Reviews of The Brew Bar Lounge - Birmingham Marriott Hotel

3.4
(based on 24 reviews)
12 Hagley Road Five Ways, Birmingham, West Midlands, B16 8SJ
24 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Maureen W from Atherstone
    12 April 2017

    Booked a la carte lunch via Bookatable to find that a la carte was not available at lunchtime, this was after being given the a la carte menu and the order being taken to the kitchen. After ordering from the lunchtime snack menu we waited above an hour for the food, it's a good job we weren't on a working lunch hour!! After clearing the plates no-one offered us desserts or drinks to follow, in fact no-one approached us at all. When we asked for the bill alongside hot drinks the waitress came to collect payment within 5 minutes. The bill contained 12.5% service charge, not something we wanted to pay after the appalling service. The waitress was pleasant although we failed to understand her on a number of occasions. A very disappointing visit.

  • By Herdeesh S from Birmingham
    1 April 2017

    We went for afternoon tea. I thought the service was poor. It wasn't very well organised. No menu was provided. They got our drinks order wrong. We spent over £100. I won't be going again.

  • By Rab K from Birmingham
    26 March 2017

    We had a lovely Mother's Day afternoon tea. As we came in the table was ready with my name on it, which was a nice touch. I had told them I had one vegetarian in the party and they catered for them... I didn't mention I was pregnant and didn't realise the foods they provided I couldn't eat... however they also catered for me even though I was last minute and the chef made me some different sandwiches. Staff was attentive and I like the prosecco as well nice touch for the afternoon. We wasn't rushed to leave and spent a good few hours there. They also gave me a few choices on decaf teas which was nice. Overall great experience. Thank you.

  • By Valerie D from Birmingham
    11 February 2017

    The afternoon tea was amazing, everything tasted good. And to make our anniversary special the chef gave us something special strawberries covered in chocolate with a little message on it. Would go again for more occasions.

  • By Sacha S from Birmingham
    18 November 2016

    The sandwiches we got were stale so we sent them back. It took about an hour for them to bring a new platter with fresh sandwiches - which is an unacceptable amount of time to wait. The event had been planned for my nan's birthday so it was more than a little disappointing that we had to wait as long as we did. The staff were lovely and very apologetic but the service and the food really wasn't worth the price we paid. We did get a discount at the end because of the problem but I wouldn't go back here for afternoon tea and I also wouldn't recommend it.

  • By Jen G from Birmingham
    30 July 2016

    We were bitterly disappointed with our experience of Afternoon Tea and I have sent an email to the Marriott Hotel confirming this.

  • By Christine E from Birmingham, United Kingdom
    28 July 2016

    Very enjoyable experience lovely ambience and good value

  • By George S from Dudley
    16 July 2016

    afternoon tea was very nicely presented and good service provided. Nice experience, would do it again.

  • By Dawn Q from Birmingham
    4 June 2016

    A lovely relaxing afternoon tea. The food was excellent and so was the service. Would definitely recommend it.

  • By Tracey B from Birmingham
    31 May 2016

    Good selection of sandwiches and cakes. Very fresh and tasty.

2 3 Next page