map placeholder

The Bountiful Cow

51 Eagle Street, Holborn, London, WC1R 4AP +44 2081662612

(((() Steaks & Grills
  • The Bountiful Cow - London
  • The Bountiful Cow - London
  • The Bountiful Cow - London
  • The Bountiful Cow - London
  • The Bountiful Cow - London
Average
Main course: £10
Food spend: £25
Opening hours
Monday to Saturday: 11:00 - 23:00

Quick service masssive stake chips and a glass of wine £15 wow fantastic defo come again when on business

Jon Ellis 05 October 2017
from Barrow

View all 102 reviews

True to its name, The Bountiful Cow in Holborn is devoted to beef, with a menu headed by a fine range of steaks straight from Smithfield Market. A relaxed pub decorated with vintage prints, the lower floor of The Bountiful Cow hosts an open kitchen under the stewardship of eccentric head chef Roxy Beaujolais.

Whether it’s sirloin, T-bone or rib-eye, you can enjoy your steak with béarnaise sauce or with melted goat’s cheese, ‘a la Capricorn’. The coarse ground beef of the 14oz bounty burger comes with all sorts of toppings, or you could share the Bountiful Cow steakboard, with prawns, onion rings and tankards of chips.

Away from the beef, there are chicken club sandwiches, chargrilled sea bream and homemade sausage and mash, with lemony Greek salad and artichoke linguine among vegetarian choices. Belgian apple tart and crème brûlée give dessert time a continental touch.

Serving a range of flavourful world wines, The Bountiful Cow is a characterful London destination to enjoy the finest beef in town. A 3-minute walk from Holborn Tube Station, The Bountiful Cow restaurant is on Eagle Street, just off Red Lion Square.

The Bountiful Cow

51 Eagle Street, Holborn, London, WC1R 4AP

Contact +44 2074040200
Reservations +44 2081662612
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in London

See all restaurants in West End of London

Customer reviews for The Bountiful Cow

4.5 (((() (based on 102 reviews)
94% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value (((()
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location ((((*
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (84)
  • lunch (48)
  • value (39)
  • business (30)
  • large parties (22)
  • romantic (20)
  • private dining (12)
  • trendy (11)
  • entertainment (5)
  • breakfast (2)
  • child friendly (2)
  • luxury (2)
  • views (2)
  • afternoon tea (1)
  • al fresco (1)
  • ((((( 15 February 2017 by Sophie Smith from Pinner

    As always, The Bountiful Cow was amazing. The food is excellent, they dont pack people in, so it is never to busy and it has a lovely atmosphere.

    Me and my husband love sitting next to the kitchen and seeing all of the huge steaks being cooked!

    Lovely place, been going for years and will continue to do so!

  • ((((( 12 February 2017 by Atte Rihto from London

    -

  • ((((( 9 February 2017 by Rob Elms from London

    Great service, amazing food, lovely wine and all at a very reasonable price. We'll be back!

  • ((((( 4 February 2017 by Marco Bonin from Wolfsburg

    Waren am 3.2.17 hier, auf Empfehlung vieler positiver Rezessionen. Es ist ein geniales steakhaus mit pub Atmosphäre, rustikal, super Weinkarte und einer tollen Bier Auswahl. Essen und Service top! Kein langweiliges deutsches spiesserisches schnick Schnack.

  • ((((( 1 February 2017 by Shell Parker from London

    The staff are very polite and welcoming and the food is amazing. I am a regular visitor and I highly recommend the bountiful baby burger...with blue cheese and bacon extras! Don't let the 'baby' bit fool you - the burger is MASSIVE and very yummy! I invited a vegetarian colleague on my last visit and although he was happy with his Spanish Omelette with extra vegetables and chips, he did say that there was room on the menu for an amazing veggie burger!

  • ((((( 22 January 2017 by Adam Curson from Hemel Hempstead

    Great food, great atmosphere and very relaxed. Just what we needed for a catch up with friends.

  • ((((* 15 January 2017 by Ian Juden from York

    Fantastic food and service, my wife had the "baby" burger, (which was still enormous) and I had the ribeye. Both were cooked to perfection and bursting with flavour. Not the easiest of places to find as it's off the main roads, but well worth finding. Will definitely eat here again.

  • ((((( 14 January 2017 by Matthew Jeffs from London

    Excellent. If you like a decent steak, this is the place. The staff are very friendly and helpful and make you feel at home which really helps with the real reason to go there - the food. The Filet steak is superb and complemented with sauted mushrooms - big field mushrooms thickly sliced and my choice of creamed spinach - things feel food focussed in a rustic unpretentious way - how refreshing! I also recommend the Crozes Hermitage which at £28- for a bottle is truly excellent value for such a delicious wine. So there we have it - an excellent restaurant and pub that is decent, wholesome and eschews the fripparies of gaudy showy presentation to get on with what should always be the real focus - hospitality and food - quality food. If there was one recommendation - I would offer Sharps Doombar within the beer selection, as to my taste Adnams is so so. Go there with someone decent - a great client, family or close friends - this is an honest unpretentious and quality experience that would be wasted on an acquaintance who for example would drive a white BMW or gain enjoyment from frequenting something with a celebrity name attached to it.

  • ((((( 8 January 2017 by Robbie Mills from Liverpool

    Very nice steak

  • ((((* 22 December 2016 by Adam Sumner from London

    Surprisingly good food, average service.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting the Terms and Conditions associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant