Reviews of The Angel and Blue Pig

4.2
(based on 73 reviews)
107-108 High Street, Lymington, South East England, SO41 9AP
73 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Selina W from Southampton
    1 November 2020

    They’ve changed the menu since we last went in and I was disappointed. The cut of pork was tough, the cauliflower cheese is a slice of hard cauliflower with melted cheese on top and now a paid extra, we were given one carrot to share between 2 people and not a lot of gravy. The mushroom and Camembert wellington was delicious though and I’d probably order that next time. Shame as it used to be my favourite place for a roast but I will be looking to try somewhere else after lockdown.

  • By Jacquie H from New Forest
    31 October 2020

    Good was lovely, we had the cottage pie and sausage and mash. However, my daughter wanted to pay for the bill and had made a phone call earlier in the day to arrange this but the staff forgot! She was very disappointed. She was also disappointed that she informed the restaurant that it was my birthday yet they did nothing to acknowledge this, which is strange for a venue to do so.

  • By Jane Asplin- L from New milton
    29 October 2020

    Really disappointed. Came the week before and had lovely lunch so rebooked for wedding anniversary. Meal shocking! 3-year old meal smaller, grey cold mash. Onion soup was a mush, husband served starter potion not the mains. Waiter very helpful otherwise we would have walked out.

  • By Ruth T from Lymington
    29 October 2020

    Delicious food and great service. Very well organised & very clean.

  • By Penny J from Elstead
    27 October 2020

    The food was slightly disappointing. The pork belly starter was extremely small although very good. They had run out of the vegetarian curry and as I didn’t fancy the cauliflower burger I had to have the warm salad with halloumi. This tasted good but was very over priced for what is was. In addition I asked for a flatbread to have with it. They had also run out of this so offered a pitta bread. They then charged extra for this which bearing mind the disappointment of not having any choice of meal I would have thought they could have offered for no charge. Then the cheese platter which offered a cheese called Blue Monday turned out to be plain cheddar even though this cheese is a named cheese offered by Alex James. All in all it was an ok meal but over priced. The waiting staff were very pleasant.

  • By Charlotte E from Bath
    26 October 2020

    Nice cosy restaurant, it was quiet when we went but probably due to the current pandemic. I had the sausage and mash which was really tasty and my partner had the sea bream which he really enjoyed. Service was quick and friendly. We came back for drinks the next day and sat by the log fire which was very nice.

  • By Dean A from Farnham
    25 October 2020

    Fantastic meal - we had the Sunday pork roast. Quality of the food was excellent and there was plenty of it. Beers and service were also top quality

  • By Geraldine H from Abingdon
    23 October 2020

    Food was excellent and nice varied menu. Staff very helpful. Covid arrangements also good and made us feel safe while dining.

  • By Ben S from London
    18 October 2020

    Had a great sunday roast here and the staff were very good with our 18 month old. Good service and great food.

  • By Gill Wicks H from Chippenham
    17 October 2020

    Excellent from start to finish. Staff and manager very polite, friendly and efficient. The steaks were fantastic.