Reviews of Cedar

4.2
(based on 38 reviews)
Yapton Lane, Walberton, Arundel, W Sussex, BN18 0LS
38 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Richard M from Barnham
    28 November 2018

    We went on a Wednesday evening. Nice ambience and service, but the food was very standard knock-it-out hotel fare. I had crispy cod and chips, which is not difficult to do well. The fish was obviously cooked from frozen so all the water had leaked out and made all the batter on the underside of the "crispy battered" cod mushy. The chips were limp. Best things were the tartare sauce and the crushed peas (they weren't mushy, but they were tasty). Puddings were good but presumably just bought in frozen and whacked in the microwave. Definitely had a sense of them catering for a trapped audience of business travellers. Won't be going back, as at £25 a head wasn't a scratch on somewhere like Cote.

  • By Anne N from Goring-by-Sea
    6 September 2018

    I booked afternoon tea for four for 3.00 pm and our friends arrived at 4.00 pm. The staff were wonderful, making no fuss at all. We sat in our favourite place in the lounge, we have been for afternoon tea before, enjoyed the delicious sandwiches, scones and cake, treated ourselves to a glass of champagne as well as pots of tea. We chatted and chatted and eventually left some time later. An excellent way to catch up with old friends. Needless to say, we will return!

  • By Eric L from Middleton-on-Sea
    10 June 2018

    We arrived for lunch. The Restaurant floor was filthy and was advised that it was the leftover from breakfast ! We ordered an aperitif and then our lunch order with wine. The wine arrived first. The starter was prawn cocktails with tasteless prawns smaller than shrimps.Main course ordered was two rare roast beef, one arrived medium rare the other well done covered in gravy. Vegetables not edible. The beef was tough and fatty. The sticky toffee pudding was disappointing. We complained and received [ although not requested} a staff discount of 50% ! ? [ not staff ]. Through out the meal there was a continuous stream of staff [ some rather dishevelled ] backwards and forwards through the restaurant obviously in attendance at another function. We have stayed at many Hiltons worldwide and the Hotels and food have always been of a very high standard.

  • By Brenda D from Worthing
    15 May 2018

    Lovely location. Easy parking. Fresh sandwiches and yummy cakes. To much for us eat so got a take away bag. Staff very attentive and topped up drinks when needed. Fabulous day out with my mum for her birthday. Will be back. Thankyou Hilton Avisford Park.

  • By Jennifer D from Barnham
    15 October 2017

    Excellent Food, beef one of the best we have ever tasted. Staff need to be a little more attentive and not keep people waiting so long

  • By Jeanette F from Felpham, Bognor Regis
    23 August 2017

    We all thoroughly enjoyed our Afternoon Tea. The table was ready on our arrival; there was a good selection of sandwiches and cakes- we had to ask for something to take away the cakes that we couldn't manage! The staff were attentive (although we did have a bit of a wait for the tea and food to arrive); there was no pressure on us to conclude our meal in any set time.

  • By Charlotte S from Worthing
    11 August 2017

    We enjoyed the food that we had at afternoon tea but we didn't rate the service as were not given options of different teas, were not told what sandwiches and desserts we were given and were not offered a top up of tea but were told by the waitress she was supposed to but "was too busy". Overall we would not come back as felt that the service was not worth what we were paying.

  • By Kim W from Bognor Regis
    26 July 2017

    We had afternoon tea table had nice view from window table was decorated for a special birthday which was lovely very good selection of cakes & sandwiches service a little slow & stained cup which needed replacement other than that we all enjoyed ourselves

  • By russell F from arundel
    1 July 2017

    Six of us enjoyed an outstanding champagne tea in a beautiful room. Our table was next to the window which had a lovely views of the gardens.

  • By Sonia L from Bognor Regis
    5 June 2017

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Nice relaxing atmosphere. Would recommend afternoon tea. Possibly return for dinner.