map placeholder

The Cow

Newport Road, Isle of Wight, P041 0YJ

(((() Burger
  • The Cow - Isle of Wight
  • The Cow - Isle of Wight
  • The Cow - Isle of Wight
  • The Cow - Isle of Wight
  • The Cow - Isle of Wight
  • The Cow - Isle of Wight
  • The Cow Co - Isle of Wight
  • The Cow - Isle of Wight
  • The Cow Co - Isle of Wight
  • The Cow - Isle of Wight
Opening hours
Sunday to Thursday: 11:00 - 16:00
Friday & Saturday: 11:00 - 22:00.

The restaurant is very well designed and organised. Loved the variety on the menu, the staff were lovely!! Food delicious x

Sonya 31 May 2019
from Leicester

View all 175 reviews

The Cow Restaurant and Bar is one of the Isle of Wight’s most unique places to eat, serving a selection of freshly cooked gastropub classics, and an extensive range of hot and cold drinks against the backdrop of a stylishly converted Swiss barn at Tapnell Farm. The vibrant rustic restaurant is surrounded by panoramic views of Tennyson Down, The Solent and The New Forest.

Served at lunch and dinner, The Cow menu offers diners a wide choice of both meat and vegetarian options, many of which are available gluten-free. Having specialised in beef and dairy dishes over their first 3 years, the restaurant launched a brand-new menu in 2018. The Cow’s talented team of chefs, led by Colby Meredith, now champion locally sourced produce, with fresh takes on home-cooked classics, like sausage and mash, macaroni cheese, and fish and chips. These new dishes, which are also available as “lighter bite” sized portions for smaller appetites, join the stellar line-up of burgers and steaks that the restaurant has already made its name for.

Tucked away in the rural heart of the island, The Cow is only a 15-minute drive from the Isle of Wight’s capital town of Newport.

The Cow

Newport Road, Isle of Wight, P041 0YJ

Contact +44 1983758725
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Isle of Wight

Customer reviews for The Cow

4.5 (((() (based on 175 reviews)
94% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value (((()
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • lunch (112)
  • dinner (110)
  • child friendly (102)
  • views (85)
  • large parties (69)
  • trendy (61)
  • value (49)
  • al fresco (21)
  • private dining (19)
  • entertainment (16)
  • romantic (14)
  • business (13)
  • afternoon tea (10)
  • luxury (8)
  • breakfast (5)
  • ((((( 28 May 2019 by Kath from Petersfield

    Amazing steak & chips. Kids loved the burgers and the upstairs games room. Lots of choice, warm welcome & great service.

  • ((((* 27 May 2019 by Jamie from Portsmouth

    I've just spent 20 minutes writing an extensive review only to run out of characters and as I can't be bothered to write another lengthy one I'll be a bit more succinct.

    This restaurant was good enough to cause us to return the following day after our first visit and we were on the island only for a weekend with plenty of restaurants to choose from so it's a good measure of its quality that we chose to return. Good burgers, excellent choice on the specials board, well cooked food, good drinks and attentive a polite staff.

    A note for those with children. A burger from the children's menu is only slightly smaller than one from the main and no different in terms of ingredients, bun etc and extras can be requested for an additional price such as cheese, bacon etc. so if you're worried that the children's burger will be too small or inferior to the main menu burger then you don't need to. It works out cheaper too!

  • ((((* 27 May 2019 by Morgan from London

    Good food and service

  • ((((( 27 May 2019 by Susan from Newport

    Great food as always. Lively atmosphere. Great burgers but also good veggie options.

  • (**** 23 May 2019 by Sophie from London

    Been here many times and had fantastic food but it’s changed it’s name and I’m not sure if it’s changed hands. The burgers were inedible, greasy, lumpy and over cooked. They’ve also started charging extra for the coleslaw that used to come with the burger. The chips were lovely and the service was good.

  • ((((( 23 May 2019 by Helen from Margate

    Delicious food from a very good menu choice. Staff were helpful and cheerful. the fact that it was full and when a table came empty it was quickly filled says it all.!

  • ((((( 6 May 2019 by Lisa from Yarmouth, Isle of Wight

    Booking was so easy even when I had to extend the numbers, I did it on line and got a very quick response. Food is amazing and so are the staff. Good selection on the menu with a wide variety of options. It's a great place to eat and even welcome dogs, with a blanket and a bowl of water.

  • ((((( 5 May 2019 by Viam from Brighton

    Great food, great service and great location!

  • ((((( 5 May 2019 by Eleanor from Wangford

    Food was absolutely delicious, both my partner and I were thrilled with our choices! Large burger (matador and the big smoke) and big portion of fries that were salted to perfection! Deserts were delicious and generous portions also. The restaurant itself was lovely! Through no fault of the restaurant there were a few loud children, but that did not spoil our experience! Our waitress, Georgia, was fab-polite and helpful and did not rush us! Definitely would recommend!

  • ((((( 5 May 2019 by Paul from Freshwater

    Absolutely perfect the food was amazing couldn’t fault it and the service was outstanding the staff were polite and had good knowledge of the menu. We had a wonderful night and can’t wait to go back thank you

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant