map placeholder

The Art School

1 Sugnall Street, Liverpool, L7 7EB

((((( British
  • The Art School - Liverpool
  • The Art School - Liverpool
  • The Art School - Liverpool
  • The Art School - Liverpool
  • The Art School - Liverpool
  • The Art School - Liverpool
  • The Art School - Liverpool
Opening hours
Tuesday to Saturday: 12:00 - 14:15 & 18:30 - 21:30.

Just to say we had recently a very enjoyable evening at the Art School. The staff were very attentive and talked about the dishes we were presented with. The food was tasty and of a high standard. The place was also inviting and a lovely contrast from the Bar area.

Alan 23 September 2019
from liverpool

View all 698 reviews

Nestling in Liverpool’s stunning Georgian Quarter is the beautiful Art School restaurant. The restaurant, in the sympathetically restored Grade II-listed building, features a stunning interior including dramatic vaulted skylight ceiling, and a window into the kitchen to showcase the talented chefs at work. Serving modern British cuisine with European and classic influence the restaurant is widely regarded as one of the city’s finest.

The Art School menu selection is extensive, and boasts prix fixe options, an excellence menu and a tasting menu, all regularly refreshed to showcase the very finest seasonal ingredients. Pescatarian, vegetarian and vegan menus are always available. Award-winning sommeliers are on-hand to pair international wines from the restaurant’s extensive collection to complement your menu choice.

Inventive flavours continue on the dessert menu at The Art School in Liverpool, with treats like pavlova of Turkish delight ice cream with Victoria plum and grape jam, white chocolate crumb and gin-soaked blackberries.

Crafting modern British flavours in a stunning setting, The Art School is a short taxi ride from Liverpool Lime Street and Liverpool Central stations.

The Art School

1 Sugnall Street, Liverpool, L7 7EB

Contact +44 1512308600
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Liverpool

Customer reviews for The Art School

4.8 ((((( (based on 698 reviews)
97% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((((
  • Value (((()
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((((
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (537)
  • luxury (415)
  • romantic (340)
  • lunch (313)
  • private dining (225)
  • value (135)
  • business (130)
  • trendy (114)
  • afternoon tea (108)
  • large parties (48)
  • entertainment (34)
  • child friendly (10)
  • views (8)
  • al fresco (5)
  • breakfast (2)
  • ((((( 18 September 2019 by Claire from Liverpool

    We had the most amazing time at the Art School. We started with drinks in the Cellar bar which is such a lovely bar with fabulous comfy seats. We were the. Taken to the restaurant and seated. The restaurant itself is a beautiful setting, with a large window so you can see into the kitchen. The staff were really friendly, professional and knowledgeable- we loved the sommelier. We had the tasting menu and it was a fantastic experience. We also enjoyed the wine flight (I had a mini one). The flavours are beautiful and the food presented in such a gorgeous manner.
    Would give the experience 10/10 - can’t wait to return

  • ((((( 18 September 2019 by Chris from Wirral

    Very attentive friendly staff.

  • (((** 18 September 2019 by Andrew from Liverpool

    Great food, first and second course. Well done. The cheese selection was poor (was told no vintage cheddar available by the staff) was it worth the £300?? I’ve had good meals with a similar dining experience for less, Not slating the restaurant or the staff just giving some constructive feedback. Hope it helps.

  • ((((( 12 September 2019 by Kerry from Liverpool

    This was the the first experience of dining at the Art School . The staff are excellent, very knowledgeable and it is evident passionate about the service they provide and the food they serve. The food was fantastic, cheese spinach soufflé was lovely that’s from a non veggie. The desert sharing platter was beautiful but almost caused an argument as my partner didn’t really get the whole sharing concept! Although filling I could have ate it twice over. Definitely will be returning here

  • ((((( 12 September 2019 by Karen from Liverpool

    The food was gorgeous and atmosphere lovely ,very friendly staff . Will definitely be back

  • ((((* 12 September 2019 by Bev from Wirral

    We eat in a lot of good restaurants including Michelin as often as we can and having never tried the Art School, took advantage to try the pre theatre menu as we were tied to time. As I mentioned at the end of our meal it was good, but for me not great however. My partner and I reflected while we were eating and comparing to our other experiences I am glad we didn’t opt to spend a lot of money to come and try the tasting menu. Only small things but worth mentioning I think. The fish was just a tad over cooked as was the cheese soufflé which was also very sadly deflated. The lentils were for me, a tad undercooked and the little bread rolls where a bit tough to cut. Don’t get me wrong, these little things aside, the food was delicious, just keeps me away from eating it great

  • ((((( 9 September 2019 by Ann from Marlborough

    Excellent food in lovely atmosphere with superb service. Thank you

  • ((((( 9 September 2019 by David from Liverpool

    We had a wonderful afternoon at The Art School to celebrate my wife's birthday. Everything about the place is superb - the staff, the food, the service and even a brilliant cocktail lounge to finish off the visit. We have been to The Art School a few times now and each time we have had a really enjoyable experience. It is head and shoulders above every other restaurant in Liverpool and Paul Askew can be rightly proud of what he and his staff have achieved. My starter of mackerel with summer veg is a tomato jus and my main of Herdwick lamb were both delicious. My wife had the wood pigeon started and the hake with champ main and she was delighted with her choice. We shared a dessert platter which was gorgeous. This was our best meal out since our last visit to The Art School and we'll definitely be back.

  • ((((( 9 September 2019 by Alan from Wirral

    Superb service! excellent sommelier, and the food was beautiful,interesting,and seasonal . We enjoyed the "menu excellence" before an eve at the Philharmonic Hall , the service was not rushed but mindful that we wished to eat our meal in a two hour window our table service was friendly and attentive
    Excellent so we are returning in December
    We eat in many Michelin starred venues and this definitely deserves its own star

  • ((((( 9 September 2019 by Jennifer from Liverpool

    I just love this restaurant. Food is amazing

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant