The Cow

(250 Reviews)
Newport Road, Isle of Wight, Hampshire, P041 0YJ
Burger

Top offer

Quiz Night!? Entry £3 per guest

This offer is available from February 27, 2020 until April 23, 2020, subject to availability as displayed in the booking interface. Not available in conjunction with other offers. Offer excludes service.

Opening hours

Sunday to Thursday: 11:00 - 16:00
Friday & Saturday: 11:00 - 22:00.

Restaurant description

The Cow Restaurant and Bar is one of the Isle of Wight’s most unique places to eat, serving a selection of freshly cooked gastropub classics, and an extensive range of hot and cold drinks against the backdrop of a stylishly converted Swiss barn at Tapnell Farm. The vibrant rustic restaurant is surrounded by panoramic views of Tennyson Down, The Solent and The New Forest.

Served at lunch and dinner, The Cow menu offers diners a wide choice of both meat and vegetarian options, many of which are available gluten-free. Having specialised in beef and dairy dishes over their first 3 years, the restaurant launched a brand-new menu in 2018. The Cow’s talented team of chefs, led by Colby Meredith, now champion locally sourced produce, with fresh takes on home-cooked classics, like sausage and mash, macaroni cheese, and fish and chips. These new dishes, which are also available as “lighter bite” sized portions for smaller appetites, join the stellar line-up of burgers and steaks that the restaurant has already made its name for.

Tucked away in the rural heart of the island, The Cow is only a 15-minute drive from the Isle of Wight’s capital town of Newport.

Customer reviews for The Cow
4.6
(based on 250 reviews)

95%
of diners recommend this restaurant

  • Food
  • Drinks
  • Ambience
  • Service
  • Value
  • Location

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (11)
  • al fresco (27)
  • breakfast (8)
  • business (16)
  • child friendly (148)
  • dinner (166)
  • entertainment (20)
  • large parties (103)
  • lunch (163)
  • luxury (13)
  • private dining (25)
  • romantic (20)
  • trendy (91)
  • value (67)
  • views (121)
  • By Kimmi Piggott S from Yarmouth, Isle of Wight
    20 February 2020

    ALWAYS GREAT

  • By Bryony O from Yarmouth
    19 February 2020

    Adults and children alike enjoyed their meal. Good place for mixed generations. Plenty of room between tables. Our four grandchildren, all under five years, made welcome with crayonIng packs. Waitresses were attentive, relaxed and pleasant.

  • By Sonita G from Haywards heath
    16 February 2020

    Great food and service for a large family group, including many allergies! Thank you so much.

  • By Sarah S from Yarmouth
    16 February 2020

    We had a great time, good food and good beer !! My daughter and I had two "starters" which suited our appetites' just fine ! The men had huge burgers !! and my grandson enjoyed his Dirty Chips + !! Thank you the service was very good and friendly and a good experience all round.

  • By Simon L from Swindon
    15 February 2020

    Absolutely fantastic meal, service and ambience. The steaks were cooked to perfection and the beef stew was incredible. Burger was also fantastic. We come to the island two or three times a year, so will definitely be coming back.

  • By Francesca G from Isle of Wight
    14 February 2020

    We had the most amazing valentines meal. The soufflés were incredible. My partner loved his burger, I had the lemon hake...perfect! Topped off with the creme brûlée!! Amazing food, service was awesome. The food is the perfect mix of top quality’normal’ food as in burgers etc and awesome next level dishes. Beetroot and goats cheese soufflé...genius!

  • By Graham W from Carisbrooke
    14 February 2020

    Friendly welcome. Pleasant and efficient waitresses. Very nice and well presented food. Good value.

  • By Karen C from Freshwater
    7 February 2020

    We went to The Cow for my son's birthday. The staff there are friendly and helpful, and the food was fantastic!!! Drinks were a little expensive, but we had a great time.

  • By Neil W from Portsmouth
    2 February 2020

    excellent

  • By Jessica M from Calbourne
    2 February 2020

    Amazing roast beef, beautiful creme brulee and lovely service. Couldn't fault a single thing. My very fussy 6 year old also claims that the burgers are the 'best ever' praise indeed coming form him! Can't wait to go back.

Restaurant Location Map
The Cow
Newport Road, Isle of Wight, Hampshire, P041 0YJ