Reviews of The Chimneys

4.1
(based on 109 reviews)
Hooton Green Hooton, Ellesmere Port, Ches., CH66 5ND
109 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By David I from Princes Risborough
    30 December 2019

    The food and service were good

  • By Jean G from Ellesmere Port
    20 August 2018

    Staff were attentive, food well presented and enjoyable.

  • By Joe L from Heswall
    23 April 2018

    Staff were very attentive... the steak and mushroom pie was excellent.. altogether a very comfortable environment... I will certainly visit again.

  • By tamarind tree H from neston and malvern
    25 March 2018

    Good food and excellent vegan menu, but we had to wait so long not only for a table that we had booked but also the food. It was busy at the start but ...

  • By Ann W from Wirral
    24 March 2018

    I’m a head cook at nursing home and have very high standards of hygiene,food and presentation.on Friday I could not find fault with anything at Chimney’s restaurant.excellent all round .will definitely be going again and have highly recommended this restaurant.

  • By Geoffrey W from Bromborough Pool Wirral
    31 January 2018

    We were very disappointed. We had eaten at The Chimneys on two previous occasions and were reasonably pleased with everything. On this occasion we were looking forward to the new Wednesday Pie Menu. Despite booking and arriving on time, we were kept waiting unnecessarily at the bar while the waitress went to find our table. We were taken to our table only to find that that part of the restaurant was totally empty. I ordered the Steak and Mushroom Pie and my wife the Mediterranean Vegetable Tart Pie ?. The steak and mushroom pie came in a shallow dish with a huge topping of puff pastry. It transpired that the puff pastry formed the greater part of the the dish, while the steak and mushroom occupied approximately an inch of the the base. Further to this, I do not think that it qualifies as a pie unless it is in a pastry case and top. My wife's Mediterranean Vegetable Tart was in a pastry case, but the filling consisted of underdone vegetables. My wife generally prefers her veg slightly underdone but the slices of Butternut squash were so hard that it was inedible. The general presentation of the dishes was not good and did not look very appetising. The service was indifferent and no one bothered to come and ask whether everything was ok, How was our meal etc? Basically we felt abandoned in an empty room. Also the cutlery was not of the standard of cleanliness that we would expect. We finished what we could and although originally intending to have a desert, we decided against it. Finished our drinks in the bar and left. It is not an experience we would want to repeat and we are not intending to return to The Chimneys.

  • By Roy M from Wirral
    26 November 2017

    We have eaten at THE Chimneys before but only in the bar area, we found after booking on line that we were being seated within the restaurant area, well what a surprise this experience was , beautiful,really relaxing,cosy. Food was a very good standard with all fresh produce. Service was excellent and we never felt like we were being rushed into courses. We will be going back without any hesitation.

  • By Brian m J from merseyside
    30 August 2017

    Food and table service was excellent.

  • By Andy D from Hooton
    26 August 2017

    Great meal fantastic service

  • By Ted A from Woodbank
    13 August 2017

    Poor