map placeholder

Thatcher's Needle

Park Road, Diss, IP22 4AS

((((* British
  •  - Norfolk
  •  - Norfolk
  •  - Norfolk
  •  - Norfolk
  •  - Norfolk
  •  - Norfolk
  •  - Norfolk
  •  - Norfolk
  •  - Norfolk
  •  - Norfolk
  •  - Norfolk
  •  - Norfolk
  •  - Norfolk
  •  - Norfolk
  •  - Norfolk
  •  - Norfolk
  •  - Norfolk
  •  - Norfolk
Average
Main course: £9
Food spend: £18

Up to the usual standard we have come to expect from this establishment. Good food and service, especially after lunchtime crowds with children had left and it was more adult dining. Chicken portions exceptional.

Gillian 24 July 2017
from Diss, Norfolk

View all 49 reviews

A family-friendly pub on the outskirts of Diss in Norfolk, Thatcher's Needle specialises in rotisserie chicken and deliciously comforting British pub classics. Cask ales and fine wines are offered at the bar, and guests can enjoy the sprawling patio for both outdoor drinking and dining during warmer weather. The little ones are not forgotten, with a fun menu featuring 5-a-day-faithful meals, and an outdoor play area.

Thatcher's Needle

Park Road, Diss, IP22 4AS

Contact +44 1379658905
Website

See all Marston's Pubs

See all restaurants in Norfolk

Customer reviews for Thatcher's Needle

3.9 ((((* (based on 49 reviews)
79% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • value (30)
  • dinner (29)
  • lunch (28)
  • child friendly (24)
  • large parties (18)
  • private dining (10)
  • business (9)
  • trendy (7)
  • luxury (5)
  • afternoon tea (4)
  • al fresco (4)
  • breakfast (3)
  • romantic (3)
  • views (3)
  • ((*** 29 November 2016 by Christine from Beccles

    Sorry it was disappointing. Main problem understaffing. Cant ever remember waiting so long after being seated for drinks order to be taken. We were told it would be taken at table but should have ignored that and gone tobar . Food still good but again the huge wait with dirty plates in front of us unacceptable.. Did think of putting them on empty table just to get rid of them.

  • ((((( 3 October 2016 by Ofelia from Bungay

    Nice service and very good looking and tasting food. Thank you.

  • ((((* 15 September 2016 by Dennis from diss

    As usual good food and good service. A group of us meet regularly for midday lunch and find the offer of £10 for two main courses is very good value.

  • (((** 31 August 2016 by Nigel from Bury st edmunds

    Well we had to send all 4 meals back as our chips on 3 were cold and my mothers lasagne was cold as well , the chips were replaced with hot ones but after 15 minutescwe had to go and ask were my mothers lasagne was, this was bought out ond was hot , the manager was very sorry and didnt charge us for the lasagne meal ,
    but I donot think this should of happened in the first place.

  • (**** 30 August 2016 by Claire from Diss

    Have had a few meals here but this was definitely the worst. It took 40mins for a waitress to even attend our table, thankfully we ordered drinks at the bar as soon as we got there!
    The waitress was seating lots of tables after us & attending to them to take orders but we were still waiting. We asked a gentleman if we could place an order & he said that his colleague was dealing with our section & she would be over shortly, still after 15mins we hadn't seen her!
    Again she was tending to another table so we said excuse me is it possible for someone to take our order as we have been here for over 30mins! She came over & was incredibly rude, not a single apology about the wait & very sarcastic. "I will put that order right through for you now, is that ok with you?"
    She then proceeded to say something to her other colleagues about our table as they all kept looking over at us.
    The food came out about 40mins after that & not of great quality. It was dry & some sauces were missing from the order but at this time it was almost 9pm & we were hungry.
    Needless to say we ate, paid the bill & left. I would pass you the waitress name but the name on our bill was a gentleman's name!
    We will not be eating here again.

  • (((** 30 August 2016 by Tom from Stowmarket

    We ate outside in the end, although our table was perfectly reserved inside. Everything worked very well. Service, food and drinks were excellent.

  • ((((( 26 August 2016 by Laura from Diss

    Lovely meal and lovely people

  • ((((( 14 July 2016 by Dennis from Diss

    We had a very enjoyable lunch yesterday. As usual the food was excellent. The new menu was good the Chicken and Gammon pie was very tasty. The staff as usual were very friendly and helpful. All our party enjoyed themselves and enjoyed the food. Well done

  • ((*** 22 June 2016 by Stephanie from Diss

    Good food but poor service. Considering the table had been booked, the area under and around the table was not cleaned and food was underfoot. Had to wait a long time for drinks also when we arrived.

  • ((((( 10 April 2016 by Richard from Stanfield

    Very good meal great service will be visiting again

Unfortunately, you can't book Thatcher's Needle online on this site

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant