The Cow Co - Isle of Wight
  • The Cow - Isle of Wight
  • The Cow Co - Isle of Wight
  • The Cow - Isle of Wight
Opening hours
Sunday to Thursday: 11:00 - 16:00
Friday & Saturday: 11:00 - 22:00.

Booking was so easy even when I had to extend the numbers, I did it on line and got a very quick response. Food is amazing and so are the staff. Good selection on the menu with a wide variety of options. It's a great place to eat and even welcome dogs, with a blanket and a bowl of water.

Lisa 06 May 2019
from Yarmouth, Isle of Wight

View all 161 reviews

The Cow Restaurant and Bar is one of the Isle of Wight’s most unique places to eat, serving a selection of freshly cooked gastropub classics, and an extensive range of hot and cold drinks against the backdrop of a stylishly converted Swiss barn at Tapnell Farm. The vibrant rustic restaurant is surrounded by panoramic views of Tennyson Down, The Solent and The New Forest.

Served at lunch and dinner, The Cow menu offers diners a wide choice of both meat and vegetarian options, many of which are available gluten-free. Having specialised in beef and dairy dishes over their first 3 years, the restaurant launched a brand-new menu in 2018. The Cow’s talented team of chefs, led by Colby Meredith, now champion locally sourced produce, with fresh takes on home-cooked classics, like sausage and mash, macaroni cheese, and fish and chips. These new dishes, which are also available as “lighter bite” sized portions for smaller appetites, join the stellar line-up of burgers and steaks that the restaurant has already made its name for.

Tucked away in the rural heart of the island, The Cow is only a 15-minute drive from the Isle of Wight’s capital town of Newport.

The Cow

Newport Road, Isle of Wight, P041 0YJ

Contact +44 1983758725
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Isle of Wight

Customer reviews for The Cow

4.5 (((() (based on 161 reviews)
94% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value (((()
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • lunch (106)
  • dinner (100)
  • child friendly (95)
  • views (81)
  • large parties (66)
  • trendy (56)
  • value (47)
  • al fresco (19)
  • private dining (18)
  • entertainment (14)
  • romantic (14)
  • business (12)
  • afternoon tea (10)
  • luxury (8)
  • breakfast (5)
  • ((((* 21 November 2018 by Ian from Cowes

    Nice space, great views and a good atmosphere. We went on Sunday expecting to be able to order a traditional Sunday lunch, which was on the menu. Turns out they only cook limited quantities and had sold out long before our 2pm booking.
    Staff very friendly and managed our disappointment charmingly.

  • ((((( 19 November 2018 by C.C. from Totland

    The Cow do what they do extremely well-the burgers are a real feature of the menu. It's good to see an extended menu. It's great to see a gluten free friendly menu-the chocolate fondant was delicious. The Staff were all very pleasant and helped to make the evening a pleasure. The setting is unique and makes for a different evening out.

  • ((((* 12 November 2018 by Susan from Southampton

    We booked as part of our stay on the farm. Staff were helpful and friendly. Food was great. Would recommend The Cow.

  • ((((( 12 November 2018 by Linda from Yarmouth

    Absolutely delicious steaks, service was prompt and a Devine signature gin and tonic

  • ((((( 5 November 2018 by Sian from Ryde

    Delicious food, nicely presented, fabulous view, good music, excellent service!

  • ((((( 31 October 2018 by KB from Isle Of Wight

    Really lovely food, some interesting and unusual dishes long with classics - something for everyone basically!
    Food took half an hour to arrive, which was a little surprising considering it wasn’t very busy and we both ordered fish. But it was piping hot and beautifully cooked, so overall we were happy. Would definitely return.

  • ((((( 30 October 2018 by L from Hampshire

    Amazing burgers for all the family. Loved the salads too and dirty fries. Lots of drink choice and luxury icecreams. Came here twice on our week long holiday in the Isle of Wight. Bonus feature was the Tesla charger outside to charge our car.

  • ((((( 29 October 2018 by Ian from Sittingbourne

    Great look and feel to the place, Fantastic steak. Good selection, brilliant prices. Could be my favourite restaurant ever.
    Great service.

  • ((((( 18 October 2018 by Martin from Brighstone

    I had no trouble booking a table for five, the atmosphere was great, the staff were exceptionally good, very attentive but not in your face. The food order came quickly and was piping hot. My favourite course was the starters . These were very different and so so tasty. Four starters were enough for five of us.
    Desserts were exceptional, the ladies were very pleased.

  • ((((( 16 October 2018 by John from Carshalton

    Great food with friendly and welcoming staff. A bit of a hidden gem

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant