map placeholder

The Cow

Newport Road, Isle of Wight, P041 0YJ

(((() Burger
  • The Cow - Isle of Wight
  • The Cow - Isle of Wight
  • The Cow - Isle of Wight
  • The Cow - Isle of Wight
  • The Cow - Isle of Wight
  • The Cow - Isle of Wight
  • The Cow Co - Isle of Wight
  • The Cow - Isle of Wight
  • The Cow Co - Isle of Wight
  • The Cow - Isle of Wight
Opening hours
Sunday to Thursday: 11:00 - 16:00
Friday & Saturday: 11:00 - 22:00.

Booking was so easy even when I had to extend the numbers, I did it on line and got a very quick response. Food is amazing and so are the staff. Good selection on the menu with a wide variety of options. It's a great place to eat and even welcome dogs, with a blanket and a bowl of water.

Lisa 06 May 2019
from Yarmouth, Isle of Wight

View all 159 reviews

The Cow Restaurant and Bar is one of the Isle of Wight’s most unique places to eat, serving a selection of freshly cooked gastropub classics, and an extensive range of hot and cold drinks against the backdrop of a stylishly converted Swiss barn at Tapnell Farm. The vibrant rustic restaurant is surrounded by panoramic views of Tennyson Down, The Solent and The New Forest.

Served at lunch and dinner, The Cow menu offers diners a wide choice of both meat and vegetarian options, many of which are available gluten-free. Having specialised in beef and dairy dishes over their first 3 years, the restaurant launched a brand-new menu in 2018. The Cow’s talented team of chefs, led by Colby Meredith, now champion locally sourced produce, with fresh takes on home-cooked classics, like sausage and mash, macaroni cheese, and fish and chips. These new dishes, which are also available as “lighter bite” sized portions for smaller appetites, join the stellar line-up of burgers and steaks that the restaurant has already made its name for.

Tucked away in the rural heart of the island, The Cow is only a 15-minute drive from the Isle of Wight’s capital town of Newport.

The Cow

Newport Road, Isle of Wight, P041 0YJ

Contact +44 1983758725
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Isle of Wight

Customer reviews for The Cow

4.6 (((() (based on 159 reviews)
94% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value (((()
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • lunch (105)
  • dinner (99)
  • child friendly (94)
  • views (81)
  • large parties (66)
  • trendy (56)
  • value (47)
  • al fresco (19)
  • private dining (18)
  • entertainment (14)
  • romantic (14)
  • business (12)
  • afternoon tea (10)
  • luxury (8)
  • breakfast (5)
  • ((((( 31 December 2018 by SP from Isle of Wight

    Love The Cow. Great Atmosphere, friendly helpful staff and consistently good food. I have been going to The Cow for 3 years now and love it.

  • ((((( 24 December 2018 by Christine from Isle of Wight

    Always a pleasure to eat at The Cow. Delicious food and friendly attentive staff.

  • ((((( 19 December 2018 by Hayley from Isle of Wight

    Fantastic food! I had the roast and I think it was the best roast I’ve ever had! Great atmosphere, friendly staff. The only criticism I would have is the food took a little long to come out but it was delicious!

  • ((((( 16 December 2018 by Robert from Alverstone Garden Village

    Extremely quiet on Friday lunchtime but that was fine for the four of us. Service good, food good, price reasonable.

  • (((** 13 December 2018 by Abbie from Isle of Wight

    The restaurant was nice although a little cold.
    Food was not good which was disappointing as on previous visits it had been amazing.

  • ((((( 28 November 2018 by Janet from Totland

    Fantastic service and food. Cannot fault. The Gallybagger cheese souffle was magnificent and the roast beef melted in your mouth!

  • ((((* 23 November 2018 by Eddy from Shanklin

    The restaurant was clean and airy. The staff was polite and helpful. A bottle of water was place on our table soon after taking our seat.
    The only drawback there was a large group of people in with young children. Where the parents was allowing them to run around the restaurant shouting and screaming. (No fault of the staff). We asked a waitress if we could move to a quieter area, we were directed to upstairs. :-). Whilst we appreciate this is a family restaurant, even in this day and age we do not think it should be permitted for children to run around, even if it is for Health & Safety.
    The food was served quickly and was tasty. And as there was CCTV fitted our empty plates were removed soon after finishing eating.

  • ((((( 22 November 2018 by Bronwen from isle of wight

    Great food & ambiance at a realistic price

  • ((((* 21 November 2018 by Ian from Cowes

    Nice space, great views and a good atmosphere. We went on Sunday expecting to be able to order a traditional Sunday lunch, which was on the menu. Turns out they only cook limited quantities and had sold out long before our 2pm booking.
    Staff very friendly and managed our disappointment charmingly.

  • ((((( 19 November 2018 by C.C. from Totland

    The Cow do what they do extremely well-the burgers are a real feature of the menu. It's good to see an extended menu. It's great to see a gluten free friendly menu-the chocolate fondant was delicious. The Staff were all very pleasant and helped to make the evening a pleasure. The setting is unique and makes for a different evening out.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant