map placeholder

The Albany

Queens Road, Thames Ditton, KT7 0QY

((((* British
  • The Albany - Surrey
  •  - Surrey
  •  - Surrey
  •  - Surrey
  •  - Surrey
  •  - Surrey
  • The Albany - Surrey
  • The Albany - Surrey
  •  - Surrey
  • The Albany - Surrey
  • The Albany - Surrey
  • The Albany - Surrey
  • The Albany - Surrey
  • The Albany - Surrey
  • The Albany - Surrey
  • The Albany - Surrey
Average
Main course: £12
Food spend: £28
Opening hours
Monday to Thursday: 11:00 - 23:00
Friday & Saturday: 11:00 - 00:00
Sunday: 11:00 - 22:30.

Very friendly staff, had to wait quite a long time for the meal to arrive and it was expensive. We were seated by a family group with babies even though restaurant not busy. But there is a nice atmosphere in the pub and I first came to it in the 1980s so have an affection for it.

Romey 13 November 2018
from Sheffield

View all 48 reviews

With an outdoor dining area overlooking the banks of the River Thames, The Albany is a gastro pub nestled outside Thames Ditton, just a 3-minute drive from the majestic Hampton Court Palace. A cosy retreat with cushioned armchairs, log fireplaces, polished stone floors & subdued lighting to set the mood, this country-style pub serves a mix of modern British & Mediterranean dishes.

With chefs given the opportunity to train at cookery schools in Spain and Italy, The Albany menu features modern signature recipes made using the finest available ingredients. As well as creative daily-changing specials, favourites include king prawn, crab and chorizo linguine, or spit-roasted chicken with lemon & garlic confit. A kids’ menu and Sunday roasts also feature, and desserts include rich vanilla and chocolate gelato with home-baked cookies.

The result of a treasured partnership with Rothschild wine merchants, the cellar showcases many fine wines, while token real ales and premium spirits are found at The Albany bar. Nostalgic British nibbles and eclectic sharing platters bursting with international flavours offer more laidback dining.

The Albany in Surrey is just a 2-minute drive from Hampton Court and Thames Ditton Rail stations.

The Albany

Queens Road, Thames Ditton, KT7 0QY

Contact +44 2089729163
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Surrey

Customer reviews for The Albany

4.0 ((((* (based on 48 reviews)
87% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((()*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • lunch (32)
  • views (31)
  • dinner (27)
  • al fresco (25)
  • child friendly (12)
  • value (9)
  • large parties (8)
  • romantic (7)
  • trendy (6)
  • private dining (4)
  • afternoon tea (3)
  • business (3)
  • breakfast (1)
  • luxury (1)
  • (**** 14 June 2016 by Kay from Surbiton

    Terrible experience Ordered whole food salad with chargrilled chicken Salad portion was tiny for price and chicken was cold and so dried up couldn't eat it Had to return Had burger instead which was ok Service was very slow and chaotic Seemed disorganised and lacking leadership Coffee order at end was wrong All in all very poor and certainly won't go again or recommend it to anyone

  • ((*** 2 June 2016 by Gerry from London

    Food not good or as expected/from previous visits.
    Would not hurry back.

  • (((** 1 June 2016 by Vicki from Walton-on-Thames

    Good food but I think the chef may have changed? The food was not what you would call well assembled. A little like a jumble sale of food! So tasted good but what a mess on the plate! With a la carte prices they need to up their game big time.

  • ((((* 16 May 2016 by Ciarán from London

    Really nice, good food, very enjoyable

  • ((((* 16 May 2016 by Liz from Walton-on-Thames

    Although we had a nice evening at The Albany, it was evident on arrival that there was no one dealing with "meet and greet" and there was a queue of two other tables in front of us waiting to be seated. We ended up ordering a drink at the bar to wait for it to be sorted out. So we probably spent about 15 minutes waiting to get seated at our table. We had booked for 8:15pm. The meal we ordered was well presented and tasted very good, plus the actual service at the table was absolutely fine.

  • ((*** 4 May 2016 by Rosalind from Esher

    Interesting menu and venue which we have visited often before but Sunday's visit was disappointing. Staff very pleasant but impossibly busy. We had to return burnt chips and lukewarm soup. They did credit us for these dishes but service was also very slow because pub was so packed.

  • ((((* 30 April 2016 by Geoffrey from Thames Ditton

    Friendly and efficient staff. Venue is wonderfully situated, overlooking the rear of Hampton Court Palace with plenty of interesting river traffic.
    Extensive menu with good choice, nicely prepared and presented.
    Only problem is that my friends and I like it so much that we don't bother to try other venues, which could be as good or even better (if it's not broken.....)
    Quite noisy but that seems to be the fashion today.

  • ((((( 3 February 2016 by James from Oxford

    We had lunch from the set menu - which I thought was v good value. Twice cooked chips were vv good and the treacle tart was one of the best we have ever had anywhere! V good service and really nice internal ambience and decor - open fires are nice in the winter. We will go back in summer to eat outside on the terrace overlooking the river

  • ((((( 22 December 2015 by Jackie from Thames Ditton

    Excellent customer service

  • ((((* 4 December 2015 by Richard from Woking

    Perfect setting for a catch up business lunch

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant