The Cow

(385 Reviews)
Newport Road, Isle of Wight, South East England, P041 0YJ
Burger

Opening hours

Sunday to Thursday: 11:00 - 16:00
Friday & Saturday: 11:00 - 22:00.

Restaurant description

The Cow Restaurant and Bar is one of the Isle of Wight’s most unique places to eat, serving a selection of freshly cooked gastropub classics, and an extensive range of hot and cold drinks against the backdrop of a stylishly converted Swiss barn at Tapnell Farm. The vibrant rustic restaurant is surrounded by panoramic views of Tennyson Down, The Solent and The New Forest.

Served at lunch and dinner, The Cow menu offers diners a wide choice of both meat and vegetarian options, many of which are available gluten-free. Having specialised in beef and dairy dishes over their first 3 years, the restaurant launched a brand-new menu in 2018. The Cow’s talented team of chefs, led by Colby Meredith, now champion locally sourced produce, with fresh takes on home-cooked classics, like sausage and mash, macaroni cheese, and fish and chips. These new dishes, which are also available as “lighter bite” sized portions for smaller appetites, join the stellar line-up of burgers and steaks that the restaurant has already made its name for.

Tucked away in the rural heart of the island, The Cow is only a 15-minute drive from the Isle of Wight’s capital town of Newport.

Customer reviews for The Cow
4.5
(based on 385 reviews)

94%
of diners recommend this restaurant

  • Food
  • Drinks
  • Ambience
  • Service
  • Value
  • Location

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (13)
  • al fresco (51)
  • breakfast (9)
  • business (16)
  • child friendly (211)
  • dinner (254)
  • entertainment (26)
  • large parties (127)
  • lunch (240)
  • luxury (16)
  • private dining (31)
  • romantic (32)
  • trendy (142)
  • value (111)
  • views (187)
  • By Safiah S from Isle of Wight
    21 October 2020

    Lovely dining experience, friendly staff, amazing burgers

  • By Peter F from totland
    21 October 2020

    Best burger's in town. Safe environment. Helpful friendly staff.

  • By Mal K from isle of wight
    21 October 2020

    The Cow has good covid measures in place, it is very well set out with plenty of space. The food menu is restricted but the main menus do have a good variety but the only downside is the dessert menu only consists of "tub" ice cream which is ok for kids but perhaps not so for adults. All the burgers/fries received to our table were absolutely delicious - cannot fault any of it, cooked to perfection!! Highly recommend here, will be going again for sure...

  • By Bev H from Isle of Wight
    20 October 2020

    Amazing. Loved every minute and the Burger was sensational. The gentleman with a great funny mask on helped us with the ordering on the iPad. Lovely guy, so warm and friendly. The ladies there were too. Thank you

  • By Beth G from London
    20 October 2020

    Delicious veggie burger !!!

  • By Lisa P from Southampton
    20 October 2020

    Amazing food! Best fries ??

  • By Susan R from Freshwater Bay
    19 October 2020

    When my sons and my family visit me on the Island they just love to have a meal at .The Cow. A strong favourite is the Matador burger! Personally I am proud to take them there, but I would like a little more choice for myself, other than burgers, buns and chips, as I am in a low carb diet! I was also disappointed to only be offered ice cream for dessert, as surely cheesecake etc could be on the menu at not too much expense for yourselves? I very much appreciate the care taken over hygiene in the present circumstances.

  • By Marlene B from Wootton Bridge
    19 October 2020

    Excellent quality of food, good service and very reasonable prices

  • By Niki H from Ryde
    17 October 2020

    This is the 2nd time in as many weeks that we have visited for a dinner and both times the food and service has been outstanding. The views from the top floor are outstanding and our grandsons absolutely loved the food and views. We will definitely be back very soon for the best burgers and fries ever at fantastic prices.

  • By Sylvia B from Yarmouth
    16 October 2020

    I was pleasantly surprised at the menu, quality of food and friendliness of the staff. Thank you.

Restaurant Location Map
The Cow
Newport Road, Isle of Wight, South East England, P041 0YJ