The Church Mouse

(37 Reviews)
Waldbridge, Chester Le Street, Durham, DH2 3SL
British
View main menu

Top offer

Sunday Menu

This offer is available from June 20, 2018 until July 20, 2030, subject to availability as displayed in the booking interface. Offer excludes service and includes VAT. Not available in conjunction with other offers. This promotion has additional information available. Click on the link(s) to view.

Average

Main course: £10
Food spend: £25

Opening hours

Monday to Friday: 11:00 - 23:00
Saturday: 09:00 - 23:00
Sunday: 09:00 - 22:30.

Restaurant description

Near to Durham, The Church Mouse delivers classic British pub food in a picturesque country setting, with an attractive stone and oaken décor to match. The Church Mouse once fed local miners, and continues to provide dependable traditional cuisine, to be enjoyed from the comfort of the welcoming hearth-fire or the pretty garden.

Hearty Sunday roasts and trusty British dishes head The Church Mouse menu, and a range just for kids offers mini versions of pub favourites. Signature Vintage pies offer fillings like beef & merlot with buttered peas, while The Church Mouse ‘Vintage classics’ menu includes lemon & garlic-roasted chicken with seasoned chips.

Paying homage to the Great British pub, the Vintage Inn bar stock includes cask-conditioned beers, real ales and a meticulously compiled wine list. Thirst-quenching offerings include seasonal non-alcoholic cocktails and freshly-pressed juices, and rich coffee is brewed freshly throughout the day.

Situated in Waldbridge, The Church Mouse at Chester Moor is only 5 minutes’ drive from Chester-le-Street Train Station.

Dishes displayed on a la carte menus are representative of the type of food available at the restaurant.

Customer reviews for The Church Mouse
3.9
(based on 37 reviews)

86%
of diners recommend this restaurant

  • Food
  • Drinks
  • Ambience
  • Service
  • Value
  • Location

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (1)
  • al fresco (2)
  • business (3)
  • child friendly (10)
  • dinner (22)
  • large parties (6)
  • lunch (21)
  • luxury (1)
  • private dining (4)
  • romantic (4)
  • trendy (1)
  • value (12)
  • views (2)
  • By Colin James S from Durham City
    10 August 2019

    Relaxed dining and enjoyable food and atmosphere

  • By Cilla D from Pelton co durham
    18 August 2018

    Service good food excellent. Scallops lovely and the sea bass. Husbands steak super.

  • By Jo W from Chester-le-Street
    25 March 2018

    Booked this restaurant for Sunday lunch. Food could be described as warm at best, however, I was so hungry, I couldn’t be bothered with the palava of sending it back. I ordered a side of ‘tenderstem’ broccoli for £2.50. I was brought one piece of normal broccoli in a ramekin! I don’t know on which level anybody would think that okay! The lovely waitress did remove it from the bill, but still. I keep giving this place a chance but now I’m done. There are much nicer places to have Sunday Lunch.

  • By Jan L from Newcastle
    24 March 2018

    The food was very nice. The menu selection could have more choice other than burgers pizza etc somthing a little bit more adventurious but what we did have was nice

  • By Jayne M from CHESTER LE STREET
    12 January 2018

    We have visited several times over the years and have been impressed more recently with the new menu. The food was very good, however, I asked for a high chair when I booked online and this wasn't organised and the service was extremely slow even though the restaurant area was quiet; my husband had to ask for someone to take our order over half an hour after we arrived.....not impressed on this occasion.

  • By Joanne F from Chester-le-Street
    28 December 2017

    Booked the church mouse because we had been before and had a lovely meal. This time the food was a very mixed bag. The beef burger was just warm the chips were hard. My mother in law had hunters chicken the chicken was warm and tough and the bacon was actually a fat lump of tough gammon. The eaton mess pudding was a mess just a big pile on a plate, not presented nice at all.the staff were run ragged waited 5 minutes for vinegar for chips. My sister in law had fish of the Xmas menu and they forgot the veg. Very disappointed this time. Will try again hoping it was a one off due to the period between Xmas and new year. A lot of money to be disappointed.

  • By Stephen S from SEAHAM
    24 December 2017

    First impressions are everything and unfortunately ours was one of chaos. We waited a good five minutes before we were even acknowledged but we're finally seated. Our drinks order was taken by the bubbly and pleasant Alec and we were left to peruse the festive menu. Our drinks were brought and when I pointed out there was ice in my drink when I'd specifically asked for none I was told there was nothing on the chitty as if that were my fault. The pate arrived and it was delicious although insufficient bread to accompany it. My husband had the garlic mushrooms which was delicious too. Then the wait for the main course was way too long and the mains when presented had clearly been been sitting under heat lamps on the pass for a considerable length of time as my fish had gone dry and unappealing to look at and Paul's steak knife was too hot to pick up for a good five minutes after the food arrived. This was a great shame as there had been a significant level of care had gone into the dishes we had and we're both very satisfied had it been served when it was prepared it would have been a credit to the kitchen. The desserts were bought in and disappointing. The balance of flavours presented for the starter and main were such that we would both return to dine again at the Church Mouse hopefully when it's less busy and the staff, with the exception of Alex, are less surly and stressed.

  • By Elizabeth B from Durham
    17 December 2017

    Outstanding .very inviting .a joy to walkthrough thedoors

  • By Chloe I from Durham
    15 November 2017

    The experience was good but the service was slow.

  • By Val B from Durham
    15 October 2017

    It was very busy but lovely to know we had reserved our table and only had to wait a couple of minutes. Food was delicious as usual and service very good.

Restaurant Location Map
The Church Mouse
Waldbridge, Chester Le Street, Durham, DH2 3SL

Available offers

Similar Restaurants

  1. Toby Carvery - Washington

    Toby Carvery - Washington

    British
    (13 Reviews)
    6.3km
    Toby Carvery - Washington
  2. Frankie & Benny's - Durham

    Frankie & Benny's - Durham

    American
    (3 Reviews)
    4.6km
    Frankie & Benny's - Durham
  3. ASK Italian - Durham

    ASK Italian - Durham

    Italian
    (97 Reviews)
    7.7km
    ASK Italian - Durham
  4. Chiquito - Durham - Walkergate
    7.7km
    Chiquito - Durham - Walkergate
  5. Zizzi - Durham

    Zizzi - Durham

    Italian
    (72 Reviews)
    7.9km
    Zizzi - Durham