Guide MICHELIN 2020

The Art School

(811 Reviews)
1 Sugnall Street,, Liverpool, Merseyside, L7 7EB
British, Gourmet, Vegetarian, Vegan

Top offer

Menu Excellence - £75 per person

This offer is available from February 16, 2017 until December 31, 2020, subject to availability as displayed in the booking interface. Offer excludes service and includes VAT. Not available in conjunction with other offers. This promotion has additional information available. Click on the link(s) to view.

Opening hours

Tuesday to Saturday: 12:00 - 14:15 & 18:30 - 21:30.

Restaurant description

Nestling in Liverpool’s stunning Georgian Quarter is the beautiful Art School restaurant. The restaurant, in the sympathetically restored Grade II-listed building, features a stunning interior including dramatic vaulted skylight ceiling, and a window into the kitchen to showcase the talented chefs at work. Serving modern British cuisine with European and classic influence the restaurant is widely regarded as one of the city’s finest.

The Art School menu selection is extensive, and boasts prix fixe options, an excellence menu and a tasting menu, all regularly refreshed to showcase the very finest seasonal ingredients. Pescatarian, vegetarian and vegan menus are always available. Award-winning sommeliers are on-hand to pair international wines from the restaurant’s extensive collection to complement your menu choice.

Inventive flavours continue on the dessert menu at The Art School in Liverpool, with treats like pavlova of Turkish delight ice cream with Victoria plum and grape jam, white chocolate crumb and gin-soaked blackberries.

Crafting modern British flavours in a stunning setting, The Art School is a short taxi ride from Liverpool Lime Street and Liverpool Central stations.

Customer reviews for The Art School
4.8
(based on 811 reviews)

97%
of diners recommend this restaurant

  • Food
  • Drinks
  • Ambience
  • Service
  • Value
  • Location

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (129)
  • al fresco (5)
  • breakfast (3)
  • business (149)
  • child friendly (11)
  • dinner (623)
  • entertainment (39)
  • large parties (54)
  • lunch (361)
  • luxury (485)
  • private dining (256)
  • romantic (392)
  • trendy (131)
  • value (157)
  • views (9)
  • By Anders A from Liverpool
    14 February 2020

    As always a brilliant fine dining experience. Maybe I had expected the waiter to flag that one glass of the Madeira would be £27, but my mistake for not asking. Prices are overall very reasonable. Highly recommended.

  • By Jikang Z from Liverpool
    14 February 2020

    The dinner was amazing and gave us a great memory~

  • By Ian R from Liverpool
    13 February 2020

    Excellent dining experience at The Art School, Liverpool. Friendly staff, fabulous food and excellent value for money. Simply wonderful.

  • By Lesley O from WARRINGTON
    11 February 2020

    The food was presented beautifully and tasted wonderful. My son is a chef and this is one of the only restaurants he visits where food is presented that he couldn't have made better himself, that is quite a compliment. The only slight issue was the temperature of the room, it was quite cold.

  • By Andrew M from Manchester
    8 February 2020

    Paying a Michelin star price for Michelin quality food but unfortunately tainted by the service. Took 40 minutes upon seated at our table to receive the first part of our tasting menu, followed by large time gaps between the next three courses, after that service was normal. We requested tap water and when finishing our glasses throughout the meal, no waiter spotted this to enquire if we wanted more, for me this is basic attention to detail. We both requested coffees after the meal for an extra £9pp, which both came out split in the saucers and without the petite flours, but at this point we didn't complain, as we just wanted to get the bill and head home. Refused to pay the service charge added to the bill because of all these issues. A positive is that we don't drink so they kindly substituted the glass of champagne that came with the tasting menu, with a mocktail, . It's really a shame, as this was a treat for me my wife and I, in what was a lovely restaurant, with some really fantastic/interesting vegan dishes, but the night was tainted because all the issues above.

  • By Sheila O from Liverpool
    8 February 2020

    From start to finish the dining experience at the Art School was impressive. The service, from the moment I got out of the taxi and the concierge met me with an open umbrella to enjoying cocktails downstairs was excellent. The waiting staff have just the right touch, know when to approach, time the delivery of course to perfection. I haven’t even mentioned the good yet! The food was delicious, good quality ingredients cooked perfectly. Booked again before we left, thanks to all.

  • By Daniel W from Liverpool
    8 February 2020

    Second time, as good as the first. Pisco Lizard, saying no more.

  • By William G from Higher Bebington
    8 February 2020

    A fabulous evening from start to finish. Not just the food which was exceptional but the whole dining experience from being welcomed at the front door, the friendly and accommodating bar staff who found seating for our party of five to enjoy our pre dinner drinks and of course the table staff who explained our taster menu dishes with knowledge and enthusiasm. The salmon was exceptional and the venison tender and moist. All rounded off by coffee and liqueurs in the cellar bar which we didn’t even knew existed!

  • By David E from liverpool
    1 February 2020

    We came for lunch on the prixe Fixe and thoroughly enjoyed the experience . my wife had the pheasant and loved it while I had the hake which was delicious.

  • By Danya B from DN Emek Sorek
    1 February 2020

    The food and service was indeed a five star experience. A lovely treat. The tasting menu allowed us to try things we would never usually try. Everything was perfectly presented. The Jerusalem artichoke soup in its tiny bowl was a delight.

Restaurant Location Map
The Art School
1 Sugnall Street,, Liverpool, Merseyside, L7 7EB

Available offers

Similar Restaurants

  1. Salt House Tapas

    Salt House Tapas

    Tapas
    (0 Reviews)
    1.1km
    Salt House Tapas
  2. The Exchange Restaurant at Hilton Liverpool City Centre
    1.3km
    The Exchange Restaurant at Hilton Liverpool City Centre
  3. Koukash Bar & Grill

    Koukash Bar & Grill

    Mediterranean
    (107 Reviews)
    1.3km
    Koukash Bar & Grill
  4. Castle St Townhouse

    Castle St Townhouse

    British
    (6 Reviews)
    1.5km
    Castle St Townhouse
  5. Heritage Restaurant and Bar

    Heritage Restaurant and Bar

    British
    (1 Reviews)
    1.6km
    Heritage Restaurant and Bar