Reviews of Burgundy Restaurant at the Arden Hotel

4.5
(based on 50 reviews)
Coventry Road Bickenhill, Solihull, West Midlands, B92 0EH
50 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Alison T from Birmingham
    31 October 2020

    Disgusted to find that although we had booked the actual restaurant was closed due to COVID-19. We had booked because it was our wedding anniversary. We travelled there in a taxi. We were expecting a nice experience. Instead we were left upset and disappointed with not much of an apology.

  • By Shirley B from Solihull
    11 October 2020

    First class service with friendly staff. Food very good .

  • By Nicholas E from SOLIHULL
    27 September 2020

    Sunday lunch is always fabulous and superb value.

  • By Susan G from Tamworth
    6 September 2020

    As a regular customer, was very disappointed on last visit. Food very poor, Left most of the Sunday lunch, after complaining on how the standard had gone down from food to staff. No manager came over, told waitress how disgusted we was and her reply was I will pass it on again. Very disappointing, will not be returning.

  • By Patrick McKernon M from Solihull
    30 August 2020

    Since re-opening we have been back a couple of times, for dinner and two Sunday lunches. As usual the service was excellent. Despite the precautions necessary due to Covid 19 everything was great, but we did miss the sweet trolley.

  • By Elaine B from Coleshill
    30 August 2020

    I booked the restaurant as it was my 60th birthday on Sunday which I wanted to keep low key, and wanted to celebrate with my family. First of all I was called on Thursday 27th August to let me know about the measures that were in place which was fine but when we arrived at the hotel we were the only people wearing face coverings? We were seated at the table, everything was fine until we had main course. One of the group asked for gammon - she was given salmon, which was quickly remedied then went downhill from there. No one came to see if meal was okay (roast potatoes tasted as if a day old, parsnip was dry and stringy). Once when the plates were being cleared away one of the group asked the waitress for a pint of Worthers, over an hour later still waiting. Everyone around us was being attended to but seemed like we were forgotten about. I had to shout to get someone’s attention which wasn’t very nice as other people in the restaurant looked at me. I asked the young lad "have you all forgotten about us". He apologised and went to one of his colleagues who then came over to take our order for the sweets and the young gentleman also brought the drink which was ordered when the mains plate was taken away. He then asked was there anything else we wanted. Wasn’t sure if he was being sarcastic or genuine? No apology was given to us for our experience and what should have been a lovely birthday turned out to be a great disappointment. I work in a hotel so I know it can be very busy at times but the staff in the restaurant gave hardly any eye contact which was also disappointing. I don’t think I shall be visiting there again.

  • By Agnes C from Solihull
    16 August 2020

    Despite the COVID restrictions, we still had a fabulous meal, great service at a very reasonable price. Can’t wait to go back.

  • By Lorraine J from Birmingham
    2 August 2020

    We were made welcome from the beginning , the staff were friendly and attentive at all times. The menu was varied and the food was delicious. Good value for money, we look forward to returning again soon.

  • By Terri H from Birmingham
    26 July 2020

    Really enjoyed having Sunday lunch with you just love being waited on and not have to cook.

  • By Carol stokes S from Birmingham
    25 February 2020

    Lovely atmosphere food was well cooked .good.portions and full of flavour. Staff was friendly