Reviews of Afternoon Tea at Lainston House - Winchester

4.5
(based on 13 reviews)
Sparsholt, Winchester, South East England, SO21 2LT
13 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Sandra W from New Milton
    4 January 2020

    Lovely place to have a birthday tea. Did not come as advertised on the web site - fruit soup did not materialise.

  • By 1Cand1D W from Woking
    10 December 2017

    Disappointing visit. We have dined and stayed there several times but would find it hard to recommend based on this visit. Service was sadly lacking and we repeatedly had to ask for our wine which eventually arrived half way through our main course despite having ordered our meal and wine in the bar beforehand and being told our table was ‘ready’. The roast pork was undercooked and pink. A most disappointing experience.

  • By Emma W from Waterlooville
    28 August 2017

    Fantastic afternoon tea in a lovely location, great service. Will return!

  • By James T from Andover
    27 August 2017

    Afternoon Tea at its best though a little bulky on the third tier. Would have preferred another smoked salmon sandwich to the scone with cheese as there were two more scones on tier above.

  • By Jenny M from Durrington
    29 July 2017

    The food was delicious, the service excellent and the surroundings were beautiful! A perfect afternoon tea!

  • By Denise W from Southampton
    20 May 2017

    Afternoon tea fabulous Staff very attentive Overall best afternoon tea I have had

  • By Thurstan J from Farnborough
    6 May 2017

    Went for Afternoon Tea with my wife and toddler and it was really nice. Gorgeous location, friendly and very helpful staff. The cakes and sandwiches were very good and the tea was superb. Provided a good high chair for the little one and all round very impressed.

  • By Alison W from London
    22 April 2017

    We were a party of 9, that were taking Afternoon Tea to celebrate an 80th birthday. I was contacted by phone, before the date to clarify the requirements of the booking which gave me confidence. The reception staff were very obliging when I needed to move the reservation back by half an hour as we had experienced traffic congestion on the way. The hotel staff were very attentive on arrival (despite a simultaneous wedding gathering) as were the restaurant staff who were additionally delightfully pleasant - a perfect combination of attending to our needs without hovering uncomfortably. The hotel is set in quintessentially English gardens (although we didn't get the chance to explore) and the inside appeared to be well maintained, clean and traditional. The Afternoon Tea menu was as we had hoped with a sufficient range of sandwiches, scones and individual sweets. If I was being really picky: the choice of cucumber sandwiches was a little unimaginative for the pescitarians in our party - although I am personally glad there was no egg (the usual 'go to' sandwich for vegetarians). Everything was perfect for our celebration. I would highly recommend this hotel for Afternoon Tea and would hope to visit again.

  • By Anne H from Southampton
    17 August 2016

    How to spend your 65th birthday, having champagne with afternoon tea on a sunny afternoon with my husband on the terrace of Lainston house with stunning views.

  • By Blair B from UK
    12 August 2016

    The staff. Friendly and efficent. The pastries, exquisite

2 Next page