Cedar

(38 Reviews)
Yapton Lane, Walberton, Arundel, W Sussex, BN18 0LS
British, Mediterranean, Afternoon Tea
View main menu

Top offer

Unlimited Prosecco Bottomless Brunch - from £25pp (90 Minutes)

This offer is available from January 1, 2020 until December 31, 2020 subject to availability as displayed in the interface. Offer excludes service and includes VAT. Not available in conjunction with other offers.

Average

Main course: £16
Food spend: £25

Opening hours

Monday to Sunday: 07:00 - 21:30.

Restaurant description

Inside the Hilton Avisford Park Hotel, Cedar Restaurant is a split-level venue serving traditional English cuisine. The graceful dining area is done up in plum and cream hues with chequered flooring, and well-spaced tables offer charming views over the hotel’s putting green.

Using fresh, locally sourced ingredients, Cedar’s kitchen team serves up freshly made soup of the day, rabbit terrine with plum-ginger chutney and grilled chicken strips. Seafood options include smoked haddock Welsh rarebit with sautéed spinach and potatoes, and sea bass fillet with spring onion mash, sautéed king prawns, asparagus and lemon butter sauce.

Hearty grilled dishes are served at the Cedar Restaurant in Arundel and children have a special menu too. Guests can also relax with a cup of coffee and pastries or sandwiches at the lounge terrace and bar area.

Nestled in the quiet village of Walberton, Cedar Restaurant on Yapton Lane is a 10-minute drive from the Arundel Castle.

Dishes displayed on a la carte menus are representative of the type of food available at the restaurant.

Customer reviews for Cedar
4.2
(based on 38 reviews)

87%
of diners recommend this restaurant

  • Food
  • Drinks
  • Ambience
  • Service
  • Value
  • Location

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (22)
  • al fresco (4)
  • breakfast (4)
  • business (7)
  • child friendly (5)
  • dinner (10)
  • entertainment (1)
  • large parties (5)
  • lunch (7)
  • luxury (7)
  • private dining (4)
  • romantic (6)
  • trendy (1)
  • value (11)
  • views (14)
  • By Jon L from Worthing
    14 February 2016

    We had a fantastic 5 course Valentine's Day dinner. The staff were attentive and the food was presented well and tasted great!

  • By Colette B from Burgess Hill
    10 January 2016

    Lovely afternoon tea. Very good value for money and the food was really nice. Service was perfect despite a large wedding party there as well. Would definitely go back.

  • By Helen L from Yapton
    30 December 2015

    We were sat around a lovely little table on comfortable chairs overlooking the gardens. The waiter took our tea and coffee order and then our drinks arrived soon after. We were served beautiful sandwiches 6 different types, 3 different types of cakes and a scone with jam and cream on a cake stand. My friend is gluten free she was brought out the same on her own cake stand, she was delighted as usually gluten free can mean second best! More tea was served when we asked. We stayed for just over 2 hrs . It was a lovely Christmas catch up treat with friends.

  • By Jenny F from Fareham
    21 November 2015

    Unfortunately, a disappointment. I had informed the restaurant on booking that I have coeliacs so require gluten-free dishes. The menu was labelled with 'lg' denoting 'low gluten' dishes, that the waitress clarified meant gluten-free, just not in a contaminant-free kitchen (the usual situation when dining out, but an unnerving labelling system). However, luckily I asked her to double check that the 'lg' starter I chose, Haddock Fish Cakes, was gluten-free as it seemed surprising. The response was the chef didn't know why it was labelled 'lg' as they were covered in breadcrumbs. A lucky escape. Any potato choice was severely limited by the fact the kitchen only had one fryer thus making chips and wedges out of the question as they were fried in the same oil as gluten-containing products. I find this surprising for a restaurant of this size that had 'gluten-free' labeling on the menu. The duck leg I chose as a main course was so overcooked a substantial part of the meat was inedible. The restaurant itself was shabby, with tatty looking veneer tables that could have been hidden by tablecloths that could have made them look classy, but weren't. It's a grand room with wooden panelling showing the names of the boys that had stayed in the school it had previously been from the 1920's to 1970's, but the ambience was spoiled by the awful pop music that was being played. We ordered a Merlot @ £23 for the bottle (this weekend was a huge treat for us, otherwise we wouldn't have contemplated spending money so stupidly). The waitress unscrewed the lid, poured out glasses, then screwed it back up again. Red wine. Need I say more? In addition, the restaurant was cold and cobwebby. Lovely staff, but tatty restaurant reminiscent of the 1970's hotels that killed off the UK tourism industry, with over-priced, over-cooked, wrongly-labelled food.

  • By Gillian D from Surrey Heath District
    11 November 2015

    Surroundings were comfortable and friendly. Food was excellent. Staff very attentive.

  • By Amanda M from Lancing
    31 October 2015

    Lovely room with nice views of the garden, great sandwiches and cakes, as much tea/coffee as you like.

  • By Malcolm P from Arundel
    29 October 2015

    Very nice place, great service and small but tasty menu with a dish for most tastes. The food was cooked well and we had decent portions

  • By Paul M from wickford, essex
    25 October 2015

    We used the cedar restaurant twice during our stay of three nights and were really pleased with the options in the menu, the presentation of the food and the food was really good. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. We were very impressed with our whole dining experience and did not feel rushed at any time as time was allowed between courses.

Restaurant Location Map
Cedar
Yapton Lane, Walberton, Arundel, W Sussex, BN18 0LS

Available offers

  • Unlimited Prosecco Bottomless Brunch - from £25pp (90 Minutes)
  • Sunday Lunch 2 people, 2 course £30.00
  • Afternoon Tea £22
  • Free glass of champagne
  • Mothers day Sunday Lunch with live music, 3 courses £29 +Gift for Mum
  • Valentines dinner with live music, 3 course meal and a glass of fizz £39
  • Cedar January Sale - 3 courses £25pp

Similar Restaurants

  1. The Old Stables

    The Old Stables

    British
    (28 Reviews)
    3km
    The Old Stables
  2. The Oystercatcher

    The Oystercatcher

    British
    (65 Reviews)
    3.9km
    The Oystercatcher
  3. Restaurant at Bailiffscourt Hotel
    5.4km
    Restaurant at Bailiffscourt Hotel
  4. Harvester - Windmill LittleHampton
    6.6km
    Harvester - Windmill LittleHampton
  5. Farmer, Butcher, Chef

    Farmer, Butcher, Chef

    British
    (597 Reviews)
    8.8km
    Farmer, Butcher, Chef