Guide MICHELIN 2020

The Art School

(740 Reviews)
1 Sugnall Street,, Liverpool, Merseyside, L7 7EB
British, Gourmet, Vegetarian, Vegan

Top offer

Menu Excellence - £75 per person

This offer is available from February 16, 2017 until December 31, 2020, subject to availability as displayed in the booking interface. Offer excludes service and includes VAT. Not available in conjunction with other offers. This promotion has additional information available. Click on the link(s) to view.

Opening hours

Tuesday to Saturday: 12:00 - 14:15 & 18:30 - 21:30.

Restaurant description

Nestling in Liverpool’s stunning Georgian Quarter is the beautiful Art School restaurant. The restaurant, in the sympathetically restored Grade II-listed building, features a stunning interior including dramatic vaulted skylight ceiling, and a window into the kitchen to showcase the talented chefs at work. Serving modern British cuisine with European and classic influence the restaurant is widely regarded as one of the city’s finest.

The Art School menu selection is extensive, and boasts prix fixe options, an excellence menu and a tasting menu, all regularly refreshed to showcase the very finest seasonal ingredients. Pescatarian, vegetarian and vegan menus are always available. Award-winning sommeliers are on-hand to pair international wines from the restaurant’s extensive collection to complement your menu choice.

Inventive flavours continue on the dessert menu at The Art School in Liverpool, with treats like pavlova of Turkish delight ice cream with Victoria plum and grape jam, white chocolate crumb and gin-soaked blackberries.

Crafting modern British flavours in a stunning setting, The Art School is a short taxi ride from Liverpool Lime Street and Liverpool Central stations.

Customer reviews for The Art School
4.8
(based on 740 reviews)

97%
of diners recommend this restaurant

  • Food
  • Drinks
  • Ambience
  • Service
  • Value
  • Location

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (117)
  • al fresco (5)
  • breakfast (3)
  • business (136)
  • child friendly (10)
  • dinner (571)
  • entertainment (36)
  • large parties (49)
  • lunch (329)
  • luxury (445)
  • private dining (236)
  • romantic (361)
  • trendy (123)
  • value (143)
  • views (9)
  • By Emma G from Skipton
    16 November 2019

    We were a little early and so sat at the bar and had some lovely cocktails before our meal. We had pre-booked the tasting menu but when seated nobody came to talk to us about the menu and nobody asked us if we had any dietary requirements or omissions which in fact we did. We had to try and get the attention of a staff member in order to ask for one of our party to have the vegetarian menu instead. We were a little disappointed with having to do this. We also had to ask to have the pairing wines as nobody offered those to us either. The food was incredible though and the wines were fantastic, we had a lovely evening. The restaurant was a little warm for the guys in the group but the ladies were happy with the temperature!

  • By David S S from Liverpool
    16 November 2019

    We enjoyed an exceptional lunch at the Art School recently, selecting from the prix-fixe menu which had plenty of varied options. I opted for the pigeon breast starter, and chicken main courses and was very pleasantly surprised with the amuse bouche. The food was cooked to perfection, whilst the service was exceptional. The meal was rounded off with the sharing desert platter, which thankfully allowed us both a selection each, whilst we concluded our meal with fabulous cocktails in the cellar restaurant below. Can't wait to visit again.

  • By Charles M from Formby
    15 November 2019

    Felt very welcome being greeted at the door and being taken into the warmth before our coats were taken. Relaxed atmosphere. Best course had to be the Turbot. Had difficulty understanding the description with each course, menu needed to understand what was being served.

  • By Deborah G from chelmsford
    13 November 2019

    Thoroughly enjoyable experience. Delicious food, sauces of particular note.

  • By Ken C from Liverpool
    12 November 2019

    A very tasty lunch in a great setting. The staff were very attentive. We were a few minutes late due to having difficulty finding a parking space but then realised we were not looking in the correct area as the Satnav kept saying we had arrived but it turned out be the parallel road. There was no mention of arriving after our scheduled time. Instead we were welcomed in and allowed to warm in front of the log burner in the bar area while we enjoyed a nice drink. We were accompanied to our table and given the menu for the type of lunch we had informed them of when we made the table booking. It was the 3 course Prixe Fixe lunch. Limited but excellent choice of foods for all three courses. The service from the waiters and waitresses was superb. Some people may find the service a bit formal but we really enjoyed the experience and have found it matched the experience you would see at 5 star hotels. Unfortunately we didn’t get any names of the staff so couldn’t recommend any individual in particular but that doesn’t matter because we were treated by every member very courteously and professionally. The food too was superb and we will definitely be returning

  • By Mary M from Liverpool
    12 November 2019

    Excellent experience- friendly welcome, nothing any trouble, food and service outstanding- a special evening. Thank you

  • By Anders A from Liverpool
    9 November 2019

    The Art School Restaurant is a brilliant Liverpool culinary gem for fine dining. I prefer the very nicely priced fixed priced option with two courses for £27 only, and you still get the full royal treatment. Full tasting menu is there as well if you want a real treat. The service is impeccable and Paul Askew is overseeing the operations to make sure everything is delivered to perfection. A must visit for a dinner for two or a larger company. Just book ahead of time as the place is very popular! ????

  • By Gaynor B from little sutton
    9 November 2019

    Had a wonderful experience at The Art School on Saturday 9th Nov, starting off by being met by a lovely gentlemen dressed on tweed with a bowler hat nice touch by the art school. The dining experience was superb from the champagne at the bar and canapes and the full tasting menu in the dining room. The staff were excepdefinitely I tional from start to finish they just appeared and glasses were filled. The food wad lovely with a nice variety. Would I recommend - certainly Would I return most definately.

  • By Michael J from Wirral
    9 November 2019

    Absolutely sensational from start to finish. Excellent welcome, brilliant service and the food is executed to perfection. The atmosphere is preppy, sophisticated and the dining room is beautifully presented! We all had the set lunch menu. It was fantastic. The staff are charming, attentive and subtle. The head waiter was a little fierce I would say and could do with a smile. I felt on edge if he was nearby. He was however doing a grand job, it would have been nice to see a smile or a a little charisma. One minor note, the Tom Collins Cocktail lacked taste. It is a subtle cocktail but I felt a lack of tart lemon juice and overly watery consistency let it down. The wine however was excellent and the South African Chenin Blanc was so good we ordered another! All in all one of the best restaurants in the North West if England. Highly recommend and have been back time and time again.

  • By Yeemay S from Liverpool
    8 November 2019

    Impeccable service, lovely warm surroundings and beautifully presented food.

Restaurant Location Map
The Art School
1 Sugnall Street,, Liverpool, Merseyside, L7 7EB

Available offers

  • Menu Excellence - £75 per person
  • Prix Fixe 2 courses £27 or 3 courses £34 per person
  • Tasting Menu - £95 per person
  • Champagne & canapés on arrival, 4 courses & paired wine, including an optional cellar tour £95 per person

Similar Restaurants

  1. Salt House Tapas

    Salt House Tapas

    Tapas
    (0 Reviews)
    1.1km
    Salt House Tapas
  2. The Exchange Restaurant at Hilton Liverpool City Centre
    1.3km
    The Exchange Restaurant at Hilton Liverpool City Centre
  3. Koukash Bar & Grill

    Koukash Bar & Grill

    Mediterranean
    (106 Reviews)
    1.3km
    Koukash Bar & Grill
  4. Rocket & Ruby

    Rocket & Ruby

    Mediterranean
    (0 Reviews)
    1.5km
    Rocket & Ruby
  5. Heritage Restaurant and Bar

    Heritage Restaurant and Bar

    British
    (1 Reviews)
    1.6km
    Heritage Restaurant and Bar