Reviews of The Botanist

4.0
(based on 23 reviews)
20a Berkeley Square, Bristol, South West England, BS8 1HP
23 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By John H from Bristol
    23 October 2019

    Had a very pleasant lunch with friends. Food was good, service was excellent. All in all a very good dining experience.

  • By Louise R from Manchester
    20 May 2018

    Nice food. But skimpy on the rice with the kebabs and could have been bigger pieces of fish on kebab . Other dishes were great . Not overly busy , friendly helpful staff

  • By Susan D from Bristol
    1 April 2018

    Love this place ,food always full of taste and we'll presented

  • By Colin J from Bristol
    15 October 2017

    The location was very good nic ambience. The first course was not fully cooked not all the Brie had melted and was served cold. Wife’s main course was superb chicken spit roasted. My roast beef dinner was very tasty but sadly served on a cold plate so food went cold quickly. Overall the experience what not as good as anticipated. We told restaurant in advance that the booking was for my wife’s birthday but that wasn’t mentioned at all during the visit. We explained our disappointment but were told only that they would tell the chef. Could have apologised and maybe dropped the service charge,but no so unlikely to return.

  • By Gareth G from bristol
    28 April 2017

    excellent food, service was amazing very frendly staff. the setting was lovely i would dine here again

  • By Tracy A from Wimborne Minster
    19 February 2017

    I have dined here a couple of times before and really enjoyed it. Yesterday I felt that the service was too slow. I felt that we were being overlooked. The meals took far too long, mine was far from hot on arrival. We had to go looking for our wine. Sweets also took ages, and coffees had arrived and been drunk before any sweets appeared. Disappointing, as I had recommended the venue. On a positive note, we were not rushed, and I had plenty of time with my kids who live in Bristol.

  • By Faye H from Bristol
    7 December 2016

    Everyone loved the food! Couldn't fault a thing, even with it being the busy Christmas period. There was a little wait for food, but that's to be expected in December. We had bread & olives on the table to share, that was lovely! We all thought it was reasonably priced. Will definitely recommend to others & will be going back myself.

  • By Joshua B from Nuneaton
    22 July 2016

    Very good, but the reservation wasn't of any use, as they don't use your website any more

  • By Carrie S from Bristol
    17 June 2016

    The restaurant itself has some lovely features, you enter via a courtyard garden then the main bar area is spacious and filled with light. The dining tables are set in several rooms off here. The staff were very attentive and looked after us well. The menu is extensive and made choosing very difficult! The food was very flavoursome and interesting. The sharing dessert platter was perfect and delicious. We had a thoroughly enjoyable evening and look forward to returning.

  • By Nicoletta M from Bristol
    1 June 2016

    Very good

2 3 Next page