Reviews of The Castle - Wakefield

4.5
(based on 43 reviews)
232 Barnsley Rd, Wakefield, W Yorkshire, WF2 6AS
43 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By lorraine berry B from wakefield
    26 January 2020

    the food was exallant and the refurbishment of the pub was very tastfully done

  • By Lesley B from Wakefield
    11 September 2019

    We entered the Castle to be greeted by the bar person, she was a little bit brusque, asked what we wanted to drink, not if we were there to dine. The table we went to sit at had a spillage on it, I went to the bar and asked if they had a cloth to wipe the table, she gave me some blue tissue paper and a spray bottle. She didn't say, I'll do it or get someone to do it, it looked like I was doing it myself. A male bar tender/waiter said that he would come and do it. We sat down and chatted over our drinks. When we decided to go to the restaurant, we stood and waited for someone to show us to our table, it took a little while before someone came over. He then went to the table, didn't ask us to follow. We went through, sat at the table where he was putting the menus. After that, all went well. The waitress who looked after us did exactly that. The food was lovely, nicely cooked and very flavoursome. A nice amount of time in between courses and not at all rushed. just the way I like it.

  • By George N from Wakefield
    7 August 2019

    Leona had our table ready and was attentive to our needs without being "in the way". The menu was varied and fairly priced. The drinks were well prepared. The food was well cooked and delicous

  • By George N from Wakefield
    25 July 2019

    Although they had been on duty for the best part of a very hot day, Lydia, Emma and Dan were genuine in their welcome and attentive to our requests. The food and drinks were excellent, good value and well presented as well as being very good value

  • By Peter B from Wakefield
    5 June 2019

    The service by Kirsty was excellent. The meal was well presented and we couldn’t fault it at all. Thank you The only thing I would say is the decor needs a bit of TLC

  • By Ann M from WAKEFIELD
    27 April 2019

    Great service , staff amazing, great dining . Had tempura mushrooms, gorgeous pie , then brulee, will definitely return

  • By George N from Wakefield
    17 October 2018

    Excellent lunch time experience. Leona welcomed us warmly and showed us to our table which was laid out ready for us. The menu was varied and well priced. The service was efficient and friendly.

  • By Neville N from Wakefield
    12 June 2018

    Nothing much to say. Atmosphere a bit cold as there was very few diners.

  • By Graham Y from Wakefield
    5 June 2018

    Very goodness

  • By George N from Wakefield
    5 February 2018

    A warm welcome. Good value food and drink