The Blue Anchor

(23 Reviews)
Dorking Road, Tadworth, Surrey, KT20 5SL
British, Mediterranean

Top offer

Sundays: The Great British Mini Roast from £6.95 per person

What better way to enjoy a Sunday than in a cosy country pub with a great selection of British roasts starting from £6.95 – served all day and evening on Sundays using the freshest seasonal ingredients.

Average

Main course: £12
Food spend: £28

Opening hours

Monday to Thursday: 12:00 - 22:30
Friday & Saturday: 12:00 - 23:00
Sunday: 12:00 - 22:00.

Restaurant description

A contemporary gastro pub buried deep in the Surrey countryside, The Blue Anchor serves modern British fare with a Mediterranean stamp. The ever-changing menu includes comforting Sunday roasts, as well as a host of freshly-muddled cocktails.

Sweet and meaty lobster cooked in a creamy mustard sauce leads the seafood dishes on The Blue Anchor menu, while succulent but crispy pork belly is served straight from the stove, braised in marmalade and served with roasted pine nuts and green beans. Cleansing creations such as Italian peach ice cream served with a raspberry and spiced plum compote heads the desserts, along with a rich, Belgian white chocolate brûlée.

Swathed in black and caramel hues, the dining room is peppered with nautical relics and white-wash panelling. Large bay windows embrace the natural light, while dimpled leather sofas litter the bar area.

Just a 4-minute drive from Tadworth Rail Station, The Blue Anchor in Surrey is a stone’s throw away from a network of country walks and trails.

Customer reviews for The Blue Anchor
3.9
(based on 23 reviews)

83%
of diners recommend this restaurant

  • Food
  • Drinks
  • Ambience
  • Service
  • Value
  • Location

Recommended for

  • al fresco (1)
  • child friendly (6)
  • dinner (12)
  • entertainment (2)
  • large parties (6)
  • lunch (10)
  • private dining (4)
  • romantic (4)
  • trendy (4)
  • value (7)
  • By Mary W from Tadworth
    31 August 2019

    Great food and service, had a brilliant evening

  • By Catherine C from Tadworth
    3 March 2019

    Good but my husband was very disappointed as there was no Fillet steak on the menu .

  • By Jann L from Tadworth
    6 January 2019

    We enjoyed a great Sunday roast at the Blue Anchor. The best I've ever had!

  • By Teresa C from Surrey
    1 January 2019

    Absolutely shocking. Ended up getting the meal for free.

  • By Pritti M from Coulsdon
    1 April 2018

    Came for the Sunday roast but didn't end up having it as roast potatoes were dripped in beef and also only beef or onion gravy available. Due to religious reasons we don't eat beef so we were rather disappointed unable to have the roast chicken and lamb with the trimmings we wanted. However the food we did opt to have was nice

  • By Shaton L from Tadworth
    29 December 2017

    Have used the Blue Anchor many times, although service is still good unfortunately food is not,Chicken burger(deep fried chicken nuggets in a bun). Line caught Cod & chips,(grey fish,not fresh,over cooked chips again not fresh).Fairly basic dishes cooked and presented badly. Toilets not very clean and in need of re- decorating. Wouldn’t recommend the Blue Anchor or return any time soon until we hear of improvement.

  • By Cheryl R from Banstead
    9 December 2017

    The food was absolutely delicious but the service was very poor. Very slow and every course had to be chased.....which was very disappointing as the food was so good when it arrived!

  • By David S from London
    29 May 2017

    Nice bar/restaurant area. Food was excellent

  • By Mary H from Morden
    22 April 2017

    This was the 1st time we came 'very nice food the chocolate torte was to die for.The staff were very friendly ,can't find any faults .

  • By Stuart A from Sanderstead
    27 January 2017

    Great venue - comfy smart but casual - unrushed service - great food - service slowed down when I wanted to pay the bill which was upsetting

Restaurant Location Map
The Blue Anchor
Dorking Road, Tadworth, Surrey, KT20 5SL

Available offers

  • Sundays: The Great British Mini Roast from £6.95 per person
  • Sundays: The Great British Roast from £13.95 per person

Nearby Restaurants

  1. The Bridge Grill

    The Bridge Grill

    Mediterranean
    (127 Reviews)
    1.6km
    The Bridge Grill
  2. Arkle Manor - Betchworth

    Arkle Manor - Betchworth

    British
    (64 Reviews)
    3.9km
    Arkle Manor - Betchworth
  3. The Derby Arms

    The Derby Arms

    British
    (74 Reviews)
    4.3km
    The Derby Arms
  4. Hartsfield Manor - The Terrace Restaurant
    4.7km
    Hartsfield Manor - The Terrace Restaurant
  5. The Ramblers Rest

    The Ramblers Rest

    British
    (39 Reviews)
    5.5km
    The Ramblers Rest