map placeholder

The Cow

Newport Road, Isle of Wight, P041 0YJ

(((() Burger
  • The Cow - Isle of Wight
  • The Cow - Isle of Wight
  • The Cow - Isle of Wight
  • The Cow - Isle of Wight
  • The Cow - Isle of Wight
  • The Cow - Isle of Wight
  • The Cow Co - Isle of Wight
  • The Cow - Isle of Wight
  • The Cow Co - Isle of Wight
  • The Cow - Isle of Wight
Opening hours
Sunday to Thursday: 11:00 - 16:00
Friday & Saturday: 11:00 - 22:00.

The restaurant is very well designed and organised. Loved the variety on the menu, the staff were lovely!! Food delicious x

Sonya 31 May 2019
from Leicester

View all 175 reviews

The Cow Restaurant and Bar is one of the Isle of Wight’s most unique places to eat, serving a selection of freshly cooked gastropub classics, and an extensive range of hot and cold drinks against the backdrop of a stylishly converted Swiss barn at Tapnell Farm. The vibrant rustic restaurant is surrounded by panoramic views of Tennyson Down, The Solent and The New Forest.

Served at lunch and dinner, The Cow menu offers diners a wide choice of both meat and vegetarian options, many of which are available gluten-free. Having specialised in beef and dairy dishes over their first 3 years, the restaurant launched a brand-new menu in 2018. The Cow’s talented team of chefs, led by Colby Meredith, now champion locally sourced produce, with fresh takes on home-cooked classics, like sausage and mash, macaroni cheese, and fish and chips. These new dishes, which are also available as “lighter bite” sized portions for smaller appetites, join the stellar line-up of burgers and steaks that the restaurant has already made its name for.

Tucked away in the rural heart of the island, The Cow is only a 15-minute drive from the Isle of Wight’s capital town of Newport.

The Cow

Newport Road, Isle of Wight, P041 0YJ

Contact +44 1983758725
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Isle of Wight

Customer reviews for The Cow

4.5 (((() (based on 175 reviews)
94% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value (((()
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • lunch (112)
  • dinner (110)
  • child friendly (102)
  • views (85)
  • large parties (69)
  • trendy (61)
  • value (49)
  • al fresco (21)
  • private dining (19)
  • entertainment (16)
  • romantic (14)
  • business (13)
  • afternoon tea (10)
  • luxury (8)
  • breakfast (5)
  • ((((* 22 April 2019 by Hilde from Yarmouth, Isle of Wight

    Thoroughly enjoyed our visit! Best burgers we have eaten in a long time! Quirky surroundings and worth a visit! We will be back!

  • ((((( 20 April 2019 by Emma from Horsham

    We were staying in Freshwater & drove passed The Cow a couple of times so looked online to check out the menu.
    We decided to book a table & we’re so glad we did. It’s a great restaurant, quirky & there are a lots of cows. Fab food, service & atmosphere.

  • ((((* 19 April 2019 by Nicola from Horsham

    Great burgers

  • ((((( 19 April 2019 by Sophie from kent

    Restaurant was lovely. Children are seated upstairs which was thankful as we had a quite meal. The staff were lovely and the interior looked amazing.

  • ((((( 12 April 2019 by Becki from Farnham

    This was a lovey find, great location, it had a lovely atmosphere and the food was delicious.
    The staff were lovely and friendly and very attentive.
    I would definitely return when I am next in the area.

  • (((** 8 April 2019 by Add from Freshwater

    Food - good
    Drinks - good
    Prices - good
    But far too much noise from other diners and children

  • ((((( 8 April 2019 by Cherril from Derby

    This is a must visit restaurant when we come to the Island. Always good quality.

  • (((** 28 March 2019 by Mandy from Stoke on Trent

    The welcome and ambiance were lovely. The seating well suited to a group. The waitress was very accommodating taking our orders. We dined with friends who live on the Island.
    Unfortunately we were all underwhelmed by the food, particularly the vegetarian burgers. Whilst the atmosphere was lovely the food did not stand out.
    I had wanted to visit the restaurant for a couple of years so had booked this as a treat to end our short break. Overall this was ok but I wouldn’t return. Very average.

  • ((((( 9 March 2019 by Peter from Isle of Wight

    Excellent as always,great food,great service,superb Lager!!!

  • ((((( 4 March 2019 by Paula from Isle of Wight

    The Gallybagger Soufflé is amazing! Friendly waiter goo

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant