Reviews of The Captain's Wife

4.4
(based on 48 reviews)
Beach Road Swanbridge, Penarth, S Glam, CF64 5UG
48 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Dananthi A from Penarth
    3 November 2019

    We had the Sunday and roast and it was great. Nice atmosphere and we plan to visit again.

  • By Paulo S from Cardiff
    16 August 2019

    Good service

  • By Rachel P from Cardiff
    11 June 2019

    Had a lovely evening at the captains wife fir my mums 70th Birthday, Great food, prompt service, lovely staff, 9 if us ate all different things on the menu and everyone was delighted with the food. Price of food really reasonable, only thing that was spoilt was the weather but you can control that.

  • By Elaine D from Cardiff
    27 May 2019

    Enjoyed our meal at Captain's Wife. Booked a table as our daughter is in a large wheelchair. Although we had to wait, it was a bank holiday so expected it to be busy.

  • By Lee B from Cardiff
    22 April 2019

    Lovely view had to wait 1 half for food book

  • By NIGEL BURGE B from Cardiff
    4 November 2018

    A perfect experience booking and dining

  • By Deirdre O from Matlock
    10 July 2018

    Food and setting excellent; staff friendly and helpful despite being under-staffed - presumably a management issue: though a weekday it was busy and only one person was staffing the bar, taking food orders, mixing drinks and dealing with bills; only one waitress visible. Warned of long wait for food, though actually it wasn';t as bad as predicted. However, I would only lunch here if I have a long period of leisure in which to enjoy it.

  • By Liz S from Cardiff
    24 April 2018

    Excellent service from the staff. We were a big booking and they went above and beyond for all of us.

  • By Carol S from Sully
    9 December 2017

    We haven't been to the Captains Wife for a while because we hadn't been particularly impressed. What a difference. The staff were really accommodating and friendly. The food was really nice, as were the drinks, with a choice of gins. I had the salmon, which was very nice. Will definitely be coming back

  • By Janet J from Cowbridge
    16 August 2017

    Good service and tasty food. The starters are very well presented and we all had steaks-each one was cooked perfectly-love the pepper sauce. I wasn't too keen on my pudding-Melba mess,it could have been better presented possibly in a glass rather than on a plate.