Reviews of The Beehive X Thorner

4.0
(based on 132 reviews)
83 Main Street Thorner, Leeds, LS14 3BU
132 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Frances E from Ilkley
    10 March 2020

    Fish was very fresh and batter thin and crisp. Lovely. Potato wedges indifferent. Not many mushy peas and would have liked option of frozen peas. Sorbet ice cream and the crumble were delicious and nicely presented. Friendly and efficient service. Thank you

  • By Annette C from Thorner
    7 March 2020

    Following the change of management we thought we would give the Beehive another chance and thank goodness we did. We had 2 fantastic dishes, the best food we've had for a while! I had lamb rump, which was tender and flavoursome. My partner had ribeye steak - which included sauce and side dishes and I was advised was very tasty. The staff were attentive and Jess the manager seems to have her finger on the pulse and remarkably knows what is happening throughout front of house - very impressive! We will definitely be back and would recommend to others.

  • By Andrew H from Leeds
    1 March 2020

    We thought that the Sunday lunch was very good, well cooked and presented. However our starters were very disappointing and not good value. However the staff managed the situation very well and were excellent throughout.

  • By Sue S. S from Thorner, Leeds
    1 March 2020

    We had a lovely Sunday lunch this week. The kitchen managed to cater to my husband's request for well done roast beef which came with only a tiny bit of pink, my beef (more rare) was certainly so tender it melted in the mouth, the Yorkshire pudding was scrummy, lovely and ample roast potatoes and a good selection of vegetables amongst which I was pleased to see some plain green beans as well as red cabbage, lovely roast parsnip, roast carrots and cauliflower cheese. We also had a slice of pork which came with great crackling (very important) but it would have been nice to have some tangy home made apple sauce to compliment the richness of the pork. Gravy was served in a jug on the side which accommodated my toe dipping taste and my husbands drowning food taste. We don't usually have a starter but they were too tempting to resist. The pate looked very nice and quite substantial, the deep fried brie and scallops were very tasty and not so filling. We had no room for the tempting sweets however. The food was presented beautifully, the staff very friendly and helpful (if a tad slow but it was busy) and I loved the floral wall paper on the ceiling! We look forward to warmer weather when we can sit outside again and look across the fields in the afternoon/evening sunshine and enjoy our drinks whilst reading the menu. The restaurant was pleasantly busy and buzzing. Only criticism: the Sauvignon blanc had run out and the Ossett beer/pump was not working, again. In January we had a family big birthday meal for 18 and the restaurant coped very well with the large numbers, bringing all the food at the same time and with good food and prompt service. I would strongly recommend it for a large family/friends gathering as well as dinner or Sunday lunch.

  • By Jane Y from St Albans
    1 March 2020

    3 of us came for Sunday lunch. Loved the decor and the ambience. We all enjoyed our starters. The mains were mixed - I had the mushroom wellington - it was too heavy on the pastry with not enough filling. The others had chicken and pork roast and the chicken and beef roast. Both the chicken and beef were excellent - however they were only given 1 slice of pork between the 2 of them - and it seemed to be the end of the joint - not particularly good at all. The service was really slow. Our order wasn't initially sent through to the kitchen so we didn't receive our starters til nearly 2pm (the table was booked for 12:45). We were offered an apology while we were waiting but perhaps some bread ? The waiting staff were generally disorganised - they didn't know which wines were by the glass, they didn't know what the soup of the day was , they tried to give us someone elses order (particularly frustrating when everyone else was getting their orders and we had to wait over an hour for ours). Overall disappointing which is such a shame as the location, ambience and food show so much promise

  • By John B from Leeds
    29 February 2020

    The food was excellent but we were disappointed that 2 main course dishes on the menu were not avaliable and also one dessert . The service was friendly but a bit disorganised and we had to ask twice for a drinks order and for the bill.

  • By Will H from Leeds
    23 February 2020

    Fantastic Sunday roast BUT Children portion are far too big for anyone under the age of 12!

  • By Judith S from Leeds
    21 February 2020

    Food was delicious

  • By Lynda A from Boston Spa
    21 February 2020

    Excellent food, friendly service, would definitely recommend

  • By Kiri H from Thorner
    21 February 2020

    Gorgeous food, excellent service and lovely relaxed atmosphere. 10/10!