Reviews of The Calverley Arms

4.1
(based on 46 reviews)
Calverley Lane Calverley, Pudsey, W Yorkshire, LS28 5QQ
46 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Margaret M from LEEDS
    23 February 2020

    FANTASTIC FOOD & SERVICE.

  • By Beth B from Greengates
    12 January 2020

    Food was brilliant. Service was a little slow, but it was quite busy.

  • By Charlotte H from Leeds
    10 November 2019

    Welcome and friendly atmosphere. Better menu with decent vegan options. The service is always ‘hit & miss’. Waits can be excessive for food & drinks.

  • By Stephen H from Leeds
    6 October 2019

    We had Sunday lunch which was excellent the only downside was the service.

  • By Muriel C from Stafford
    5 August 2019

    Excellent food and service.the duo of lamb was particularly good.. we as a party of 7 were so impressed we have booked the Christmas lunch for all the family. In particular I would like to mention how friendly and helpful the lady who served breakfast was for the 3 nights we stayed with you.

  • By Kirstie W from Leeds
    11 February 2019

    Very nice dining experience, all staff were friendly and helpful

  • By Sharon P from Leeds
    24 December 2018

    We chose CA due to the location of our elderly family members. Disappointed. I specifically asked for an easy access table as 2 of our diners were elderly and have limited mobility. The 2 table pushed together were at different heights and we were tightly packed in next to another 2 tables pushed together to make a 4 and also a table of 2. Unfortunately our elderly guests didn’t make it so it wasn’t as much of an issue but had they been there was no way they would of managed on that makeshift table for 4. There was no chutney with the parfait and the “toast sticks” were minimal. The plate looked bare. Our mains arrived and were literally dropped on the table and shoved towards us. The turkey didn’t come with sprouts and even though the beef rib was really nice the bone marrow dumpling was rock hard and tasted of nothing. The bakewell sponge pudding was the best thing about the whole meal. It wasn’t until I got to the end of my glass of water that I found dirt at the bottom by which time we had asked for the bill and when paying I read the menu again and then realised we were missing parts of our meal. I thought the outfits some of the girls were wearing were far too short or revealing to be worn for serving dinner. I’ve been numerous times to Calverley Arms and this was not my best experience. Beef, Turkey & the pudding was the best part but everything else was very disappointing.

  • By June M from Ilkley
    1 December 2018

    Have been to Calverley Arms previously, really enjoyed the food and atmosphere so wanted to try the Christmas Fayre Menu. Glass of Merlot each to start - unfortunately both drinks had "floaters in" waitress changed the wine and all was well. Various choices of starter made that a difficult decision. Had the mushrooms and enjoyed. Main course - my partner asked for extra stuffing as this is absolute favorite of his. Both plates were served minus stuffing!!!! Waitress apologised said chef had run out and was making up another batch. We ate most of the meal - slowly waiting for the stuffing. Eventually it arrived - two pieces - the size of a small chipolata wrapped in bacon disappointed with the portion size. One each. Dessert went without a hitch - coffee was ordered and we asked for the bill. We had been charged for £1.50? for the extra portion of stuffing which had not arrived.

  • By Patrick J from Leeds
    11 November 2018

    Staff lovely,but sunday dinner meals disappointing.."Ruffled" roast potatoes were over cooked/burnt..been before and expected better.

  • By Katie S from Leeds
    14 January 2018

    Friendly staff, thoroughly enjoyed the food. Great prices for the food. Didn’t feel rushed, felt we could stay for aslong as we wanted to.